Jump to content


X: Reunion port?


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#41 elderbre

elderbre

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 28 May 2007 - 11:41 AM

View PostSargiel, on May 28th 2007, 10:35 AM, said:

I had a check on the Egosoft site and 2.02 is definitely the latest. I think that's usual for ports - I'm sure HOMM shipped with what was the latest version. While I was there I also had a look at the version 2.0 trailer - I want that station  :lol:

Im almost there, but I feel like this quest to get it gives way too much.. the original plot didnt even give me a ship at the end, felt hard, this quest though.. it requires several millions to complete, but has already given me an amazing M7 frigate (way too good in my opinion..) an M3+ (another too good fighter..) and next is the station I believe.

As soon as I'm sure I can keep that M7 in a safe place, I'm going back on my M6 Centaur, or the game is going to feel like a big joke, that ship makes it way too easy. At least with the Centaur I had to worry about my escorts and make sure I didn't do dumb things.. with this ship, it's just.. go in, go out, good game.

#42 Drinniol

Drinniol

    Legendary

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1153 posts
  • Location:Perth, Australia
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 June 2007 - 01:03 AM

Just got this. I never tried X2 (the bugs scared me) but this is running sweetly. Some slight jerkiness in the cutscenes and asteroid-heavy systems, but I'm playing it at best-quality 1920x1200 res ;)
"If a bunch of actual adults suddenly found themselves trapped in high school, the first thing they'd do is form a union and renegotiate all the rules with the administration." Paul Walker

#43 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 04 June 2007 - 11:10 AM

View PostDrinniol, on June 4th 2007, 08:03 AM, said:

Just got this. I never tried X2 (the bugs scared me) but this is running sweetly. Some slight jerkiness in the cutscenes and asteroid-heavy systems, but I'm playing it at best-quality 1920x1200 res ;)

Can I ask what Mac you have ?

#44 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 11 June 2007 - 11:41 PM

So performance is good?
I bought the Windows version for $10 before this was announced, but if the Mac version performs well, I wouldn't mind dropping $40 to be able to play this without rebooting. X2 was a pretty craptacular port, so I'd like to make sure this is stable before buying it.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#45 elderbre

elderbre

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 13 June 2007 - 05:15 AM

View PostDark_Archon, on June 12th 2007, 07:41 AM, said:

So performance is good?
I bought the Windows version for $10 before this was announced, but if the Mac version performs well, I wouldn't mind dropping $40 to be able to play this without rebooting. X2 was a pretty craptacular port, so I'd like to make sure this is stable before buying it.

Runs fine on my machine, and sure is a lot better than the X2 port. It's a cider game after all. The only annoyance is the bug that says every now and then when you leave the station that a executable file was modified and it boots you to the main menu, if you have autosave at stations this is simply an annoyance.

#46 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 16 June 2007 - 01:27 AM

Is the PC scripts pack available as a non "executable installer"? And does anybody know if the PC version saves are compatible with the Mac version? I'm doing so well that I don't want to start over...
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#47 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 16 June 2007 - 03:34 AM

I would think the save-games would be compatible since the Mac version essentially is the PC version.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#48 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 16 June 2007 - 05:07 AM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on June 16th 2007, 10:34 AM, said:

I would think the save-games would be compatible since the Mac version essentially is the PC version.

agreed.
i think that most problems with save game files end up being endian with PPC only ports, and the odd UB game too. But in this case its all intel, and as smoke correctly points out its just a wrapped up PC game (like christmas!), so i dont forsee any problems.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#49 elderbre

elderbre

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 16 June 2007 - 10:15 AM

Not sure if you can find the packs on non executable files, but if you install them from Bootcamp they work just fine.

#50 ijedi42

ijedi42

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted 17 June 2007 - 02:42 PM

Hey guys, i just started downloading this game. Hope its good. What joystick/ gamepads do you prefer to use for this, or do you just your keyboard/mouse. I have not looked at joysticks in a while and didnt see anything all that new at IMG.

#51 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 June 2007 - 03:30 PM

Personally, I don't think that there's a gamepad or joystick precise enough for combat in this game.  For day-to-day piloting, I use the arrow keys and they work perfectly fine.  When I get into combat, I always switch to the mouse for aiming (hitting something moving at 200 m/s at a distance of 1.5 km is precise work!) and use WASD to slide around to dodge incoming fire.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#52 elderbre

elderbre

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 17 June 2007 - 08:48 PM

View PostQuicksilver, on June 17th 2007, 11:30 PM, said:

Personally, I don't think that there's a gamepad or joystick precise enough for combat in this game.  For day-to-day piloting, I use the arrow keys and they work perfectly fine.  When I get into combat, I always switch to the mouse for aiming (hitting something moving at 200 m/s at a distance of 1.5 km is precise work!) and use WASD to slide around to dodge incoming fire.

I find that as soon as you hit M6 and bigger craft, joysticks become hardly useful compared to having my hands on the keyboard and mouse. Strafing is where most combat is for the dodging, and since onboard computers already do the aiming.. well.. joystick is pretty much for M5 M4 and M3 craft, which I don't enjoy that much.

#53 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 18 June 2007 - 11:26 AM

My 15 UTs, and around 10 factories/complexes finally netted me enough to get an M2. I just went with the Argon Titan because it was the only one I had the race relations to get, and it looks the best of all the M2s. I now just need to go around and get the shields, and I'm loading the front with BPPCs, the right turret with GPPCs, and all the rest with AFAAs for anti-fighter support. The M7 I got is being used in Bluish Snout because I was losing so many freighters there, but it is an awesome place for a Bio Gas factory because there is none of it in the sector, 4 stations that need it, and more energy than is needed.

I wish more games like this were released...
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#54 ijedi42

ijedi42

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted 18 June 2007 - 11:28 PM

thanks for the "input"  :lol: so to speak about what to use. so far i think the mouse is gonna be just fine. i like the game so far, though i have only played through the simulators a bit. Definately seems overwhelming at first but games like this can feel like that for a bit until u learn them. Gonna have to find a hard copy manual i think or print the pdg (when the boss isnt looking at work;) ). One question i have about the first mission in the campaign, is i see a ship that is mine when i go meet up with the fighter jocks. It is just sitting near the jump gate.What should i do with this ship, just leave it for now?

#55 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:07 PM

I finally got X3 today (I was waiting for the boxed version and the german publisher took its time). I'm pretty impressed: the game looks great and the performance is fine - though not perfect. I think I have to twiddle around a bit until I find the optimal settings for my MBP. The only problem I have is that I can't get my joystick to work in this game... the mouse controls are quite usable, though.

Oh yes: I definitely like the option to skip the storyline right from the beginning.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#56 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:11 PM

That's something I have wondered about Cider.. if it supports joysticks\gamepads\etc.

I know I'd want them for Need For Speed... and I know people might want them for Madden.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#57 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 22 June 2007 - 03:17 PM

View PostSmoke_Tetsu, on June 22nd 2007, 11:11 PM, said:

That's something I have wondered about Cider.. if it supports joysticks\gamepads\etc.

I know I'd want them for Need For Speed... and I know people might want them for Madden.
I know that Cedega generally supports gamepads, so I suppose Cider also can.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#58 ijedi42

ijedi42

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted 22 June 2007 - 04:35 PM

View PostJanichsan, on June 22nd 2007, 04:17 PM, said:

I know that Cedega generally supports gamepads, so I suppose Cider also can.
one thing i have noticed with both cider games i have tried is that they do not work with the creative labs xmod. Also prey had a problem with this. Nobody from creative wants to help and the same goes for the developers of x3 and HoMM. its not a big deal but still kinda sucks.

#59 Sargiel

Sargiel

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Location:West Sussex, England

Posted 24 June 2007 - 01:20 PM

Gave up waiting for the boxed version and bought the digital download today. First impressions are it's very pretty and runs very smoothly on my 24" iMac.

However it's definitely a game that needs a tutorial ....

#60 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 June 2007 - 02:23 PM

What it really needs is a fold-out keyboard shortcut thingy.  If you haven't played X2: The Threat, you're in for a nearly vertical learning curve that lasts about six hours.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com