Jump to content


Radeon X800 Xt Mac Edition


  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#1 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 05 January 2005 - 05:41 AM

At 6AM EDT today, ATI released the Radeon X800 XT Mac Edition.

I posted a review of it compared to the GeForce 6800 Ultra and others:
http://www.barefeats.com/radx800.html

Summary: It ROCKS!
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#2 Whaleman

Whaleman

    High Priest of Bork

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5632 posts
  • Steam ID:holybork
  • Location:The Land of Bork
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 06:12 AM

How loud is the fan? I really like the no sound of my 9600.... but I also don't like the performance of it :/

I will probably get an x800 later this year, but since my game performance on the 2.5 is fully acceptable with the games I play, I can wait. Especially if it will make my computer a bit louder.
You shouldn't ask yourself such worthless questions. Aim higher. Try this: why am I here? Why do I exist, and what is my purpose in this universe?

(Answers: 'Cause you are. 'Cause you do. 'Cause I got a shotgun, and you ain't got one.)

***END MESSAGE***

#3 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 09:25 AM

"How does the X800 XT go just as fast with FSAA turned on as it does with it turned off? We used ATI Displays utility to override the Halo OpenGL settings with Super FSAA 4X. That also explains why the Radeon 9800 XT was just as fast as the GeForce 6800 cards in this test."

Last time I checked my various benchmark scores, 4X Super sampling FSAA maxed out at 1024x768.  Anything above that the driver automatically disables it.  At 2X SS FSAA, 1280x1024 is the limit.  I'm not aware of any differences with the X800 and the 9800 that would allow supersampling at such high resolutions.  So your FSAA test you ran shows the same score with FSAA on and off because FSAA isn't on.  Multisample FSAA may work at that resolution.  I know MS FSAA works up to 1600x1200 at least.
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#4 wymer100

wymer100

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Location:Groton, CT USA

Posted 05 January 2005 - 09:36 AM

Any word as to why the mac version of the X800XT is clocked at 475MHz and not at 500MHz like the PC version? Don't get me wrong since this is going to be a great card. I doubt that it would make much of a difference in gameplay, but it just seems a bit odd.

#5 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 05 January 2005 - 10:31 AM

a2daj, on January 5th 2005, 03:25 PM, said:

"How does the X800 XT go just as fast with FSAA turned on as it does with it turned off? We used ATI Displays utility to override the Halo OpenGL settings with Super FSAA 4X. That also explains why the Radeon 9800 XT was just as fast as the GeForce 6800 cards in this test."

Last time I checked my various benchmark scores, 4X Super sampling FSAA maxed out at 1024x768.  Anything above that the driver automatically disables it.  At 2X SS FSAA, 1280x1024 is the limit.  I'm not aware of any differences with the X800 and the 9800 that would allow supersampling at such high resolutions.  So your FSAA test you ran shows the same score with FSAA on and off because FSAA isn't on.  Multisample FSAA may work at that resolution.  I know MS FSAA works up to 1600x1200 at least.

View Post


If what you say is true, I'll go back and post the Multi-FSAA times -- which were still much faster than the GeForce 6800.
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#6 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 10:52 AM

If you run a full suite of benchmarks, it should be pretty clear when SS FSAA is no longer being used.  When I ran my tests for the 9200 there was a noticeable increase in performance (identical to no FSAA) once I reached a certain resolution with the various super sampling FSAA (which is the only type supported by the 9200).  I recorded those tests as 0.00.  I've run similar tests with  better Radeon cards which show similar behavior at the same resolutions.
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#7 julianmayer

julianmayer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:08 AM

Quote

the RADEON X800 XT supports  a single 30-inch Apple Cinema Display® (2560 x 1600 resolution)  as well as any legacy Apple Digital Display.

so it supports the new dual-link-DVI 30 inch display as well as old displays with ADC connector.

but does it also support the new 20 and 23 inch displays which have (only) a single-link-DVI connector? in other words, can i connect these and other single-link-DVI displays to this dual-link-DVI card?

thanks, julian

#8 Endymion

Endymion

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1693 posts
  • Steam Name:Aleksael
  • Steam ID:Aleksael
  • Location:Miami, FL
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:08 AM

Well my gut was wrong on the release of this card, however I can't say I'm sure that I'm very happy to be wrong. If Apple whips up a PCI Express G5 logic board this year, I'll be very certain that I'm happy about it though.

#9 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:29 AM

julianmayer, on January 5th 2005, 10:08 AM, said:

Quote

the RADEON X800 XT supports  a single 30-inch Apple Cinema Display® (2560 x 1600 resolution)  as well as any legacy Apple Digital Display.

so it supports the new dual-link-DVI 30 inch display as well as old displays with ADC connector.

but does it also support the new 20 and 23 inch displays which have (only) a single-link-DVI connector? in other words, can i connect these and other single-link-DVI displays to this dual-link-DVI card?

thanks, julian

View Post


Dual link is backward compatible... Just like the 6800 cards can power the 20 and 23 inch displays, so can the X800.
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#10 julianmayer

julianmayer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:33 AM

a2daj, on January 5th 2005, 10:29 AM, said:

Dual link is backward compatible... Just like the 6800 cards can power the 20 and 23 inch displays, so can the X800.

View Post


thanks, i'm glad to hear that...i'll order the card as soon as possible.

perhaps they should find better words for their advertising since it makes the impression only the 30inch display and old ADC displays are supported.

#11 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:50 AM

julianmayer, on January 5th 2005, 05:08 PM, said:

Quote

the RADEON X800 XT supports  a single 30-inch Apple Cinema Display® (2560 x 1600 resolution)  as well as any legacy Apple Digital Display.

so it supports the new dual-link-DVI 30 inch display as well as old displays with ADC connector.

but does it also support the new 20 and 23 inch displays which have (only) a single-link-DVI connector? in other words, can i connect these and other single-link-DVI displays to this dual-link-DVI card?

thanks, julian

View Post


Yes. I was running most of the tests with the X800 XT on a new DVI Aluminum 23" Cinema displays.
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#12 Abecedaria

Abecedaria

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Location:Ceti-alpha 5

Posted 05 January 2005 - 11:55 AM

wymer100, on January 5th 2005, 08:36 AM, said:

Any word as to why the mac version of the X800XT is clocked at 475MHz and not at 500MHz like the PC version? Don't get me wrong since this is going to be a great card. I doubt that it would make much of a difference in gameplay, but it just seems a bit odd.

View Post


Who really knows? Maybe ATI figures that Mac users don't care as much about such things and won't bother to look at the specs. Rob-ART didn't mention this in his review so maybe they're right. Could it be that ATI figured that they could send lower spec chips to us Mac folk?

If it bothers you, and it does bother me, try this: ATIccelerator II Be warned, though...you could toast your new x800 if you're not careful.

abc
"THIS is Ceti-alpha 5!"
| 17" MacBook Pro | Core 2 Duo 2.33Ghz | 2GB RAM | Radeon Mobility x1600 256MB |
| Boot Camp Windows XP Config: ATI Driver - DHzer0point Catalyst 0.69 | Current overclock: 475 - 475 (stock) |

#13 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:00 PM

I changed the Halo FSAA 4X graph to show results from FSAA Multi 4X instead of the FSAA Super 4X.

As you can see, the X800 XT still blew the doors off the GeForce 6800s:
http://www.barefeats.com/radx800.html

ATI Displays' "FSAA (Multi) 4X" override gave the same numbers as using Halo's "4X Sampling."
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#14 Glades7

Glades7

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:07 PM

Yeeeeesssss :D i have been waiting forever for this card.. i wonder when you can order it with the g5 because that is what im waiting for.

#15 WSTE_M

WSTE_M

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1159 posts
  • Location:six feet under

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:23 PM

When can I buy the card ? when when ohh when.. whaaa!!!
blowing stuff up in the virtual world since 1994

#16 prepuser

prepuser

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Herts, UK

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:25 PM

I'm currently running an ATI 9800 pro 128mb (bto) on my G5, which i'm pretty happy with. But would I notice a great difference by updgrading to the X800 xt.

I like to run my games at highest res with plenty of eye candy, but I think the 9800 is struggling a bit with COD UO with all settings maxed out.

#17 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:39 PM

rob_ART, on January 5th 2005, 11:00 AM, said:

I changed the Halo FSAA 4X graph to show results from FSAA Multi 4X instead of the FSAA Super 4X.

As you can see, the X800 XT still blew the doors off the GeForce 6800s:
http://www.barefeats.com/radx800.html

ATI Displays' "FSAA (Multi) 4X" override gave the same numbers as using Halo's "4X Sampling."

View Post


Thanks for the update, Rob!
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#18 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:43 PM

Glades7, on January 5th 2005, 06:07 PM, said:

Yeeeeesssss :D i have been waiting forever for this card.. i wonder when you can order it with the g5 because that is what im waiting for.

View Post


Apple has long been aware of the X800 development and but has not committed to offer it as a CTO or even as a kit.

It's likely they will offer it as a kit since they have been selling the 9800 Pro SE as a kit to customers who needed a one slot graphics solution (and didn't want to give up one of their three PCI-X slots), according to one Apple business rep.

I think when Apple's orders for 6800s dry up, they will give the CTO and kit options strong consideration. ;-)
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#19 Brad Oliver

Brad Oliver

    Awesome Developer Dude Guy

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1692 posts
  • Steam Name:hoserama99
  • Steam ID:hoserama99
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 January 2005 - 12:47 PM

Endymion, on January 5th 2005, 11:08 AM, said:

I can't say I'm sure that I'm very happy to be wrong.

Can I say that you can say that you're not sure that you're not happy? ;)
Brad Oliver
bradman at pobox dot com

#20 wymer100

wymer100

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 272 posts
  • Location:Groton, CT USA

Posted 05 January 2005 - 01:57 PM

Brad Oliver, on January 5th 2005, 12:47 PM, said:

Endymion, on January 5th 2005, 11:08 AM, said:

I can't say I'm sure that I'm very happy to be wrong.

Can I say that you can say that you're not sure that you're not happy? ;)

View Post



Mind...currently...warped...like...pretzel. :blink: