Jump to content


Colin McRae Racing Mac


  • Please log in to reply
504 replies to this topic

#401 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 January 2008 - 07:20 PM

View Postmaccer, on December 31st 2007, 01:12 PM, said:

Thanks for the link, iEvan! The link sort of worked, but in the next step I just got the raw HTML contents of a page that contained the download link that you also gave.

I downloaded the utility and my wheel auto-calibrates perfectly, but this calibration data is not used in CMR. When I go to options, setup the buttons/axis and then go to the deadzone settings, the same old faulty calibration data is used there. Maybe CMR doesn't yet support the utility? Might there be a PPC/Intel issue (I'm using a MBP C2D)? Or am I missing some step?

Try holding down the option key when you click the link to download the file, I think this forces it to download it as a file instead of displaying garbage in a web page.

#402 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 03 January 2008 - 11:38 AM

View Postozzy, on January 3rd 2008, 02:20 AM, said:

Try holding down the option key when you click the link to download the file, I think this forces it to download it as a file instead of displaying garbage in a web page.
It is not garbage text, it's a HTML page that isn't recognized as such by the web browser. Actually, the whole Zonic website has this problem. Anyway, the HTML code contains a link for downloading the input calibrator. If I use the URL contained in the link, the utility downloads without any problems.

My problem is that the calibration done with the utility isn't recognized by Colin McRae Rally. This is understandable because the game is much newer than the utility, so I guess Feral would have to make their own calibrator or modify the one made by Zonic.

What's the connection between Feral and Zonic by the way?

#403 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 03 January 2008 - 12:17 PM

Zonic used to do the porting while Feral did the publishing. Zonic stepped out for whatever reason a couple years back and Robosoft took their place.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#404 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 04 January 2008 - 06:33 AM

View PostiEvan, on December 31st 2007, 04:39 PM, said:

The link to the calibrator itself is here which also works and I was able to calibrate my iShock 2 without issue.
Did this calibration work with CMR or only in older Feral games? Maybe your iShock's original calibration is so good that you don't notice that the InputCalibrator calibration doesn't actually work in CMR.

#405 FreakSoftware

FreakSoftware

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 09:20 PM

Sooo why can't I use an analog stick for the acceleration/braking? That's kinda.... lame.
-- Seth

#406 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 13 January 2008 - 04:48 AM

can you not? did you set it to analogue on the page before hand?
ive not tried the calibration in game for a while, but i believe that was the case.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#407 FreakSoftware

FreakSoftware

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 01:23 PM

Ahhhh. Ok, I didn't see how that worked. Cool. Haven't played for three weeks so I'm a bit rusty, but it's much nicer than a keyboard. :)
-- Seth

#408 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 22 February 2008 - 06:49 AM

Hm... is everyone at Feral's support department on a long vacation or something? I have mailed them twice (2007-11-30, 2008-01-04) about the calibration utility and also used the contact form on their home page a few weeks ago, but I haven't even got an email acknowledgement that they have received my questions. Even if they don't have time to create this calibration utility I would like to know so I don't keep waiting forever.

#409 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 22 February 2008 - 11:46 AM

View Postmaccer, on February 22nd 2008, 05:49 AM, said:

Hm... is everyone at Feral's support department on a long vacation or something? I have mailed them twice (2007-11-30, 2008-01-04) about the calibration utility and also used the contact form on their home page a few weeks ago, but I haven't even got an email acknowledgement that they have received my questions. Even if they don't have time to create this calibration utility I would like to know so I don't keep waiting forever.

We always reply to messages within 24 hours of receiving them apart from the weekend where we are not in the office. If you send me an PM message I will pass it on to our support team. Also if you could include your email address in the PM we will do a sweep of the support system and check for your messages.

We don't have email acknowledgment turned on as this increases the amount of spam we get in the system even more than it is right now. Your email was caught in a spam filter although the content was Colin related I guess the filter thought the formatting looked a bit spam like. Once your email address we flagged as spam your second attempt was seen as a repost (increasing the spam rating). Sorry about that you should have an answer shortly.

KB Article : Setup Calibration

We also have Input Calibrator for Colin, (I think we even mentioned it on of the Colin threads) but we only provide it as required as for most people two calibration tools make people more confused not less.

You can download Input Calibrator from here.

Have a nice weekend!

Edwin
Producer
Feral Interactive

#410 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 22 February 2008 - 01:34 PM

Thanks!
I got a mail from the support now as well. This version of the calibrator works great with CMR!

View Postedddeduck, on February 22nd 2008, 06:46 PM, said:

Your email was caught in a spam filter
That thought crossed my mind, that's why I later used the contact form on the home page. Can messages from the form get caught in the spam filter too?

#411 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17422 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 22 February 2008 - 02:18 PM

View Postmaccer, on February 22nd 2008, 11:34 AM, said:

That thought crossed my mind, that's why I later used the contact form on the home page. Can messages from the form get caught in the spam filter too?
Forms in of themselves are not the least bit protected from spambots.  A "contact form" is just a special case of a forum registration form and forums are deluged with spambots.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#412 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 25 February 2008 - 03:10 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on February 22nd 2008, 01:18 PM, said:

Forms in of themselves are not the least bit protected from spambots.  A "contact form" is just a special case of a forum registration form and forums are deluged with spambots.

Both forms and filters get put through the same spam filter. As your email address was flagged as spam when the web form ticket with the same email address was imported the script mistakenly thought your ticket was spam. It is one downside to spam filters but then again as we record how many spam emails we get in the support system in spam per minute a spam filter is required so our support guys spend more time answering questions than deleting spam.

I am sorry that you have been caught out and that you did not get a reply. Your email has been highlighted as a valid ticket so you should be fine from now on if you ever have other questions.

Edwin

#413 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 10 March 2008 - 05:49 AM

View Postedddeduck, on November 5th 2007, 10:51 AM, said:

FFB should work in 10.5 on both Intel and PPC but we have not done enough testing to confirm the behavior yet as the OS has just been released.
Anything new about this? Could anyone try CMR with a FFB enabled racing wheel on a Intel Mac with Leopard and report back? If Force Feedback works in Leopard I might be tempted to upgrade :)

#414 maccer

maccer

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 05 April 2008 - 11:20 AM

I have problems with getting the force feedback (the REAL force feedback, not some simple vibrations) to work with my blue Logitech Gran Turismo Force wheel which is just a re-branded red Logitech Formula Force GP.

I sent the description below to Feral support, but they don't work on weekends so I'll try here as well:
----------------
When the wheel is connected and I am in Finder or in the game menus, before starting a race, the feedback feels OK. If the wheel is turned to either side, it self-centers and the more you turn, the more you feel the force. But as soon as I start a game, the wheel becomes very slack. If the car is still, the wheel does not self-center, and when I start driving the wheel sends timed vibrations like I was sitting in a train. The faster I drive, the harder (but not faster) the vibrations get. If I crash, there's some more vibrations. The "real" force feedback effect is not there; I can't feel the road, I can't feel when I have lost the grip with the tyres, the wheel doesn't "fight back" when I make turns and so on. Setting a stronger force feedback strenght in the controller options doesn't help.

I have played Colin Mc Rae 2 on PC and CMR 3 & 4 on PS2 with this wheel, so I know quite well how force feedback is supposed to feel like. Do you have any tips, or is CMR simply incompatible with this wheel? Or is the "vibration" setting exactly what it says - simple vibration - and there is still no real force feedback in CMR in Leopard?
--------------

Since the mail to support, I have also tried playing on a Powermac G5 with 10.4.11 - same problem there, so it's not Leopard's fault.

View PostJaguarGod, on November 7th 2007, 02:12 PM, said:

The FFB is good on PPC. You can feel every bump, and there are a hell of a lot of bumps! Really makes you work to keep the car on the road.
You have a Momo wheel, right? Do you have "real" force feedback when playing, or do you just feel the bumps/vibrations? If force feedback really works with a Momo, I might consider buying one. But right now I feel a bit disappointed since getting force feedback in CMR was one of the strongest reasons for me to buy Leopard in the first place :-(

View Postmattw, on November 1st 2007, 12:57 AM, said:

The gameplay itself is really fun as you saw away at the wheel (I'm use a Logitech Formula force GP) correcting slides and throwing the car at all sorts on angles to get round the stage. [...] I didn't think force feedback was working but then I tried a stage in Finland and it was definitely present for that so maybe the tarmac stages don't have much programmed?
You have the same kind of wheel. It seems that you don't get any "real" force feedback either - am I right? Sure, there are more vibrations on, say, the Finland track but force feedback is so much more than vibrations.

#415 hamishb

hamishb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 May 2008 - 02:38 AM

Anyone tried any of the cheats?  Do PC cheats work on the Mac port?

What about using USB Overdrive or Gamepad companion to map a USB controller to keyboard inputs?

#416 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8087 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 20 May 2008 - 02:59 AM

View Posthamishb, on May 20th 2008, 10:38 AM, said:

Anyone tried any of the cheats?  Do PC cheats work on the Mac port?
There are cheats? Seriously, I just tried a Google search and found none.

Quote

What about using USB Overdrive or Gamepad companion to map a USB controller to keyboard inputs?
Why? Apart from the some problems (see above), all USB controllers appear to be supported by the game right out of the box. So, why map any keyboard inputs?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#417 edddeduck

edddeduck

    Feral Interactive

  • Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1230 posts
  • Location:London, England, UK

Posted 20 May 2008 - 03:40 AM

View Posthamishb, on May 20th 2008, 01:38 AM, said:

Anyone tried any of the cheats?  Do PC cheats work on the Mac port?

The cheats are all in the extras menu you just turn them on. You don't need any codes or premium phone lines like the PC version. You can pretty much unlock every car and track.

Edwin

#418 The Animaster

The Animaster

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Steam ID:theanimaster

Posted 23 May 2008 - 09:59 AM

Hello everybody, just got Colin McRae Rally Mac a couple weeks ago and I have to say that it was so great I shelled out for a G25 wheel!

So here's my report:

The G25 is supported and works with FFB (iMac G5, OS 10.5.2), HOWEVER, (probably) due to Apple's limited support for the G25 via Input Sprockets, the following are not supported with the G25 (and in Colin McRae Mac):

900-degrees turning (only 200-degrees supported)
clutch (only brake and gas pedals register in Input Calibrator)
6-speed H Gate shifting (only sequential shifting supported)

Now here's the question: Is it possible to support these features in CMR with a future patch? The H-gated shifting would be sweet, although I understand rally cars don't really use gated shifting (still... it'd be sweet)? 900-degree rotation would also add more to the realism. Do rally cars have 900 degree rotation or just 200?

Also.. it would be nice if you guys at Feral can support the hatswitch on the G25. It would make navigating menus so much more intuitive rather than using the wheel and pedals to navigate. The G25 has more than enough buttons on the shifter to make selections too.

After contacting tech support at Feral I still have 1 unresolved problem: the graphics settings aren't remembered. controls and all are OK (as long as you don't unplug your other controls... I have 2 Rumblepads in addition to my G25) -- the settings for those are remembered. It's just the graphics settings that I ALWAYS have to set everytime I start the game up. Repairing permissions doesn't work. I've sent tech support a zipped Configuration Report of my system (which is on a 20" iMac G5 2Ghz 2GB RAM 128MB ATI Radeon 9600). I think we definitely need a patch here.

Has anyone else had problems with graphics setting not being remembered? I have to turn settings all the way down to run decently on my iMac. Oh and turning down resolution does improve FPS but it also makes the game "hiccup" more, so you get smooth FPS but the game intermittently pauses for a millisecond when you're speeding.

Bugs aside, I've been trying my best to get everyone I know with a mac to buy the game. Hell ... when I get my macbook pro I'll buy a second box just so I can play network between my iMac and the macbook pro :D :D :D That is, unless there's a special network-only version?

...and yeah, automatic transmission IS for wussies.
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 15"@1680x1050 matte option 1GB Radeon 6750M 16GB RAM

#419 The Animaster

The Animaster

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Steam ID:theanimaster

Posted 23 May 2008 - 10:11 AM

Here's a review that I've posted in other forums to spread the word:


For ages we mac users would curse ourselves for not having a decent "car racing" game. Something that felt and looked REAL. Nascar? Ford Racing 2? Those were about as close as they'd get. But still not close enough.

Until now.

Introducing Colin McRae Rally Mac. Probably THE best racing sim you'll ever play native in OS X! When I first saw this on the shelves of the iStudio at Siam Paragon here in Bangkok I was like "wow... the graphics on the packaging look pretty impressive". Wait till you play the game! The graphics are even better appreciated in the game itself. And the performance. Oooh the performance. Rocks. Speed. Good FPS even on a 3-year old iMac G5 with an ATI Radeon 9600 and just 128mb VRAM.

Now of course it IS "just" the 2005 PC port of Colin McRae rally, but still this game is perhaps the best racing sim -- graphics wise, performance wise and game-play wise for Mac OS X. Yeah, so for those of you who have the luxury of a macbook or mac pro are probably already playing the PC version of Colin McRae DIRT which boasts superior graphics to this one, but let's not get ahead of ourselves -- so for this review I won't be mentioning CMR DIRT any further.

Ok, so what exactly is the game about?

It's rally racing. Note that rally racing is much different from street racing or NASCAR though. In rally racing you race against yourself -- against time, rather than other cars on the same track. You also race against traction -- racing on loose gravel is much different than racing on a speedway or tarmac. In rally racing learning to drift is a must for turning, and slowing down for control IS not an option. It's a requirement.

SELECT YOUR ENGINES
Posted Image
Colin McRae allows you to select a pretty wide variety of cars. You don't even need to play and finish cups to unlock all these cars (you can cheat). 4WD cars are one of the meanest. They're fast. Horribly fast. In certain tracks they're even too fast for their own good. For this reason, having a steering wheel with pedals is a good way to control your throttle.

I was so hooked on the game that's exactly what I did. I got the wheel-of-wheels, the Logitech G25 racing wheel. Although Colin McRae doesn't support the 900 degrees of turning that the wheel supports, it's still a great wheel with real leather. No need for me to do a further review of the G25 though... there are enough already on the web and the hype is all true!

You can see a video of me playing Colin McRae Rally with my G25 racing wheel here:
YouTube - Colin McRae Rally Mac -- Logitech G25 wheel

Anyways the other cars you can select are 2WD, Super 2WD, AWD, 4x4 Pickups, Classics (including the Mini Cooper and the new Volkswagen Beetle RSI) and Type B cars.

Although 4WD cars are one of the meanest, the Type B cars are definitely THE meanest. They're so powerful that they're almost uncontrollable (for me). Still trying to get the hang of Type B cars. They sure don't look very modern for their makes, but they're definitely more powerful than any of the other cars. Use at your own risk.



DAMAGE REPORT
Posted Image
What would rally racing be without the ability to damage your car? We're not just talking about wearing out tires until they get wobbly and eventually explode (they do though!) or simple damage penalties that most other games put in place despite-still-having-a-shiny-clean-body. In Colin McRae, your car gets damaged. Very damaged. This damage ranges from dirt accumulating on your windscreen (forcing the wipers to go on), to small paint scratches, to dents, large dents, loss of your bumper, loss of your cooling system, loss of engine integrity, smashed glass panels, popped-and-scraping wheels and other nuances like loosing your headlights or tail lights. Damage is all there. And It does have an impact on your cars steering, suspension etc.

Damage counts most when you're playing the rally career mode and winning Shield events and Cups. If your car is damaged, you'll need to fix it up, given a set amount of time to spend for repairs. Any additional fixes done past the given time will incite a time penalty in your next race. So drive safely.

RACE AROUND THE WORLD
You can select from 8 different stages from 9 different countries in the game -- from the dry Australian dirt to the slippery iced roads of Sweden. That's 73 stages all-in-all! But that's not all -- there are additional special stages that you can unlock and test your wheels on as well. Race is clear morning weather, or snow/rain overcasts with your headlights glaring.

GRAPHICS, GAMEPLAY and REQUIREMENTS
This is perhaps the best-balanced game that delivers well on 2005 mac hardware (it is a 2005 game in reality). However, it doesn't support the Intel GMA chipsets. So sorry Macbook and Mac Mini users. On my 2.0Ghz 2GB RAM 20" iMac G5 with an ATI Radeon 9600 (128MB) I can run the game at full 1680x1050 resolution -- oddly this is actually better for game performance as I've found that although lower resolutions give higher framerates, they also make the game hiccup more. So I play with Z buffering set to 16, Redraw distance at 4, and everything else off or on the lowest. In turn the graphics are still better than what any other racing sim on the mac has to offer. TIP: Turning off post-processing effects makes the game look better without ugly blurs.

The game also supports vibration and force feedback controllers.

The game has 3 modes: A quick race mode, a career mode, and a Championships mode. I'd stick to the quick race rallies mode for a while.

OVERALL
Posted Image
I would recommend this game to anyone with a flat-panel iMac and above. If you really want to get serious, buy a racing wheel to go with it. The MOMO Force Feedback would suit perfectly, as there are no features the game doesn't support. Force feedback is supported for steering wheels and vibration is supported on gamepads with vibration. Having a wheel makes the game more serious, and I find that this is where the "first person view"/bonnet view works best. If you use a gamepad, the 2nd person/outside car views make the game more enjoyable and less tense to play.

Now if only they can port Colin McRae DIRT on the mac!!

LINKS and VIDEOS
Too see the game in action, follow these links:

Australia Box Hill Demo (best time: 3.16.19) (download)
G25 Game Preview (YouTube)
How to Smash a Car (YouTube)

I had the wheel out again last night (after having put it back in the box because it took up so much desk space) for a game and this time I tried the unthinkable -- using MANUAL transmission (so much for being called an AT *ussy now)!

I gotta say, it does involve a lot more brain cells being active, but it makes it so much more fun and engaging. I've already pretty much gotten used to overcoming oversteers now that stepping up to manual transmission was just the next best thing to try out.  And boy was I surprised -- I beat some of my old time records (although I pretty much trashed my car in the end). Manual is more tricky to overcome oversteer though -- you have to quickly asses your speed, gear down if needed, correct the oversteer and floor the gas to finish correcting the oversteer (propelling the car forward because it's probably sliding sideways on dirt). Then you need to gear up almost immediately (if you've geared down during the maneuver) when your RPM is crying for it. Exhilarating stuff!

So, looks like it'll be manual transmission for me from now on. Automatic transmission does take some fun out of the game. MT gives it back the heart-pumping adrenaline rush. Not to forget Semi-auto transmission... but I've found no need for that now that I'm getting the hang of full MT. So yeah... it's full MT for me.

...and besides, automatic is for *ussies. :P (and I've finally come to understand why people say it like so)!
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 15"@1680x1050 matte option 1GB Radeon 6750M 16GB RAM

#420 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 832 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 11:47 AM

Nice review - and great to hear that the high end Logitech Wheel works on the Mac. I'll keep one in mind if we get a few more driving games on the Mac.

View PostThe Animaster, on May 23rd 2008, 05:11 PM, said:

I had the wheel out again last night (after having put it back in the box because it took up so much desk space) for a game and this time I tried the unthinkable -- using MANUAL transmission (so much for being called an AT *ussy now)!

I always turn that off straight away  :)  not many race or rally cars in the real world with a fully automatic transmission and personally I find it harder to adapt later than to start off without using it. The trouble with autos in the real world at least is that they don't shift down to the correct gear before a corner so you can accelerate through the apex of the corner and exit.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.13.1