#1 jamesa

jamesa

Fan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

Posted 19 October 2004 - 06:06 AM

Hey everyone  ;)

i'm a uni student who, in his free time, likes to do a fair bit of gaming. I love my mac, can only afford one computer so I support Apple. But most of my friends have PCs.

Which brings me to the point of my post. These guys are happy to play whatever games I have - it keeps things inclusive, and they realise the range of games isn't as extensive - but there are an increasing number of Mac ports coming out of games that will only network with other mac computers.

Now, I'm sure there are a hundred hard luck stories about why the developers were unable to do PC->Mac network play. It really doesn't bother me why. What irritates me is that the developers think that there are lots of Mac people out there that play lots of multiplayer games.

Compared to the PC world, we're a drop in the ocean. I recently bought C&C: Generals - only to find out that it only works Mac -> Mac. Took it back. Excited about the release of Homeworld 2. Bit more wary this time - check the box: Mac to mac network play only.

:evil:

It's embarrassing. I don't know about everyone else, and while it's improved since the iPod, there's the incessant "why didn't you buy a PC? Nobody uses Macs, they're not compatible!". You argue with it, then go out and buy a game - and guess what, the people you're arguing with are absolutely right. It's not compatible.

Do you think Apple would survive in a world where their browser only surfed Apple designed web pages?

Now, if there are reasons why some games won't be able to support network play with everyone out there, can I make an impassioned plea - can the developers focus their attention on games that allow us to play with the 99.95% of the online gaming world, as opposed to the 0.05% that these games support?

With few exceptions, which games come out really don't bother me. That they work with the rest of the world, who I want to play with, does.