Jump to content


Soo.... GoDaddy hates you


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Colonel Chaos

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2315 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 19 February 2021 - 06:28 PM

several times the past few days when i refresh IMG, it takes me to a GoDaddy holding page telling me that IMG has expired.  

Just lettin ya know.

#2 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4498 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 19 February 2021 - 07:34 PM

Its your dns/cache issue.

It DID expire, but it IS renewed... just some dns servers out there are being stoooooooooopid about refreshing where the domain actually points too =p

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#3 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3505 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 19 February 2021 - 09:22 PM

Finally back.
16" MBP: i9 9880H @ 2.3 GHz || Radeon 5500M 8GB || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB SSD
Desktop: 5600X || RTX 3070 || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB 970 EvoPlus + 1TB Seagate FireCuda
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Series X || PS5 || iPhone 12

#4 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Colonel Chaos

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2315 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 19 February 2021 - 10:15 PM

dunno, i use OpenDNS at the router level, with Google's free DNS as the backup.  

Could be/have been a cache issue but it was across multiple devices, some of which ive never connected to IMG on before (i tried it out on my HTPC, since that basically never gets used to browse anything) and my son's school Chromebook.  

If its resolved, cool beans.  Just thought id make sure someone knew.

#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3505 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 20 February 2021 - 08:05 AM

He means the DNS servers that various ISP's and such are using. Takes time to propagate the new records. When I make DNS changes at work that effect global sites they can take up to 24 hours to propagate around the globe and become usable for everyone. Usually its fast - but not always.
16" MBP: i9 9880H @ 2.3 GHz || Radeon 5500M 8GB || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB SSD
Desktop: 5600X || RTX 3070 || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB 970 EvoPlus + 1TB Seagate FireCuda
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Series X || PS5 || iPhone 12

#6 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4498 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 February 2021 - 09:34 AM

Also, GODADDY is notorious for being crap in updating all their OWN dns records.... they were the ones who 'parked' it on expire, and then had to get their own popsnizzle in order after it got renewed.

I've personally moved all my domain purchases to google, and all my computers use the google domain servers. Even with that, I had to kick chrome a few times to get the site back up from godaddy.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester