Jump to content


The Sims 2 has a file limit


  • Please log in to reply
111 replies to this topic

#21 simsbaby

simsbaby

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Location:USA IL

Posted 22 June 2005 - 02:10 PM

GlendaAdams, on June 22nd 2005, 08:02 AM, said:

This is a really good point- and the biggest problem with customizable content.  While we try to make sure all the free add-ins work, there is a very good chance that a few broken skins/sims/etc are floating around on the net.  It may be just one or two downloads that throw the whole game for a loop.  I'd suggest pulling out the extras to make sure the game is working OK, and then adding them in a few at a time.  If it stops working, you'll be able to identify which one is causing the problem.

Glenda

View Post


i did that all are working but the game still won't work after so many files. what happens when people have to many sims will the game stop working for them too?

Intel iMac 2 GHz Core Duo
Ram : 2 GB
Hard Drive : 250 GB


#22 GlendaAdams

GlendaAdams

    Maverick Software

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 22 June 2005 - 02:16 PM

simsbaby, on June 22nd 2005, 01:10 PM, said:

i did that all are working but the game still won't work after so many files. what happens when people have to many sims will the game stop working for them too?

View Post


So you can reach a point where you add just a single skin file and that makes the game stop working?  If you can do that, and it happens no matter what skin file you add, then you've definitely found some kind of file limit bug.  

If you get to the point where adding a single file breaks the game but it only happens with one particular skin, it's a bad file.

Once we get more information on exactly where the 'break' happens (the game works fine then fails as soon as you add one more), we can help figure out what needs to be done to fix it.

Glenda
Glenda Adams
Maverick Software

#23 simsbaby

simsbaby

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Location:USA IL

Posted 22 June 2005 - 05:19 PM

ok i am going to try on a fresh user name.

update bodyshops file limit is 1,257

Edited by simsbaby, 22 June 2005 - 07:13 PM.

Intel iMac 2 GHz Core Duo
Ram : 2 GB
Hard Drive : 250 GB


#24 Crat

Crat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 01:06 PM

The iMac Man, on June 22nd 2005, 10:40 AM, said:

Again, I will repeat, a CHEAT code is NOT a feature!

View Post


I feel a semantic distinction has developed in the gaming world where developers are creating game features which are touted in the promotions (which include in-game videos that are distributed) and documentation and calling them "cheats".  The Sims used the "cheats" as an intrinsic part of the game to add features and to solve "bugs".  The Sims 2 has advertised the feature referenced for the PC version and Apple included the sensorgrid size command on their website as one of the console commands for the Mac version, along with a number of other interesting actions.  As such, this is no longer a "cheat" in the conventional sense of the word where someone is stepping outside of the bounds of expected user experience, but of someone expecting a touted (and for many, a previously much used and expected) feature.  

I understand that in early computer games (particularly consoles) it was a selling point to make the programmer commands available as "cheats" to allow gamers to feel they were "getting away with something" and being part of an inside group of elite players, but that rapidly gave way to developers including functions they called "cheats" as part of the product and making them available to any gamer magazine that asked for them.  So, to come back to my original point, I consider it disingenuous to claim that these codes should not be supported just because they are sometimes refered to as "cheats".

#25 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:05 PM

This isn't up for debate.

If you have to enter in a code (and I don't care how well documented or publicised that code is), it is not a "feature"... it is a cheat.
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#26 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 02:06 PM

GlendaAdams, on June 22nd 2005, 08:02 AM, said:

It may be just one or two downloads that throw the whole game for a loop

Crashing when loading data is probably a bad sign. Maybe some sanity checks would be a good idea?

#27 luws

luws

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 03:08 PM

The iMac Man, on June 23rd 2005, 01:05 PM, said:

This isn't up for debate.

If you have to enter in a code (and I don't care how well documented or publicised that code is), it is not a "feature"... it is a cheat.

View Post

I think *cheat* has become a misnomer. They should be called enhancements:
"enhance -- to heighten, improve, augment, etc."

#28 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:14 PM

The iMac Man, on June 23rd 2005, 01:05 PM, said:

If you have to enter in a code (and I don't care how well documented or publicised that code is), it is not a "feature"... it is a cheat.

If Apple's as much as advertising it as a feature, it's pretty much not debatable for another reason. Why is it borked in the first place? Crashing when running console commands is even worse than crashing when loading data.

#29 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 23 June 2005 - 04:18 PM

Apple isn't advertising it as a feature...  they listed it as a cheat code.

Now, why it doesn't work is beyond me.  They either intentionally disabled it, or forgot to consider cheat codes when porting the game....
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#30 luws

luws

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 05:19 PM

nonetheless, simsbaby is experiencing download limits. Hasn't anyone else noticed this?
(I don't have that many dl's yet)

#31 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 05:53 PM

The iMac Man, on June 23rd 2005, 03:18 PM, said:

Apple isn't advertising it as a feature...  they listed it as a cheat code.

Quote

Learn how to customize your Sims and view our tips, tricks and cheats section to get the extra edge for getting your Sims ahead.

To me those are features. Like 'disco' in Warcraft2, it's something to keep you interested in the game, and is listed alongside other things that make the game easier for those who get bored or find it hard.

#32 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 23 June 2005 - 06:04 PM

bobbob, on June 23rd 2005, 06:53 PM, said:

To me those are features. Like 'disco' in Warcraft2, it's something to keep you interested in the game, and is listed alongside other things that make the game easier for those who get bored or find it hard.

View Post



Uh, sorry, it says right in your own quote:


Apple said:

Learn how to customize your Sims and view our tips, tricks and cheats section to get the extra edge for getting your Sims ahead.


One more time, all together now, if you have to enter a code, it is NOT a feature!  I am not making this up folks....

Edited by the Battle Cat, 23 June 2005 - 07:31 PM.

-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#33 jason181

jason181

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 06:33 PM

Cheat codes are no different than any other feature. They're added by the game creator. But, whether they're officially supported or not is a different question.

#34 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 23 June 2005 - 06:47 PM

Oh my god....  I give up.

:wall:
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#35 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 23 June 2005 - 08:17 PM

The iMac Man, on June 23rd 2005, 05:04 PM, said:

Uh, sorry, it says right in your own quote:
One more time, all together now, if you have to enter a code, it is NOT a feature!  I am not making this up folks....

Most online games make you enter a command to kick or ban someone. You say those aren't features?

#36 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 24 June 2005 - 08:40 AM

Leave it to bobbob to take this to a completely unrelated place...

Hey, how about now we argue that easter eggs are features!  Yeah, that'll be another fun and completely pointless debate....
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#37 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17436 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:04 AM

Please knock it off you guys.  This thread is about potential file limit problems in Sims 2.  Aspyr is here helping to troubleshoot it.  Lets not bog it down with off topic dialogue.  If you want, I can split it off into a new topic and you can all have at each other there.  PM me please.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#38 simsbaby

simsbaby

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Location:USA IL

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:34 AM

Thank you for not locking it. I am also getting a new bug if I make any new familys the old ones disappear

Intel iMac 2 GHz Core Duo
Ram : 2 GB
Hard Drive : 250 GB


#39 GlendaAdams

GlendaAdams

    Maverick Software

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:34 AM

simsbaby, on June 22nd 2005, 04:19 PM, said:

ok i am going to try on a fresh user name.

update bodyshops file limit is 1,257

View Post


So if you remove one package file and go to 1,256 everything works OK?

Glenda
Glenda Adams
Maverick Software

#40 simsbaby

simsbaby

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 253 posts
  • Location:USA IL

Posted 24 June 2005 - 10:14 AM

GlendaAdams, on June 24th 2005, 08:34 AM, said:

So if you remove one package file and go to 1,256 everything works OK?

Glenda

View Post

yes but if i make a sim and then save it then it goes wonky.

Intel iMac 2 GHz Core Duo
Ram : 2 GB
Hard Drive : 250 GB