7 replies to this topic

#1 smeagol

smeagol

Notorious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 04 April 2004 - 08:34 AM

I've been getting into AOE2 lately, and I've been having a running debate with my sister about the tactics the game uses best. As a StarCraft fan, I tend to make the smallest possible group of mixed units, including the cheap barracks units (upgraded, of course), with a smattering of horses and a lot of crossbowmen.

My sister, on the other hand, likes to create about 40 horsemen of cavalry archer and knight variety. (Or conquistadors if she plays Spanish).

Both of our tactics work against the computer, but which strategy is [i]best?[/i}  :-D

Also, how can I defeat her horseman strategy in multiplayer (I'm very new to AOE2, like I said)? I'm getting ready to play against her, and any good strats you nice fellows can arm me with would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

#2 dojoboy

dojoboy

DJJ is the greatest!

• IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3449 posts
  • Steam ID:dojoboy65
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 April 2004 - 08:55 AM

First, what civ is she playing?  Makes a difference.
"There is no end to sorrow."  ---Van Gogh

#3 smeagol

smeagol

Notorious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 04 April 2004 - 09:29 AM

She goes for anything that has good horsemen -- Mongols, Franks, Spaniards, Saracens. I haven't found my civ, but I'm liking Goths, Celts, Vikings, and Franks.

#4 LordViking

LordViking

Master Blaster

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1779 posts

Posted 04 April 2004 - 10:10 AM

Byzantines, giant walls and towers....no one can touch you.
That's my strategy.
Or use Vikings because, let's face it, Vikings are cool...
In Soviet Russia, signature read you!

#5 smeagol

smeagol

Notorious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 04 April 2004 - 12:42 PM