Jump to content


Apple Boot Camp


  • Please log in to reply
211 replies to this topic

#201 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 09 April 2006 - 08:20 PM

any website that forces you to use IE isnt worth being a website.

and the requirement for boot camp is an SP2 version of XP.

and if its a beta thing with time limit, then itll be like what happened with ichat, i think there was something like a 2 month "transition" period (ie apple put extra time in in case they had to push panther back a bit)..
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#202 placebo

placebo

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 929 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted 10 April 2006 - 06:34 AM

Back to the Windows/Mac virus:

Is it possible that there could be a script or virus that creates a new partition, on a stack range of the drive that Windows is unable to see, thus Windows doesn't think it's doing anything wrong by creating a partition there?

#203 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 April 2006 - 08:40 AM

View Postplacebo, on April 10th 2006, 07:34 AM, said:

Back to the Windows/Mac virus:

Is it possible that there could be a script or virus that creates a new partition, on a stack range of the drive that Windows is unable to see, thus Windows doesn't think it's doing anything wrong by creating a partition there?

No offense, but who cares?  If you want to talk about theoretical viruses, make a separate thread.   ;)
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#204 Atticus

Atticus

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 10 April 2006 - 09:35 PM

I am, in fact, a flugnut.

Atticus
Who just loaded up Q4
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#205 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 03:27 AM

View Postplacebo, on April 10th 2006, 05:34 AM, said:

Back to the Windows/Mac virus:

Is it possible that there could be a script or virus that creates a new partition, on a stack range of the drive that Windows is unable to see, thus Windows doesn't think it's doing anything wrong by creating a partition there?

Is that supposed to be funny?

#206 placebo

placebo

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 929 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 09:14 AM

View Postbobbob, on April 11th 2006, 02:27 AM, said:

Is that supposed to be funny?
If you know anything about what we're talking about, you're sure modest about it.

#207 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 11:05 PM

View Postplacebo, on April 10th 2006, 05:34 AM, said:

Is it possible that there could be a script or virus that creates a new partition, on a stack range of the drive that Windows is unable to see, thus Windows doesn't think it's doing anything wrong by creating a partition there?

What part of a drive is Windows unable to see? Why would Windows not notice an existing partition in the partition table at the beginning of the drive? What's the 'stack range of the drive'?

#208 ukimalefu

ukimalefu

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts

Posted 11 April 2006 - 11:59 PM

it's a bad thing

#209 seveneleven

seveneleven

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 April 2006 - 12:13 AM

My earphone socket is not working under Win XP (Boot Camp) - solution?

Anyway have problems to get conected to Airport network via Windows (40 Bit WEP)

Games run like wild, esp. BF2 -->>> WOW!!

#210 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 April 2006 - 07:19 AM

the earphone one is somewhere in this thread i think... you have to go into sound prefs or something...

you need to disable the password on the mac, then via airport utility on the PC, put the password back. its stupid and ridiculous, but it lets windows  think that its in control.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#211 seveneleven

seveneleven

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 April 2006 - 03:56 PM

View Postteflon, on April 12th 2006, 07:19 AM, said:

the earphone one is somewhere in this thread i think... you have to go into sound prefs or something...

you need to disable the password on the mac, then via airport utility on the PC, put the password back. its stupid and ridiculous, but it lets windows  think that its in control.

Works now!! Thanks alot ... :)

#212 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 April 2006 - 05:54 AM

View Postteflon, on April 12th 2006, 08:19 AM, said:

the earphone one is somewhere in this thread i think... you have to go into sound prefs or something...

you need to disable the password on the mac, then via airport utility on the PC, put the password back. its stupid and ridiculous, but it lets windows  think that its in control.

I did not realize that Apple had written an Airport Utility for PCs, but I guess that makes sense. I assume that after you do this the password works on both OSs?

-Hunt'n