Jump to content


Unreal Tournament 3


  • Please log in to reply
355 replies to this topic

#1 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 15 May 2007 - 05:35 AM

So. we are Damn Sure its coming.
but there are still a bejesusload of Burning questions left after the smoke has cleared

What computers From the current Apple lineup will be able to run the game?

Will it be UB, or Intel Only?

Who will port it? Epic in-house?

When will we get our Paws on it?

man i already have 6th degree Burns :bleedingeyes:

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#2 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 15 May 2007 - 06:07 AM

1)all that have a graphics card. But they wont necessarily be able to run it particularly well because the X1600 is old these days. Thanksfully, the next gen of GPUs is literally coming in the next month or so... personally, i feel that NVidia is looking loads stronger this generation, cos the 8800 pwns the 2900... a shame that. mid range is still up in the air though.

2)i kinda doubt itl be a UB, as only the PMG5s had the horse power, and even then only when coupled with a X800, 6800 or X1900, or maybe (just maybe) a 9800... so thats a pretty slim number of owners..

3)Ryan Gordon will do the port, as hes already been working on the UE3 engine from around a year ago, if Epic doesnt publish it (in which case i expect itll be a same box, Hybrid DVD release) then itll be Macsoft, as usual.

4)when its released? even the PC version of UT3 has a tentative time period only for its release. If its same box, then it will obviously be simultaneous, otherwise therell be a moderate delay... perhaps 2-3 months on the outside?

5) stop playing chinese burns with your mates?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#3 BenRoethig

BenRoethig

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 494 posts
  • Location:Dubuque, Iowa USA

Posted 24 May 2007 - 06:26 AM

To be honest, with all respect to Macsoft, I'm kinda hoping that they go the Blizzard route and ship it in box with the windows/linux version.

#4 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 05:37 PM

Dont we all


So how does Single PLayer Gameplay in UT3 work?
the trailer seemed to advertise that it had some form of storyline, how does the gameplay follow this through?

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#5 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 24 May 2007 - 05:51 PM

View Postaussiemacgamer, on May 24th 2007, 05:37 PM, said:

Dont we all
So how does Single PLayer Gameplay in UT3 work?
the trailer seemed to advertise that it had some form of storyline, how does the gameplay follow this through?

I think it might be part some of the team modes from the multiplayer game with the villians on the other team and or a last man standing type of thing. You would then progress up a ladder like in UT2004 but with more of a fleshed out story like a fighting game (like Mortal Kombat). I don't think it'll be anything like say... Prey or Max Payne for example. I think the story is pretty simple.. the monsters come and and destroy everything so you go take revenge. I might even say it's not so much a storyline as it is a setup to gameplay. Like they may show a cut scene to set up your role and the monsters role, etc. but from there you just go into gameplay and then perhaps you get endings when you beat it.

They also said there is going to be CO-OP for that mode.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#6 nagromme

nagromme

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts

Posted 24 May 2007 - 09:01 PM

I expect single-player will be much like it always was: a series of matches much like you might play online, only with all bots. Only now with a loose story and more distinctive bot characters added to flesh out the progress--a little.

That's OK, I always liked UT singleplay anyway, and Epic said more than half of UT series players never go online, so I'd say many people agree with me. So it doesn't need a big change into a story/experience that's very different from online matches. It's still a TOURNAMENT at heart.

#7 ehuelga

ehuelga

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Steam Name:El Spud
  • Location:Mill Valley, CA

Posted 24 May 2007 - 09:20 PM

The opening levels will be the familiar Deathmatch, CTF, etc., but the later "series of matches" will be part of a campaign of war against the invading Necris; kinda like CoD or MoH are a series of levels taking place in the sphere of WWII. Onslaught and Assault are being replaced by Warfare, which sounds like Onslaught on crack: huge maps, huge teams, multiple objectives while maintaining a moving front to engage the enemy.
The commute from Mill Valley to Cupertino is a real bitch.

#8 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 25 May 2007 - 12:41 AM

View Postnagromme, on May 24th 2007, 09:01 PM, said:

I expect single-player will be much like it always was: a series of matches much like you might play online, only with all bots.

Probably. I imagine them focusing the single player more on the necris stuff. I'm imagining the multiplayer modes with necris filling out the AI characters and some kind of loose storyline tieing it all together. I also mention last man standing because I think that would be a good mode to include to go along with the whole invasion scenario... but it would also introduce you to the various modes that you would play online. They mentioned CO-OP so it has to be more than just deathmatch IMO but I could be wrong because they could start with deathmatch to find your team-mates for then turning the team-play modes in it into a war with the necris.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#9 nagromme

nagromme

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts

Posted 25 May 2007 - 12:23 PM

Sounds about right. UT2k4 had "traditional" matches first, followed by Onslaught later. Doing something similar, with a story to explain the transition from traditional matches to Warfare, makes sense.

#10 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 06:05 AM

okay. still, ET:Quake Wars has got my Buk first, mainly for its spin on the multiplayer arena genre.

i get this bad feeling about UT performance on my computer

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1


#11 nagromme

nagromme

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 01:13 PM

I think QW will probably be the better performer of the two on marginal hardware. I'll be happy if my C2D iMac can even RUN UT3.

UT3's Warfare mode may give QW a run for its money--plus UT is always an amazing value because of all the variety (including endless free add-ons). But QW has classes, and is coming out first, so I expect I'll pick that up as well :)

#12 pwn1j

pwn1j

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 02:30 PM

Have any Unreal Tournament 3 min. system specs been released?  i hope my dual 1ghz g4 box will be able to run it...

#13 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 May 2007 - 02:58 PM

View Postpwn1j, on May 26th 2007, 09:30 PM, said:

Have any Unreal Tournament 3 min. system specs been released?  i hope my dual 1ghz g4 box will be able to run it...

nope... and, uh... no it wont be able to...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#14 BenRoethig

BenRoethig

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 494 posts
  • Location:Dubuque, Iowa USA

Posted 26 May 2007 - 03:11 PM

View Postteflon, on May 26th 2007, 03:58 PM, said:

nope... and, uh... no it wont be able to...

I think there's a pretty good chance no PPC machine is going to be able to run it.

#15 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 03:36 PM

View PostBenRoethig, on May 26th 2007, 05:11 PM, said:

I think there's a pretty good chance no PPC machine is going to be able to run it.

A G5 Power Mac should be able to handle it OK, assuming something better than the stock graphics card, if they bother to make a PPC version.  If a G5 Power Mac + decent graphics card can't handle it, then the only Macs that would run it are Mac Pros, which is an awfully limited market.  A 1GHz G4 has no hope at all, though.

--Eric

#16 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 26 May 2007 - 04:15 PM

View PostEric5h5, on May 26th 2007, 03:36 PM, said:

A G5 Power Mac should be able to handle it OK, assuming something better than the stock graphics card, if they bother to make a PPC version.  If a G5 Power Mac + decent graphics card can't handle it, then the only Macs that would run it are Mac Pros, which is an awfully limited market.  A 1GHz G4 has no hope at all, though.

--Eric

It would especially be able to handle it if you have a Quad PowerMac G5 with a good graphics card and they support multiprocessor. :P I would agree though that most G4 users are out of luck especially with the graphics cards most of them have.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#17 pwn1j

pwn1j

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 08:11 PM

View PostEric5h5, on May 26th 2007, 05:36 PM, said:

A G5 Power Mac should be able to handle it OK, assuming something better than the stock graphics card, if they bother to make a PPC version.  If a G5 Power Mac + decent graphics card can't handle it, then the only Macs that would run it are Mac Pros, which is an awfully limited market.  A 1GHz G4 has no hope at all, though.

--Eric

not even dual g4 1ghz w/ 1.5g ram and a decent card? imho i'm waiting for ms to release a mac spoof commercial asking the mac genius where all the games are that actually work how they should..

#18 Eric5h5

Eric5h5

    Minion Tormentor

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7160 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 08:32 PM

View Postpwn1j, on May 26th 2007, 10:11 PM, said:

not even dual g4 1ghz w/ 1.5g ram and a decent card?

From what I've seen, pretty much no.  It just needs more CPU grunt than that, plus the G4s are choked by slow FSB speed.

--Eric

#19 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 26 May 2007 - 09:31 PM

To be fair I don't think you could honestly expect it to run well if at all on a 1Ghz anything much less a Mac. That's not really a Mac problem per say. I wouldn't be surprised if the system requirements where 2Ghz and perhaps dual core on the PC... and it wouldn't be any less on the Mac. It's not like they can make a spoof where they say where are all the new games that run on a 1GHz G4 when even Halo 2 Vista requires 2Ghz. =P
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#20 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 26 May 2007 - 11:50 PM

Quote

It's not like they can make a spoof where they say where are all the new games that run on a 1GHz G4 when even Halo 2 Vista requires 2Ghz. =P
i think he was saying on global T.V they sh
ould outline how their ignoring Video Games on Mac OSX

i think at this point in time people are making perhaps some unjust
assumptions. Take this into account. imagine the amount of money
Epic can sap out of this game if they get it on more systems. right now
people are saying it will only run on High end systems...well good
luck Epic. Take a look at Games like F.E.A.R and see how they scale.
i think epic may do the same here. They should try and at least get all
the Mid-Range XP DX9 Machines in the radar aswell. by incorperating
a vast set of performance options, they can appeal to a larger market
and the set of old UT fans, as well as Getting this amazing looking Next
gen game out there.

i hope they do it. if they dont, im not sure how this game may fly?
especially in multiplayer people dont want half arsed performance.
who knows maybye this is why weve been waiting so long for this
game? and maybye this is why the system specs havnt been anounced
yet?

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1