Jump to content


Diablo II updated

Diablo II Blizzard So long PPC

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8087 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 11 March 2016 - 01:34 AM

No, this is not some thread necromancy. It is actually a new thread about a new Diablo II update posted on March 11, 2016.

Blizzard has announced that they will release a new patch for Diablo II today. Main new feature: support for Intel Macs, including an Intel native installer.

This is probably in relation to the job posting a few months ago where they were looking for programmers to update their classics (Diablo II and StarCraft I were mentioned) for modern systems.

Now where did I put these Diablo II discs…?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#2 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6089 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 March 2016 - 02:04 AM

Only problem is I liked Diablo 1 more than 2. The original three classes were the perfect balance of awesome.

How about a D1 update??
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#3 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1365 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 11 March 2016 - 02:49 AM

View PostFrost, on 11 March 2016 - 02:04 AM, said:

Only problem is I liked Diablo 1 more than 2. The original three classes were the perfect balance of awesome.

How about a D1 update??

It would be significantly more work because it was never ported to OS X. It might work in Sheepshaver, but at that point you may as well use Wine or a Windows VM.

#4 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2041 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 March 2016 - 05:36 AM

I have D I installed on an old G3 iMac.

This is good news. Surely means Starcraft is next. I burned a lot of the life of my wrist on Starcraft.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#5 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3806 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 March 2016 - 06:47 AM

Hoopaloola, this is good news! Sounds like a huge update. <3 Blizzard.

Diablo I never ran on intels, so we'll likely never see it updated. :( Unless they want an easy Metal test, port the game to intels, and have an intern they don't know what to do with, who was playing Overwatch all the time anyway...
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#6 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2041 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 March 2016 - 11:05 AM

http://us.battle.net...pic/20742964144

Wait till tomorrow.....NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#7 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4265 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 March 2016 - 01:09 PM

Wait, there was a Diablo 2? ... completely forgot it existed, it was so memorable.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#8 nick68k

nick68k

    Heroic

  • IMG Writers
  • 260 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 11 March 2016 - 09:40 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 11 March 2016 - 01:09 PM, said:

Wait, there was a Diablo 2? ... completely forgot it existed, it was so memorable.

A long time ago, like a really long time ago, back when the Internet was fields, there was a site called MacGamersLedge that had a feature called 'Diablo II screenshot of the week'. The clue's in the name. Anyway, this ran for a year or so before the game was released.

And gheewhillickers was I excited about D2. When I finally got hold of the game I rushed home, fired up the 604e, and played Baldur's Gate 2 instead. I left the D2 box unopened in the corner of the lounge for months. What the hell was I thinking?
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#9 Spike

Spike

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 11 March 2016 - 10:42 PM

Just ran this on 10.11.3. Finally! YAY! :) One of my absolute favorites.

Has some quirks, but it runs. Unable to connect to Battlenet, but that should be fixed soon.

#10 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1365 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 12 March 2016 - 09:52 AM

Warcraft III's being updated on Tuesday.

#11 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3806 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 12 March 2016 - 05:23 PM

This. Is. AWESOME!
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#12 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1555 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 13 March 2016 - 11:29 AM

Wow! This is so fabulous! I just went to my Blizzard account page, checked the classic games area as I had registered my Battle Chest Editions of Diablo II, Warcraft III and StarCraft along with my newer games. Lo and Behold! Mac downloads for D2 and the expansion!! Downloading them now.

By the way, their Blackthorne game was updated to have a Mac version recently also.

This is just so cool. I am glad I hadn't gotten to them yet. I was just getting started with StarCraft but now I'll wait for a Mac version hopefully arriving soon. I am really psyched about Warcraft III coming Tuesday also.

Where was this stuff announced? I don't visit Blizzard forums much unless servers are down because it is funny then how people go insane over it.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#13 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1555 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 13 March 2016 - 12:15 PM

Installed and runs like a dream, a bad, evil, wonderful dream. :devil:

Can't wait for more Blizzard goodness.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#14 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6089 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 March 2016 - 02:30 PM

View Postnick68k, on 11 March 2016 - 09:40 PM, said:

A long time ago, like a really long time ago, back when the Internet was fields, there was a site called MacGamersLedge that had a feature called 'Diablo II screenshot of the week'. The clue's in the name. Anyway, this ran for a year or so before the game was released.

It was called screenshot of the week because, back in those days, it took a week to upload the screenshot.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#15 Spike

Spike

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 13 March 2016 - 04:54 PM

Blizzard fixed the battlenet issue with a new installer. Only seen minor bugs so far. I have been wanting an Intel version of Diablo II for so long.

This is so awesome! I have a couple of builds that I have been wanting to try and have now started with a Poison/lightning Javazon (i.e., that is with Treachery).

Edit: Meant with Treachery.

#16 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1365 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 13 March 2016 - 06:50 PM

View PostDirtyHarry50, on 13 March 2016 - 11:29 AM, said:


Where was this stuff announced? I don't visit Blizzard forums much unless servers are down because it is funny then how people go insane over it.

There was no formal announcement, but Blizzard's intentions were revealed several months back when they posted job listings for Mac/Win programmers to modernize SC, D2, and WC3 for current systems.

#17 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3806 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 14 March 2016 - 12:43 AM

Pretty fast going if the job posting was just a few months back. Learn code base, rework a lot, add code, test, repeat, release.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#18 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2041 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 14 March 2016 - 06:13 AM

View PostDirtyHarry50, on 13 March 2016 - 11:29 AM, said:

Where was this stuff announced? I don't visit Blizzard forums much unless servers are down because it is funny then how people go insane over it.

I don't go to them ever, the people freaking out over DII this and that are all rong. Why is the resolution still low. Why can't I run 500 bots. These people are insane. I'll not go back thx.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#19 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1555 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 14 March 2016 - 09:39 AM

Yeah, it just figures there would be weeping and gnashing of teeth because they did not do an HD remake of D2. Wow.

I was hoping they might have been able to support widescreen if it was not a difficult thing to do but I was not unhappy when I found it was just a straight port. It's still all kinds of wonderful and I am really happy they did this. It's very unfortunate how demanding and entitled some people are about stuff like this.

I think I will go find the relevant forum and post a thank you to offset the unwarranted complaining.

View PostCougar, on 13 March 2016 - 06:50 PM, said:

There was no formal announcement, but Blizzard's intentions were revealed several months back when they posted job listings for Mac/Win programmers to modernize SC, D2, and WC3 for current systems.

I do recall that and was hopeful this would come to pass but i never expected it this soon. How did you come to know about WCIII releasing Tuesday?
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#20 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1365 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 14 March 2016 - 09:55 AM

View PostDirtyHarry50, on 14 March 2016 - 09:39 AM, said:

I do recall that and was hopeful this would come to pass but i never expected it this soon. How did you come to know about WCIII releasing Tuesday?

They announced it via a YouTube video to their Chinese fans...I guess the game is still very popular there?

Also, today I learned that as long as you still have an install of it (since the installer isnt Intel) us Mac users actually have the best version of the game. The current PC version lacks proper widescreen support (it's stretched). I remember playing the game in proper widescreen on my dad's titanium PowerBook in 2002, so I thought that was odd.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Diablo II, Blizzard, So long PPC