19 replies to this topic

#1 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

Notorious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 17 September 2019 - 05:18 AM

A) I do have an 27" iMac from Late 2012 with 10.14.6.
B) I also have a 13" MBA from 2009 with 10.6.8.

Both machines have steam installed.

A) has all Games I purchased installed,
B) has only a view games I purchased installed

I would like to setup a macmini from 2009 with 10.6.8. in order to play (if possible all) the steam games on that machine.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#2 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

Notorious

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 246 posts

Posted 17 September 2019 - 05:26 AM

I did a reinstall of the MBA not long ago and as far as I remember this I got it working with 10.6.8.
I downloaded the steam-client for 10.6.8 and placed a special "steam.cfg" in the steam-app.
This prevents the steam-app from updating all the time, it stay's on the version that is installed.

After that I made a reimport of the games I exported on my NAS.

I remember that this worked for the MBA, but now it does not work for the Macmini.

Steam must be "online" in oder to let me Import games that I formerly exported,
if I go offline this feature does not work. But when I am only the steam-client tells me
that there are no updating-servers available, but I will not update or download the game
from steam, I will only reimport my backup.

I did some testing but did not found a solution yet.

Now I will simply do a copy of my games from the "application-support/steam", but I am
pretty sure that this will not work too, especiall if I try this with the actual steam on my iMac.

steam.cfg
BootStrapperInhibitAll=Enable
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#3 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

Uberspewer

• IMG Writers
  • 2797 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 17 September 2019 - 07:31 AM