Jump to content


The Movies Demo Now Available


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1 IMG News

IMG News

    Pimpbot 4000

  • IMG Writers
  • 8622 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2007 - 09:15 AM

Feral Interactive has finally released The Movies demo after months of anticipation. Weighing in at a hefty 800mb, The Movies demo is now available at our sister website, Macgamefiles.com. The demo includes a tutorial and the first five years to 1925 culminating with the awards ceremony, "The Stanleys".

Minimum System Requirements

-Mac OS 10.4 'Tiger'
-PowerPC G4/Intel 1.67 GHz
-512 MB RAM
-3D Graphics Card with 64 MB VRAM
As director of your fledgling movie studio, prepare to take the reins and discover new acting talent, produce blockbuster movies, manage studio resources, and bring your studio, actors, and yourself to Hollywood stardom.

Please follow the links below to learn more information.
Return to Full Article - InsideMacGames News


#2 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17373 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2007 - 10:14 AM

I thought I felt the ground shake!
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#3 mrnintendoguy

mrnintendoguy

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • Location:The smallest house on the block

Posted 05 January 2007 - 11:16 AM

800MB!

Who has a torrent?

#4 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 January 2007 - 11:29 AM

800mb?!?!

but on the IG DVD it was only 373mb!!

*sigh* id better give this a go to make sure that itll still run fine. after all, that old demo ran good, and was ancient. since then... well, I dont see how the performance couldve gotten worse...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#5 dokter_mac

dokter_mac

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 01:49 PM

View Postteflon, on January 5th 2007, 06:29 PM, said:

800mb?!?!

but on the IG DVD it was only 373mb!!

*sigh* id better give this a go to make sure that itll still run fine. after all, that old demo ran good, and was ancient. since then... well, I dont see how the performance couldve gotten worse...
Maybe that's because this demo has a registration possibility?
Like in Shareware games.
Greetz,
Dokter_Mac

#6 Zorcky

Zorcky

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted 05 January 2007 - 02:15 PM

Jeps a 800 Mb demo download and that demo is not working at all!
It is tested on a PowerMac G5 and an 24" iMac with GeForce 7600.

We have waited moths for this game and now is Feral comming with this?

What is going on there?
Hey Dutch Mac Gamers, take a look at here!

#7 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 02:56 PM

What the hell, really??!!!
The demo isnt working at all!!!
anyone got it working??
I'm really soooo bloody pissed off, damn 800mb of popsnizzle. :angry:

#8 Mister Mumbles

Mister Mumbles

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2511 posts
  • Location:Not here; not there; not anywhere!

Posted 05 January 2007 - 03:10 PM

Did you try to set the date back as people have done with their demo on the Imperial Glory CD? Or does it crash outright?
Formerly known as a Mac gamer.

#9 Guest_Red Guard_*

Guest_Red Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 January 2007 - 03:13 PM

Well, it wouldn't even download me :P

#10 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2241 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 05 January 2007 - 03:15 PM

Wait a few hours before downloading.
What is a man?

#11 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 January 2007 - 03:38 PM

View PostGDHM, on January 5th 2007, 08:56 PM, said:

What the hell, really??!!!
The demo isnt working at all!!!
anyone got it working??
I'm really soooo bloody pissed off, damn 800mb of popsnizzle. :angry:


wow there, calm down.
give us a bit more info, what machine have you got, what OS version are you running, did you try and run the game from the disk image, what, if any messages pop up when it goes wrong?

maybe we can help you work through this, in which case its not a waste of your time :)
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#12 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 04:24 PM

kk, sorry for the  :wall: :angry:  
i downed it twice...thinking it maybe was a corrupt download or something..

did you try and run the game from the disk image
it comes with an installer, cant play it from there...searched the package to work around it, but didnt help...
There are no messages at all, it just bounces in the dock and then dissapears...

I got an 1,83 core duo, 1,5 gig ram, w/ OSX version 10.4.8
I was thinking itaybe has to do w/ the FlipForMac plug, downed the latest version, didnt help either?

Anyone else got an idea?

#13 dokter_mac

dokter_mac

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:10 PM

The same over here. This demo is not working at all! So don't download it until this is cleared out.
PPC or Intel, this demo is not starting up!

I'm working on a PM G5 dual 2.7Ghz, 2.5Gb RAM, X800XT. Tested the demo on a Intel iMac 24"=> not working!
Tested on MacBook Pro => not working! Alway's the same problem. Once you press "Play" the demo crashes and the Finder preferences are corrupt.
This demo can damage your system, be careful!

They realy need to pullback this demo soon! It's not even in alfa-fase. I have worked with beta-versions from game-company's (as a tester)  which are much more stable then this. I'm sorry, but something is realy wrong with this demo.

Why is the installerfile 800Mb big and the demo, after installing, +-300Mb? Also VISE 3.1 had some realy bad reviews.
Why not make an installer with Apple's (free) xCode?

Kind regards and hoping to see a working demo soon.

#14 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:20 PM

View Postdokter_mac, on January 6th 2007, 12:10 AM, said:

The same over here. This demo is not working at all! So don't download it until this is cleared out.
PPC or Intel, this demo is not starting up!

......

I'm sorry, but something is realy wrong with this demo.

Why is the installerfile 800Mb big and the demo, after installing, +-300Mb? Also VISE 3.1 had some realy bad reviews.
Why not make an installer with Apple's (free) xCode?

Kind regards and hoping to see a working demo soon.

Thanks Doc, I really thought I was going nuts....was searching the whole net fot more stories on this, couldnt find anything...
Damn shame it dont work, I was really looking forward playing this (although im not a big a gamer)
Guess I'm back to my Protools session, then... :)

#15 Felix

Felix

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:39 PM

View Postdokter_mac, on January 6th 2007, 01:10 AM, said:

Why is the installerfile 800Mb big and the demo, after installing, +-300Mb? Also VISE 3.1 had some realy bad reviews.

Its an international demo, the installer includes also a german and french version of The Movies too, the installer only install only that language that your system use.

#16 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:41 PM

View PostFelix, on January 6th 2007, 12:39 AM, said:

Its an international demo, the installer includes also a german and french version too, the installer only install that language that your system use.

does it work w/ you, Felix?

#17 Felix

Felix

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:44 PM

View PostGDHM, on January 6th 2007, 12:41 AM, said:

does it work w/ you, Felix?
Yeah, it runs fine on my mac with Mac OS X 10.4.8 (german).

#18 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:49 PM

k,
didnt I see a "choose language" option too?
gonna install again, lets see what happens...

EDIT
there's no language menu :P

#19 Felix

Felix

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:53 PM

View PostGDHM, on January 6th 2007, 12:49 AM, said:

k,
didnt I see a "choose language" option too?
gonna install again, lets see what happens...

The VISE Installer detects automatically what language is setup in Mac OS X system preferences, so there is no "choose language"-option.

#20 GDHM

GDHM

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 January 2007 - 05:58 PM

View PostFelix, on January 6th 2007, 12:53 AM, said:

The VISE Installer detects automatically what language is setup in Mac OS X system preferences, so there is no "choose language"-option.

.....yeah....i noticed already..... :nods: