• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 James27

James27

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 November 2020 - 10:36 AM

Hello,

I am new to gaming and I am looking for some help and advice.

As I am paralysed from the shoulders down and can move my head, I operate my MacBook with a head mouse.

To operate the cursor handsfree, I have a piece of equipment that allows me to move the cursor on the screen with a tool bar for me to select, double click, drag and right click.

This procedure is slower than someone operating the mouse track pad on the MacBook.

The type of games I am interested in are role playing games, adventure and strategy.

A point and click game is ideal for me, however the speed of the game needs to be slow, so I have time to move and click the mouse.

Your help with this will be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks,

James.

#2 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

50 carat

• Forum Moderators
  • 3260 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 November 2020 - 01:56 PM

Point-and-click adventure games used to be a big deal 10-20 years ago, so some of the best games in that genre are older. The trick is finding ones that still run. Graphics can sometimes look a bit dated.

Myst : Unlike the games below there is almost no inventory to manage. It's about exploring, playing with mysterious machines and making inferences. It has been re-released many times, but the one you probably want is Myst: Masterpiece Edition.

The following are considered classic point-and-click adventures, and have versions that run on current Macs. They should also run on low-end Macs.

Grim Fandango (Remastered)
Day of the Tentacle (Remastered)
Full Throttle (Remastered) - has a couple arcade-like challenges which I believe can be skipped or turned off

The following don't run on Mac OS 10.15 Catalina.
Loom - graphics are a little old now but its still a beautiful classic. Little or no inventory.
The Secret of Monkey Island

One more: