Jump to content


Civ IV, Civ III: Complete Announced for the Mac


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#41 Jolly Rogue

Jolly Rogue

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:The Land of Serious Joking

Posted 29 October 2005 - 10:00 PM

Okay, one package has Sid Meier’s Civilization III, Conquests and Play the World.™ Cool.

...But will it have a map editor? If it has an editor, fantastic.
If not, will the old, cobbled-together editor work on the Aspyr maps (assuming it might since the maps were cross-platformish)?

#42 Brad Oliver

Brad Oliver

    Awesome Developer Dude Guy

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1692 posts
  • Steam Name:hoserama99
  • Steam ID:hoserama99
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 October 2005 - 05:29 AM

Siegfrid, on October 28th 2005, 10:07 PM, said:

btw - will it be possible to download some scenarios from Civ-fansites and play them on my Mac or are they PC-only?

View Post


All the add-ons and mods should work. I've tested a few, so it'd be considered a bug if they did not.
Brad Oliver
bradman at pobox dot com

#43 Brad Oliver

Brad Oliver

    Awesome Developer Dude Guy

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1692 posts
  • Steam Name:hoserama99
  • Steam ID:hoserama99
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 30 October 2005 - 05:31 AM

dojoboy, on October 29th 2005, 05:39 AM, said:

But, it has also been stated that Aspyr is looking into rereleasing SMAC/x, polished for OSX.  This would require a new agreement with Firaxis (or Take2) because Aypr's rights to SMAC/x had run out some time ago.

View Post


I could be wrong, but I believe we can still release patches for the games, just not sell them in stores. I'll have to inquire about that before I go shooting off my mouth again about an intel version. ;)
Brad Oliver
bradman at pobox dot com

#44 Momus

Momus

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 31 October 2005 - 02:35 PM

Is there any chance (lovely, beautiful!) Civ IV will be playable on a G4?

#45 Brad Oliver

Brad Oliver

    Awesome Developer Dude Guy

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1692 posts
  • Steam Name:hoserama99
  • Steam ID:hoserama99
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 October 2005 - 05:09 PM

Momus, on October 31st 2005, 01:35 PM, said:

Is there any chance (lovely, beautiful!) Civ IV will be playable on a G4?

View Post


I don't see why not.
Brad Oliver
bradman at pobox dot com

#46 Momus

Momus

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted 01 November 2005 - 09:34 AM

Brad Oliver, on October 31st 2005, 04:09 PM, said:

I don't see why not.

View Post


That's music to my ears!  Thanks for participating in these boards, Brad.

#47 Jolly Rogue

Jolly Rogue

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:The Land of Serious Joking

Posted 02 November 2005 - 01:15 PM

To Brad: ...Okay, we're working through jury-rigging limited map editing in Civ III via... other means. But how about C-IV? Will the '06 Mac release have the "WorldBuilder" included?

#48 Brad Oliver

Brad Oliver

    Awesome Developer Dude Guy

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1692 posts
  • Steam Name:hoserama99
  • Steam ID:hoserama99
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 02 November 2005 - 01:25 PM

Jolly Rogue, on November 2nd 2005, 12:15 PM, said:

To Brad: ...Okay, we're working through jury-rigging limited map editing in Civ III via... other means. But how about C-IV? Will the '06 Mac release have the "WorldBuilder" included?

View Post


Way too early to say. I'd love to do it, of course.
Brad Oliver
bradman at pobox dot com

#49 angusmacg

angusmacg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 November 2005 - 08:31 PM

Civ IV has found me searching for news on the Mac version and here I am...a newbie to the forum and am quite impressed that Mr. Oliver is posting in this thread and keeping us "in the loop" on Civ IV.

Can't wait until the release...

Angus

#50 johntravers

johntravers

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 298 posts

Posted 27 November 2005 - 01:46 PM

Brad erm... (feels embarrassed asking)...Do you think civ iv will play okay or at all on a dual 867 (ati9000) i was holding off until intel macs before updating. i dont mind having to turn all of the options off and making a cup of tea between turns
iMac 2011 27" 3.2ghz and 1 gb 6970m

#51 StopDropBurn

StopDropBurn

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2437 posts

Posted 27 November 2005 - 02:47 PM

Will it run on my eMac 1Ghz, 384 RAM, Radeon 7500?
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.

#52 Enkidu

Enkidu

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 28 November 2005 - 11:45 AM

I am eager to hear how CIV is coming along.  I skipped CIII (bad doggy, cuz my old comp couldn't handle much of anything).  Now that my loaded for bear iMac is in teh houz I am all a twitter to try CIV (tho worry that the GeforceIV card is going to be a bit of a drawback).

Would love to get a Macintel next year early if it is kickass for CIV.  A cheap PC for gaming and various work tasks is getting more and more tempting.  A Macintel with the ability to occassionally run Windows-only apps would be perfect.  I would gladly buy native mac ports of windows games rather than dual booting (I wonder if the gfx card would be full throttle in Virtual PC or virtual machine implementations).

Please keep up the good work Brad!  And update us on progress of CivIV!  and your brad hole needs an update (CivIV!)

:D


thanks!