Jump to content


Order a GeForce 8800 GT kit for your "old" Mac Pro


  • Please log in to reply
171 replies to this topic

#121 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 16 April 2008 - 06:04 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on April 15th 2008, 07:55 PM, said:

Thanks, teflon. Good news. Interesting that they don't announce it more prominently. After all, it's pretty good proof that Apple will respond to customer complaints and behave in an honorable manner ( at least sometimes).

I think the "silent upgrade" is a way Apple uses to avoid unwanted publicity from news stories saying, "It's about time!" or "Why can't there be one card fits all?" or "When are they going to optimize the driver so it runs Pro Apps faster than the Radeon 2600?"
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#122 Douglas

Douglas

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 16 April 2008 - 08:42 AM

View Postrob_ART, on April 16th 2008, 05:04 AM, said:

I think the "silent upgrade" is a way Apple uses to avoid unwanted publicity from news stories saying, "It's about time!" or "Why can't there be one card fits all?" or "When are they going to optimize the driver so it runs Pro Apps faster than the Radeon 2600?"
YAY!!  I ordered mine this morning!  Can't wait for some new gaming goodness!

Douglas

:)
- 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro, 4GB ram, Mac OS X 10.5.8, Windows XP Pro & Vista, Nvidia 8800 GT
- 1.67 GHz PPC G4 Powerbook, 2 GB ram, 80 GB hd (OS X 10.5.8)
- 1 Ghz PPC G3 Blue & White, 1 GB ram, 320 GB hd (OS 9.1)

Playing - (Mac OS)  Bioshock, Battlefield 1942, Halo (Windows) Battlefield 2

#123 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 09:58 AM

View PostDouglas, on April 16th 2008, 07:42 AM, said:

YAY!!  I ordered mine this morning!  Can't wait for some new gaming goodness!

Douglas

:)


Where did you find it at the Apple store? I can find the early 2008 model, and I can find a mention of the "1st generation 8800," but I find no actual link to this model. How do I buy the damned thing?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#124 Cain

Cain

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted 16 April 2008 - 10:04 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on April 16th 2008, 08:58 AM, said:

Where did you find it at the Apple store? I can find the early 2008 model, and I can find a mention of the "1st generation 8800," but I find no actual link to this model. How do I buy the damned thing?

Go to the Apple Store and click on Displays under Mac Accessories. Scroll down to the bottom and you'll find it there. It'll have (1st generation) beside the card name.

#125 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 10:32 AM

View PostCain, on April 16th 2008, 09:04 AM, said:

Go to the Apple Store and click on Displays under Mac Accessories. Scroll down to the bottom and you'll find it there. It'll have (1st generation) beside the card name.


Thanks! Couldn't find it with any normal search terms or under video cards. Odd that it costs less than the Radeon 1900.
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#126 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 880 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 16 April 2008 - 12:17 PM

Yahoooooo finally! I have ordered one!
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13 Touch Bar 2017 i7 3.5Ghz - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Mantiz Venus eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
LG 34 34UC88 Ultrawide Display
Steelseries Rival 700, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism

#127 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3353 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 16 April 2008 - 03:48 PM

According to the netkas that teflon posted earlier the ATI 3870x2, 3870, and 3850 all work in the '08 Mac Pro. Provided you do some work.



-Snake
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS High Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 8400 || Vega 56 || 16 GB DDR4 || 960 Evo NVMe || Win10 Pro
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Xbox One X || PS4 Pro || iPhone X

#128 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 03:56 PM

Sweet! And the markup isn't as bad as it was with the x1900XT. I guess I need to start saving up for one...
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#129 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 05:04 PM

So, here's a question for rob-ART: you've been playing with the thing for a few months--worth it, or not (vs. the 1900) in view of the driver issues?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#130 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 16 April 2008 - 05:12 PM

You should probably add the games you want to run and the resolution you game at.  Those are enormous factors in the decision.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#131 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 05:25 PM

View PostQuicksilver, on April 16th 2008, 04:12 PM, said:

You should probably add the games you want to run and the resolution you game at.  Those are enormous factors in the decision.


Well, I'm interested in performance on NWN2, GoW, UT3 on the Mac side, and Crysis, Bioshock, and whatever else comes along as eye candy on the BootCamp side. Running usually at 1280x1024 with as many bells and whistles on as possible. Work-wise, it's all for medical real-time 3D color imaging of cardiac and vascular structures, with superimposed blood flow.  I figure the 8800 will be better eventually (?), but I'm not sure if it's there yet given the driver issues, and Rob-ART himself raised the possibility of newer Radeon cards that might become available, so I'm just curious what he thinks.
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#132 PeopleLikeFrank

PeopleLikeFrank

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2690 posts
  • Location:The Republic of Soviet Canukistan
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 16 April 2008 - 06:29 PM

View Postjgwdoc, on April 16th 2008, 07:25 PM, said:

Well, I'm interested in performance on NWN2, GoW, UT3 on the Mac side, and Crysis, Bioshock, and whatever else comes along as eye candy on the BootCamp side. Running usually at 1280x1024 with as many bells and whistles on as possible. Work-wise, it's all for medical real-time 3D color imaging of cardiac and vascular structures, with superimposed blood flow.  I figure the 8800 will be better eventually (?), but I'm not sure if it's there yet given the driver issues, and Rob-ART himself raised the possibility of newer Radeon cards that might become available, so I'm just curious what he thinks.

The 8800 will be definitely better in all the games you've mentioned, though 1280*1024 is a little low. 1.25 - 2x faster at that resolution in Windows here, and about 1.3 - 1.5x faster in OSX at higher res here. The only issue here is the driver support, which is not an issue on the Windows side.

The only Radeon that I've noticed Rob-ART mention is a 3870, which is a good card, but not as fast as the 8800, so unless it turns out to be the 3870 X2, or driver support is phenomenally better, I'd say the 8800 is the better choice. Especially given that you can likely sell the X1900 for a decent chunk of the upgrade cost.
The dork formerly known as nobody
---
MBP: C2D @ 2.66 Ghz | GeForce 9600M GT 256Mb | 8GB RAM | 120GB SSD + 500GB HD | 10.6.2 / W7 x64
PC: Q9550 | 6950 2GB | 8GB RAM | 80GB SSD + 750GB HD | W7 x64

#133 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 16 April 2008 - 07:43 PM

Thanks, nobody. Eggsactly what I wanted to know. nice links. And, to bring up this issue again: Direct X on the Windows side, correct?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#134 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 17 April 2008 - 11:51 AM

OK. Ordered. Anyone looking for a Radeon X1900, I'll be selling mine as soon as the 8800 is in place.  
Direct X10 under Vista, yes?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#135 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 880 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 18 April 2008 - 01:18 AM

View Postjgwdoc, on April 17th 2008, 07:51 PM, said:

OK. Ordered. Anyone looking for a Radeon X1900, I'll be selling mine as soon as the 8800 is in place.  
Direct X10 under Vista, yes?

Mee too.... i'm selling my x1900XT

View Postrob_ART, on April 16th 2008, 02:04 PM, said:

I think the "silent upgrade" is a way Apple uses to avoid unwanted publicity from news stories saying, "It's about time!" or "Why can't there be one card fits all?" or "When are they going to optimize the driver so it runs Pro Apps faster than the Radeon 2600?"

Silent? it is even on Apple mailing list?

As far i'm concerned Apple have kept the promise.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13 Touch Bar 2017 i7 3.5Ghz - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Mantiz Venus eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
LG 34 34UC88 Ultrawide Display
Steelseries Rival 700, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism

#136 rob_ART

rob_ART

    Bare Feats

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 792 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR

Posted 18 April 2008 - 08:15 AM

View Postikir, on April 18th 2008, 12:18 AM, said:

Silent? it is even on Apple mailing list?

As far i'm concerned Apple have kept the promise.

I'm glad Apple kept the promise. But if they did it right from the start and listened to their beta testers, the original 8800 would have worked on all versions of Mac Pro. It's about the size of the ROM. They stuck with a ROM that's too small for both EFI drivers. Though your immediate need is met, what happens to you if you decide to replace your 2006/2007 Mac Pro with an "early 2008" Mac Pro? You must buy another 8800.

ATI, on the other hand, configured the 2600 and X1900 with both EFI drivers. I've been able to boot both cards on our 2007 8-core and 2008 8-core.

By "silent upgrade," I'm also referring to the non communication from Apple during the development of the legacy card. There were no official announcements form Apple PR acknowledging the issue or promising the legacy card. All communications regarding it were off the record. I'm also referring to the fact that if you search on the model number or "geforce 8800," it does not show up. By contrast, the other version of the card showed up on search the day the "early 2008" Mac Pro was announced.

I'm a diehard Apple fan but they did not handle this issue as well as they should have.

One more thing. The early adopters of the 2008 compatible kit paid $325 in March. Now in April, it has dropped to $279. Huh?
rob-ART morgan
mad scientist
BareFeats.com

#137 ikir

ikir

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 880 posts
  • Steam Name:ikir
  • Location:In front of my Mac

Posted 18 April 2008 - 11:01 AM

Yes i can see it and i agree, especially on the betatester part :-) Yes i know what was causing the problem.
ikir's personal page
MacBook Pro 13 Touch Bar 2017 i7 3.5Ghz - 16GB RAM - 512GB SSD
Mantiz Venus eGPU Radeon Nitro+ RX 580 8GB
LG 34 34UC88 Ultrawide Display
Steelseries Rival 700, Steelseries Siberia v3Prism

#138 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 18 April 2008 - 05:44 PM

Quote

It's about the size of the ROM.
They're blowing smoke and you know it.

View Postrob_ART, on April 18th 2008, 07:15 AM, said:

One more thing. The early adopters of the 2008 compatible kit paid $325 in March. Now in April, it has dropped to $279. Huh?
And the $215 card is even closer to the PC card price. That's our reward for using Macs.

#139 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 19 April 2008 - 01:37 AM

no, thats the truth...

the point is that they went for a small ROM chip, while one with double the capacity wouldve costed, say, an extra .50c

nothing at all.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#140 bobbob

bobbob

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3367 posts

Posted 19 April 2008 - 08:13 AM

View Postteflon, on April 19th 2008, 12:37 AM, said:

no, thats the truth...

the point is that they went for a small ROM chip, while one with double the capacity wouldve costed, say, an extra .50c

nothing at all.
But they don't need different hardware to get the card to work, just some good drivers.