Jump to content


Call of Duty 2 Patch v1.3


  • Please log in to reply
280 replies to this topic

#41 paulc

paulc

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 02 July 2006 - 01:16 PM

1G of memory is fine for safe-boot mode and only running text-edit. <g>

Seriously, do yourself a favor and get at least another gig.

#42 krise

krise

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 04 July 2006 - 05:00 AM

I think the SMP Patch for COD 2 will not improve fps (thats my thought).
It will only improve stuttering at very high settings.
What do you guys think ?







Krise

#43 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 04 July 2006 - 07:58 AM

depends on if you are CPU or GPU limited. If you are GPU limited, then it wont change much, if you are CPU limited then it will mean the earth.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#44 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 July 2006 - 02:22 AM

could be. what was the .dmg's size? mine was 666mb.

just try downloading it again.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#45 LowSix

LowSix

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 July 2006 - 10:39 PM

offtopic...and little to no info on the patch. Its a pain to be notified of all the replies with nothing said whatsoever about the actual thread subject.

#46 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17376 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 July 2006 - 08:33 AM

View PostLowSix, on July 5th 2006, 09:39 PM, said:

offtopic...and little to no info on the patch. Its a pain to be notified of all the replies with nothing said whatsoever about the actual thread subject.
He's right.  Keep it on topic please: "Call of Duty 2 Patch v1.3"
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#47 Lord Brixton

Lord Brixton

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1629 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted 06 July 2006 - 09:11 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on July 6th 2006, 03:33 PM, said:

He's right.  Keep it on topic please: "Call of Duty 2 Patch v1.3"

What was the ETA on this thing? Last week?  :(

Tower MacPro 2x2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon / 4gb RAM / Radeon X1900 XT 512 / 20" Cinema Display.
MacBook Pro 1.8 gHz Core Duo  / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility X1600 128 / 15" LCD
PowerBook G4 1x1.67ghz / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility 9700 128 / 15" LCD

723rd kicks wussy Nar butt!




Posted Image


#48 Spin_X

Spin_X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 10 July 2006 - 10:51 AM

BUMP... (heh, I saw Glenda in the form so I thoght I'd ask!)

#49 LowSix

LowSix

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 10 July 2006 - 03:30 PM

which means that she saw this post, and didnt bother to drop us any feedback. yay.

#50 Setren

Setren

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 11 July 2006 - 06:20 PM

Gah, really need 1.3 to get into clans.  >.<
Please hurry.

#51 GlendaAdams

GlendaAdams

    Maverick Software

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 11 July 2006 - 06:44 PM

We're working on it, but no ETA yet.  Sorry.
Glenda Adams
Maverick Software

#52 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 July 2006 - 08:27 PM

View PostGlendaAdams, on July 12th 2006, 10:44 AM, said:

We're working on it, but no ETA yet.  Sorry.
In future, whenever anyone wants to ask when something Aspyr is working on will be finished, they can just come back and read this post. Glenda has always posted news when there's anything new that can be said.

#53 Setren

Setren

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 11 July 2006 - 10:16 PM

Oh, I thought I'd suggest something for 1.3.  Making it so that you can CMD+Tab out of the game would be great.  I know the Windows users I play with can do that, and it really helps being about to change Ventrilo channels or respond to IM's without having to shutdown and reload.

Dunno if a suggesting here is worth anything. XD

#54 napster14

napster14

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 12 July 2006 - 01:00 AM

There MUST be a option to return to the finder with CoD2 Multiplayer. Otherwise you will loose a lot of serious players who are in a cod2 clan.

#55 Setren

Setren

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 12 July 2006 - 02:24 PM

Well currently serious players can't be in COD2 clans because we're not 1.3.  (Ah well...)

But I haven't found any command to return to finder without reloading the game at all.  Command+Tab would be great, but that doesn't work (even though Alt+Tab does on the Windows version).  If anybody knows of an option, please enlighten me.

#56 eschatz

eschatz

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts
  • Location:Baltimore, Maryland

Posted 12 July 2006 - 11:51 PM

Alternatively, you can all buy an XBOX 360 and play the game at best detail possible (with an HDTV) better than a high end PC. Granted, I did that quite some time ago and am midlly partial.....I still bought the game for the mac though.
Edward

#57 Batcat

Batcat

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2907 posts
  • Location:In Flux

Posted 14 July 2006 - 06:28 AM

View Postteflon, on July 4th 2006, 08:58 AM, said:

depends on if you are CPU or GPU limited. If you are GPU limited, then it wont change much, if you are CPU limited then it will mean the earth.
Maybe not. First Conroe benches are coming in now that NDAs are off, and Firingsquad found virtually no difference in tested CPUs even at 800x600 with a dual X1900XTX Crossfire setup:

Quote

Under Call of Duty 2 all the processors we tested here perform practically identically to each other, even at low resolutions where the burden is traditionally placed on the CPU. We ran tests earlier this year with an earlier build of CoD 2 and found little or no improvements from dual-core; even with the latest build it looks like things havenít changed much.
http://www.firingsqu...ance/page10.asp

#58 Spin_X

Spin_X

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 July 2006 - 07:29 AM

Though I'm going to be happy when the 1.3 patch for the Mac version finally comes out, I'm not very happy with how long this takes and can see why bootcamp and PC versions of AAA games is becoming a more realistic alternitive...

And I know this only makes things woste for the Mac gaming platform. Its kind of ironic because we finally have, with Intel, computers that are very good gaming machines... we  now have the hardware but not the software.

We asked Apple to come up with hardware to match the PC and they have (too late?). Now its sort of in the Mac game companys' hands to come up with our versions quicker...

Hey I'm hijacking my own post and just came here to see if the patch has been released!

ETA on an ETA!? Thanks...

#59 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3512 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 19 July 2006 - 09:24 AM

View PostSpin_X, on July 19th 2006, 11:29 PM, said:

Now its sort of in the Mac game companys' hands to come up with our versions quicker...
It is pretty much physically impossible for porting companies to do what they are doing any faster than they are doing it now. The only way the Mac ports of games will be released earlier is if the Mac team gets to start the Mac version well before the Windows version is released. Ideally a single code base would be maintained all the way through development, from which both the Windows and Mac versions would be built, thus allowing platform-specific problems to be detected and fixed early.

#60 Batcat

Batcat

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2907 posts
  • Location:In Flux

Posted 19 July 2006 - 11:01 AM

A little corporate effort from Apple, in the form of a Games Division of some sort, dealing with developer relations and including a bit of seed money, might go a disproportionately long way fostering that. Unfortunately they seem blind in that eye.

MS recently did a survey. After the predictable 35% or so of time spent on the Internet, playing games came in a perhaps-surprising second, at around 18%, which figure included teens to grammas and all sorts of gaming, across the board. Apple might learn from that.

Games on the computer might not garner the respect of 'serious' work, but it can help grow your marketshare. It's there, like it or not... Steve. :mellow: