Jump to content


Which Windows Version is Best


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#41 XxtraLarGe

XxtraLarGe

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2324 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted 24 January 2008 - 01:06 PM

View Postarchermitch, on April 11th 2007, 03:10 PM, said:

I was just wondering which version of windows I should get. (xp, vista, etc) I already have a copy of 2000, but I was wondering if all the game I want would work. I'm a pretty frequent gamer and I will buy games in the future if they don't come out for the Mac already. I need to know which Windows will suffice my needs and get me what I want in the long run. I'm already going to have 2000 running in the beginning.

Hah, that's like asking "What Hepatitis Strain is Best?"

#42 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17382 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 January 2008 - 01:30 PM

Hepatitis B totally pwns hepatitis A!  If you plan on catching one, you'd be a fool to pass up hepatitis B.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#43 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 24 January 2008 - 02:13 PM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on January 24th 2008, 12:30 PM, said:

Hepatitis B totally pwns hepatitis A!  If you plan on catching one, you'd be a fool to pass up hepatitis B.



Hey, if you're going to escalate, might as well go for Hepatitis C. More difficult to detect, impossible to cure, and highly likely to destroy your liver in a few years.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#44 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 25 January 2008 - 06:02 AM

ha, just like the heavy drinking youll be relying on to keep you sane through your many hours of using Windows...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#45 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 25 January 2008 - 05:11 PM

View Postteflon, on January 25th 2008, 05:02 AM, said:

ha, just like the heavy drinking youll be relying on to keep you sane through your many hours of using Windows...


Speaking of which, I'm having a little anticipatory anxiety....do I have to immediately install some anti-virus software on my Windows partition, or is Vista safe enough if I keep it on a separate HD and use it only for off-line SP gaming?
Crysis and Bioshock already ordered.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#46 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 January 2008 - 07:47 AM

If you're behind a NAT device you should be relatively safe, since incoming connections can only be made on ports that have been explicitly forwarded.

#47 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 26 January 2008 - 09:04 AM

yup, you should be fine with the NAT, as Tesseract said.
you could still get some kind of free anti virus software, i dont really know what is the best one and i cant remember the one that ive got.

also, Vista is more secure than XP, though both now are nowhere near as bad as XP used to be a few years back.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#48 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:10 AM

View Postteflon, on January 27th 2008, 02:04 AM, said:

you could still get some kind of free anti virus software, i dont really know what is the best one and i cant remember the one that ive got.
AVG free edition isn't bad.

#49 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 27 January 2008 - 09:38 PM

View PostTesseract, on January 26th 2008, 09:10 AM, said:

AVG free edition isn't bad.



Thanks. Sounds like a plan. I still feel like I'm inviting a Facehugger into my life.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#50 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 January 2008 - 09:49 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on January 27th 2008, 10:38 PM, said:

Thanks. Sounds like a plan. I still feel like I'm inviting a Facehugger into my life.

They're not so bad once you get to know 'em. Just keep a spray bottle around and spritz them when they try to hug your face.

By-the-by, I have Antivir (free version), and it's decent. Picked it up because it had one of the highest detection rates, and isn't so much of a resource hog. If you're willing to pay moneys, I hear that Nod32 gets a lot of acclaim.
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#51 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17382 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 January 2008 - 10:11 AM

View Postnobody, on January 28th 2008, 07:49 AM, said:

They're not so bad once you get to know 'em. Just keep a spray bottle around and spritz them when they try to hug your face.
Don't make the mistake of taking a face hugger to the vet to get neutered.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#52 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 28 January 2008 - 04:53 PM

Ok, obviously it would be too much to ask for an uncomplicated Windows installation. I followed Nobody's advice and got the OEM version of Vista Home Premium. Partitioned through BootCamp, and then when asked to format by the Vista installer, I click to let it do that (on my selected Bootcamp partition), but when I then tell it to go ahead and install, I  get: "unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria for installation."  
So, any suggestions?
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#53 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 29 January 2008 - 09:21 AM

I've been doing a bit of research on Windows forums and it seems this is a problem some people have in trying to install Vista on a secondary HD. But people here have been doing that successfully, I think? There is a suggestion to launch the Windows installer in "debug" mode to solve this problem, but I have no clue what that is. Help! Crysis is burning a hole on my shelf.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#54 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 997 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 29 January 2008 - 05:34 PM

Alright. I've figured this out (no help from you guys, I might add---where's that bobbob when you need him?). And it might be worth having Huntn add this to his sticky, as it seems like it's a fairly common issue with Vista installs.
Apparently, Vista doesn't like to install on machines with multiple drives. It wants a boot drive, and it wants it to be  the ONLY boot drive. Since I really didn't want this alien presence on my main boot drive, I cloned everything to my secondary drive (CCC) and then had to actually physically remove my first drive for the Vista installation  to proceed. Having done that, all went fine. Though I would note that despite assurances from the BootCamp manual that I could use a bootcamp control panel to choose an OSX restart, no such beastie exists, and to restart into OSX I had to hold down the option key during restart.
Now we'll see if I become unemployed given the 20 year backlog of games I want to play.
Home: MacPro 2x3.0 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon/16GB RAM/ATI HD5770,1GB VRAM/Snow Leopard/Windows 7
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/Sierra/Windows 10

Beach: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB