43 replies to this topic

#1 No One

No One

Legendary

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1233 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 03:45 AM

So I started playing System Shock 2 a few days ago. Let's just say that so far, it's living up to it's reputation as a rather scary game. I had started playing it earlier in the day when it was still a bit light out and people were awake here. But I lost track of time and had continued to play just past midnight. For some reason, the game just started making me more and more tense. I was reacting to ghosts on the screen as if they were showing up in front of me in real life. It was getting so bad I just had to stop playing and turn the computer off... Of course the whole house was dark by now, and the walk to the other side of the room seemed a bit longer than before.

That got me thinking. I've played games that made me feel exactly the same way in the past. Marathon 1 (Blasted vent Spht!), Super Metroid (GHOST SHIP!), Stalker (Is it just me, or did it get sepia out here?), and now System Shock 2. Thinking about those games, I realized they all had some interesting elements in common.

Probably the most obvious thing would be the sense of isolation. In these sorts games you spend either the entire time completely separated from other people, or only interacting with them for fairly brief periods or in tangential ways. I suppose this makes the most sense. When other people are around, you get the sense that if things get over your head, you can rely on others to deal with the situation. Being alone suddenly makes every situation far more dangerous. (Besides, having a meat shield can be useful at times ;) )