Jump to content


Where'd you guys get your copy of Windows from?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#21 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 11 April 2006 - 08:53 AM

I made a copy from my roomate's disc.  Haven't had any issues with this "borrowed" copy yet.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#22 tthiel

tthiel

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Az

Posted 11 April 2006 - 09:06 AM

Have you tried to activate it?  Hoepfully MS won't kill both your and your friends copy...

#23 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17376 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 April 2006 - 10:06 AM

IMG's policy of intolerance towards piracy has not changed with the advent of Boot Camp.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#24 Stecchino

Stecchino

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Location:Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Posted 11 April 2006 - 11:03 AM

After several phone calls I've discovered that my wife, who's a graduate student at the University of Nebraska is eligible to buy things from the campus computer store.

XP Pro:  $4.99

(Installing...)

#25 Batcat

Batcat

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2907 posts
  • Location:In Flux

Posted 11 April 2006 - 05:26 PM

View Posttthiel, on April 11th 2006, 09:44 AM, said:

http://search.micros...-US&q=dual core

Multi-core_Hyperthread Volume Licensing Brief-see page 3

Also you can Google this and find the same information all over the Internet.

Or open Task manager and you will see two procs.

Intel has the same information
http://www.intel.com...b/cs-022096.htm
Thanks. On a brief lookthru, it appears I missed where XP Home had dual-core support added in, apparently in SP1.

Windows XP Home Edition                        
Do technically enforced processor limits
support multicore and hyperthreaded processors?
    
Yes

View Postthe Battle Cat, on April 11th 2006, 11:06 AM, said:

IMG's policy of intolerance towards piracy has not changed with the advent of Boot Camp.
tthiel is right. The clock is ticking towards a system lockup.

Clocknova, go legal.

#26 tthiel

tthiel

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Az

Posted 11 April 2006 - 06:18 PM

Microsoft doesn't go out of their way to explain this since they want people to pay more for Pro.  Intel and AMD on the other hand want everyone to know about it.

#27 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3895 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 11 April 2006 - 06:40 PM

So a xp home OEM would do fine for us folks who only want to game and test websites under IE?

Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau


#28 tthiel

tthiel

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, Az

Posted 11 April 2006 - 06:53 PM

XP home oem is fine for anything you want to do.  It works just as well under dual core procs as pro.