Jump to content


Wow, AOE III announced!


  • Please log in to reply
254 replies to this topic

#41 ZildjianKX

ZildjianKX

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 05:39 PM

So is it coming out in October now?

#42 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 September 2006 - 06:21 PM

That's at least what they said.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#43 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1352 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 22 September 2006 - 07:50 PM

Maybe the October release is just for Germany. But I doubt it, it's already late September and we have yet to hear an official press release about the system requirements.

#44 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 23 September 2006 - 06:01 AM

View PostCougar, on September 23rd 2006, 03:50 AM, said:

Maybe the October release is just for Germany.
No, he was actually talking about the original US version (which will be available worldwide at the same time). The localised versions are to be released in november.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#45 Stratomac

Stratomac

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 03:56 PM

View PostJanichsan, on September 18th 2006, 09:02 PM, said:

I thought this might interest some: Peter Tamte has given a german Mac gaming site a preview of AoE III. The game is to be released end of october in english, localised versions a little later.

He also gave preliminary system requirements:
1,4 Ghz or faster G4, G5 or Intel CPU
256 MB RAM
64 MB graphics board (no integrated Intel crap)
Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later

This is actually lower than I would have expected.

He also mentioned that while the originally released version won't enable Mac<>PC multiplayer, they plan to include this in a very early patch. The scenario editor will be Mac/PC cross compatible for sure.

Thanks very much for that info!

On another note: Perhaps my speculation has become just a bit less harebrained?    ;)

#46 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 28 September 2006 - 05:28 PM

note:
1.4 Ghz G4 applies to the laptop processors which dont have any L3 cache...
if youve got more of everything else, I reckon you could scrape by with 1.25Ghz if youve got the L3 cache...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#47 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 September 2006 - 06:26 PM

View PostStratomac, on September 28th 2006, 11:56 PM, said:

On another note: Perhaps my speculation has become just a bit less harebrained?    ;)
You mean that AoE III Gold speculation? It crossed my mind. We'll see.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#48 StopDropBurn

StopDropBurn

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2437 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 09:55 AM

Wow, those system requirments are pretty low, far lower than what I was expecting.
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.

#49 ZildjianKX

ZildjianKX

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 09 October 2006 - 01:39 PM

Any updates on when it ships? :(

It's late enough now that the expansion ships for the PC in 1 week...

#50 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 09 October 2006 - 05:16 PM

macgold.co.uk says its due in late October...

perhaps we will see a Gold release...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#51 jakeguy99

jakeguy99

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 October 2006 - 08:54 AM

Does this mean that we will not be able to play online as in only IP joining until the supposed update comes out that allows us to view real servers. Since this update is not even official and there has been no proof anounced of this. I sure hope the update does have a server browser though since the past AOE games have been lacking in the online play.

#52 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 10 October 2006 - 06:59 PM

View Postjakeguy99, on October 10th 2006, 04:54 PM, said:

Does this mean that we will not be able to play online as in only IP joining until the supposed update comes out that allows us to view real servers.
Actually it means, you won't be playing against PC players until the update - direct IP or not. Mac to Mac MP will work (probably) in any way conceivable.

Quote

Since this update is not even official and there has been no proof anounced of this. I sure hope the update does have a server browser though since the past AOE games have been lacking in the online play.
If you take a look at the pictures that come with the link I posted you might be able to recognize Peter Tamte - if you know what he looks like, of course - presenting AoE III on an iMac. That probably makes it pretty official.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#53 Zzot!

Zzot!

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 October 2006 - 11:04 AM

In case there's someone who hasn't noticed yet, MacSoft's AOE3 page is up now, and it clearly shows 8 civs (not 11). That being said, if they're going to the trouble of making it talk to the same ESO2 that the Windows version does (and if sales are good enough), there's at least a chance they'll do the expansion pack too.

#54 ZildjianKX

ZildjianKX

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 18 October 2006 - 11:57 AM

Damn, they just need to release it already, it's getting close to November...

#55 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 18 October 2006 - 04:49 PM

does anyone know if this is a graphically intense game? i plan on running it on a MacBook.

#56 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1352 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 18 October 2006 - 05:18 PM

View PostLemon Lime, on October 18th 2006, 10:49 PM, said:

does anyone know if this is a graphically intense game? i plan on running it on a MacBook.

It is, it uses fancy shaders. But the requirements are less than Civ IV so you might be in luck. I'd wait for the demo.

#57 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 18 October 2006 - 06:13 PM

View PostLemon Lime, on October 19th 2006, 12:49 AM, said:

does anyone know if this is a graphically intense game? i plan on running it on a MacBook.
Sorry, but this looks bad for you:

View PostJanichsan, on September 19th 2006, 05:02 AM, said:

He also gave preliminary system requirements:
1,4 Ghz or faster G4, G5 or Intel CPU
256 MB RAM
64 MB graphics board (no integrated Intel crap)
Mac OS X 10.3.9 or later

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#58 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 18 October 2006 - 06:41 PM

View PostJanichsan, on October 18th 2006, 05:13 PM, said:

Sorry, but this looks bad for you:

did you add that bold part in or was that there originally?

#59 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8075 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 18 October 2006 - 06:48 PM

I added the bold, the text itself was there originally.

By the way: it also says so (well, not exactly in the same way) on the official AoE III-page (for link see above).

Quote

System Requirements: Macintosh computer with a G4/G5 or Intel processor running at 1.4GHz or faster, Mac OS X v10.3.9 or higher, 512MB RAM, 64 MB Video Card (with support for hardware T & L). ...
The Integrated Intel Crap does not have hardware T & L.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#60 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 18 October 2006 - 08:39 PM

View PostJanichsan, on October 18th 2006, 05:48 PM, said:

The Integrated Intel Crap does not have hardware T & L.

aaaw crap! i guess i will have to play it on the iMac then.