Jump to content


Sims 2 Uncensored, work for anyone? Game Freezes.


  • Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#1 jowens121

jowens121

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 June 2005 - 06:06 PM

Does the censor/uncensor cheat work for anyone?  When I set the cheat, then have my sims take a bath (or whatever would activate the censored effect), the game freezes until their clothes are back on (I can hear them splashing in the water, but on screen nothing changes...I just see the sim frozen in the swirl effect that happens when they take off their clothes).  Once the bath is over and their clothes are "back on", the game starts running fine.

Curious to see if this is an issue with the Mac, or with my setup.

to enable the cheat:
control-shift-c
intProp censorGridSize 0

#2 K7own

K7own

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 15 June 2005 - 08:18 PM

jowens121, on June 16th 2005, 12:06 AM, said:

Does the censor/uncensor cheat work for anyone?  When I set the cheat, then have my sims take a bath (or whatever would activate the censored effect), the game freezes until their clothes are back on (I can hear them splashing in the water, but on screen nothing changes...I just see the sim frozen in the swirl effect that happens when they take off their clothes).  Once the bath is over and their clothes are "back on", the game starts running fine.

Curious to see if this is an issue with the Mac, or with my setup.

to enable the cheat:
control-shift-c
intProp censorGridSize 0

View Post


Same problem I'm having... Personally I hate pixelized anything regardless of the medium...  So I tried the command to turn it off and had the same problem until I re-enabled it.

"intprop censorgridsize 8" turns it back to normal and stops the game from freezing up.  I tried different numbers and setting it to 1 makes one giant blur instead of the more varied blur that you get as the number gets closer to 8.  Setting it to 0 should turn it off but as you mentioned above the game just locks up until their clothes are back on.

This is definitely a problem specific to the mac version of the game.  Maybe it was intentionally programed this way to keep people from seeing their Sim's naughty bits. (as if they had any)

#3 blackbolt666

blackbolt666

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 June 2005 - 11:09 PM

K7own, on June 15th 2005, 07:18 PM, said:

"intprop censorgridsize 8" turns it back to normal and stops the game from freezing up.  I tried different numbers and setting it to 1 makes one giant blur instead of the more varied blur that you get as the number gets closer to 8.  Setting it to 0 should turn it off but as you mentioned above the game just locks up until their clothes are back on.

View Post


It sounds like the game is trying to divide the censor block into 0 pieces, but since divide by zero is a no-no the game freezes.  The fact that the game doesn't just crash would seem to indicate that the divide by zero is being caught but that the graphics aren't updating until it stops trying to divide by zero.

Of course not being familiar with the game code, I could be wrong.

#4 luws

luws

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 20 June 2005 - 08:51 PM

blackbolt666, on June 19th 2005, 10:09 PM, said:

It sounds like the game is trying to divide the censor block into 0 pieces, but since divide by zero is a no-no the game freezes.  The fact that the game doesn't just crash would seem to indicate that the divide by zero is being caught but that the graphics aren't updating until it stops trying to divide by zero.

Of course not being familiar with the game code, I could be wrong.

View Post

Doesn't work for me either. I also downloaded 3 versions of the  userstartup.cheat  file from 3 different sites and they have the same freezing effect. The cheat works for PCs, so maybe we need a different cheat code? Cause there are other cheats that aren't working for me as well. Motherlode is one.

#5 Siriusfox

Siriusfox

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1148 posts
  • Steam Name:opensiriusfox
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 20 June 2005 - 10:03 PM

This is not something that should be discussed on this forum. You should not be discussing how to look at dirty pictures at a public forum.
20'' iMac Intel Core Duo 2GHz, 10.6.5, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI X1600

"Home computers are being called upon to perform many new functions, including the consumption of homework formerly eaten by the dog." -Doug Larson

#6 jowens121

jowens121

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 June 2005 - 10:14 PM

joefox, on June 20th 2005, 09:03 PM, said:

This is not something that should be discussed on this forum. You should not be discussing how to look at dirty pictures at a public forum.

View Post



I'd have to disagree with you, we're discussing a bug with the game, not "dirty pictures".  The censorship cheat is part of the official release, and thus a feature.  We've kept our discussion specific to the bug and haven't discussed anything "pornographic".

#7 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 01:13 AM

jowens said:

I'd have to disagree with you

Listen to the Deacon, goodman.

joefox, on June 20th 2005, 09:03 PM, said:

You should not be discussing how to look at dirty pictures at a public forum.


#8 K7own

K7own

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 06:06 AM

joefox, on June 21st 2005, 04:03 AM, said:

This is not something that should be discussed on this forum. You should not be discussing how to look at dirty pictures at a public forum.

View Post



Did you read the original post?  The game locks up when you use the cheat code... Although I doubt it will make top priority on Aspyr's "bugs to fix list" its something that if fixed would be cool to be able to use with the mac version of the Sims.

Don't try and censor a legit post.  You are not a mod.

intprop forumcensorgridsize 0

Did it work?

#9 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17436 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 21 June 2005 - 07:59 AM

You dirty DIRTY little boys!  You realize hair is going to grow on your eyes if you look at those nekkid Sims?  Can't you find something wholesome to do like go outside and fry ants with a magnifying glass?
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#10 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 21 June 2005 - 08:54 AM

A "cheat" is not a "feature" or else it wouldn't be a cheat....  ;)
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#11 Crat

Crat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 04:05 PM

I wrote to Aspyr and asked about using the "intprop censorgridsize 0" code and was told that they could not answer questions about "information or support regarding mods, cheats or 3rd party files, additional content, and the like."  I was a little surprised as the original SIMS games had touted use of the codes as legitimate workarounds to bugs (e.g. stuck characters) and/or additional features (e.g adding water to property).  

I did notice that the censorgridsize function is not listed by the help command in the console, so I'm presuming that Aspyr took it out on purpose.  From one point of view I can understand that it was probably a programming problem. On the other hand, from an aesthetic pov, I am really turned off by an effect that reminds me of the early days of porn mags and art films, thus making the game look cheap (as in tawdry and trying to titillate).  

But, since this is the only flaw I've seen so far, I can't complain too much.  Aspyr has done a good job with this one.  (Though I will keep hoping they'll fix it soon  :) )

#12 luws

luws

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 04:35 PM

Do you really think Aspyr will try to fix it if it's a *cheat code*. Or maybe some savvy Mac programmer out there can come up with a file that will do the trick, kind of like the censor patch of Sims 1.

#13 K7own

K7own

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 05:15 PM

The iMac Man, on June 21st 2005, 02:54 PM, said:

A "cheat" is not a "feature" or else it wouldn't be a cheat....  ;)

View Post


All I'm saying is that it works on the PC version and should work on the mac version.  If someone can get it to work, cool... if not, oh well... its still a great game just not as customizable as its PC counterpart.

#14 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3895 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 21 June 2005 - 07:02 PM

K7own, on June 21st 2005, 06:15 PM, said:

All I'm saying is that it works on the PC version and should work on the mac version.† If someone can get it to work, cool... if not, oh well... its still a great game just not as customizable as its PC counterpart.

Wow, shades of the Neverwinter Toolset discussions, eh?

BTW ... But if it's not supposed to be there, someone should let Apple know, as they feature this, err, feature on their own splashy preview of the game here.

Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau


#15 The iMac Man

The iMac Man

    Macologist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2422 posts
  • Location:IL (USA)

Posted 21 June 2005 - 07:44 PM

DaveyJJ, on June 21st 2005, 08:02 PM, said:

BTW ... But if it's not supposed to be there, someone should let Apple know, as they feature this, err, feature on their own splashy preview of the game here.

View Post


Nice catch!
-iMac

(The PC to Mac CoD Mod Converter)
Heat of Battle
Revolt
SWAT
Others

Get Mac Game Mods: Macologist.org

#16 K7own

K7own

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 21 June 2005 - 09:27 PM

DaveyJJ, on June 22nd 2005, 01:02 AM, said:

Wow, shades of the Neverwinter Toolset discussions, eh?

BTW ... But if it's not supposed to be there, someone should let Apple know, as they feature this, err, feature on their own splashy preview of the game here.

View Post


Priceless!

BTW- Im not familiar with the Neverwinter Toolset discussion what does it have to do with The Sims 2 cheat codes

#17 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 22 June 2005 - 03:51 AM

K7own, on June 21st 2005, 10:27 PM, said:

Priceless!

BTW- Im not familiar with the Neverwinter Toolset discussion what does it have to do with The Sims 2 cheat codes

View Post


It's the eternal problem of Mac ports that they rarely come with editing tools. With NWN, we were promised the complete package (since a big part of the Aurora engine and NWN was the ability to create new content and quests), but in the end, after a long (?) wait for the game, it came without the editing tools.

So people are quite familiar with not getting everything that the PC package had to offer. (Though sometimes we've gotten more!)
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#18 Pessot

Pessot

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 24 June 2005 - 08:48 AM

jowens121, on June 16th 2005, 12:06 AM, said:

Does the censor/uncensor cheat work for anyone?  When I set the cheat, then have my sims take a bath (or whatever would activate the censored effect), the game freezes until their clothes are back on (I can hear them splashing in the water, but on screen nothing changes...I just see the sim frozen in the swirl effect that happens when they take off their clothes).  Once the bath is over and their clothes are "back on", the game starts running fine.

Curious to see if this is an issue with the Mac, or with my setup.

to enable the cheat:
control-shift-c
intProp censorGridSize 0

View Post



I really hope that Aspyr didn't remove this cheat/feature from the Mac-version. I can accept such an action, if it is the ONLY way to make the game work.
But if Aspyr has become a self-appointed guardian of morality and removed it to "protect" the gamers, then it would be a highly objectionable behaviour.

But itís probably a bug and nothing else.
/Pessot

#19 GlendaAdams

GlendaAdams

    Maverick Software

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 09:36 AM

Pessot, on June 24th 2005, 07:48 AM, said:

I really hope that Aspyr didn't remove this cheat/feature from the Mac-version. I can accept such an action, if it is the ONLY way to make the game work.
But if Aspyr has become a self-appointed guardian of morality and removed it to "protect" the gamers, then it would be a highly objectionable behaviour.

But itís probably a bug and nothing else.

View Post


We didn't remove any cheats on purpose.  They just weren't the focus of our testing (we test the official features of the game first).  We'll look at fixing some of the more popular cheats as we look at future patches.  Even though they aren't official features, just like user downloads and mods we do our best to make them work.  

Glenda
Glenda Adams
Maverick Software

#20 DaveG

DaveG

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 24 June 2005 - 10:30 AM

GlendaAdams, on June 24th 2005, 11:36 AM, said:

We didn't remove any cheats on purpose.  They just weren't the focus of our testing (we test the official features of the game first).  We'll look at fixing some of the more popular cheats as we look at future patches.  Even though they aren't official features, just like user downloads and mods we do our best to make them work. 

Glenda

View Post



Well clearly Aspyr didn't have their priorities ordered correctly with this one! Please always remember and never forget.... No matter what people admit to publicly, it's ALWAYS about the digital naughty-bits...  :lol:  :D  :blush:

Don't believe me? I'm sure at least one of the developers "private builds" already has this bug squashed! ;)

Dave,

[Humor impaired disclaimer: Yes, this was written with tongue planted firmly in cheek]