Jump to content


MacOS 8 virtualised in an Electron app.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 nick68k

nick68k

    Legendary

  • IMG Writers
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 29 July 2020 - 09:33 AM

Felix Rieseberg has developed an Electron app that virtualises a Mac Quadra running Mac OS 8 (which was one of my favourite versions of the classic OS). It comes with a bunch of stuff installed, and apparently disk images can be dragged onto it. Enjoy, if you like that sort of thing.

Posted Image
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#2 Cougar

Cougar

    Fighting Feline

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1825 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 29 July 2020 - 11:37 AM

Haha:


Quote

Should this have been a native app?
https://github.com/f...rg/macintosh.js

Absolutely

#3 nick68k

nick68k

    Legendary

  • IMG Writers
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 29 July 2020 - 11:47 AM

i'm getting a few mouse pointer ghosting issues, but it's working well otherwise so far.
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#4 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Extra Cheesy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 565 posts

Posted 29 July 2020 - 12:39 PM

Anybody gotten anything to run from The Macintosh Garden or Macintosh Software Repository? Following the built-in instructors hasn’t worked with anything for me. Tried both dmg and iso.
27" iMac I7 (late 2017), 3.8 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, Mac OS 10.15.4,
iPad Pro (2018) 12.9” 256GB WiFi, & iPhone XR 128GB

#5 Cougar

Cougar

    Fighting Feline

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1825 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 29 July 2020 - 01:00 PM

View PostTacohead, on 29 July 2020 - 12:39 PM, said:

Anybody gotten anything to run from The Macintosh Garden or Macintosh Software Repository? Following the built-in instructors hasn’t worked with anything for me. Tried both dmg and iso.

Nope. I put a Ferazel's Wand demo Classic app and .img file in my macintosh.js folder. They don't appear in the macintosh.js folder from within the VM after restarting. Also, the VM claims (when I restart it) that it can't read the disc and asks me to initialize. Strange.

I did complete a full Oregon Trail game (the version preinstalled) and it worked fine.

#6 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    50 carat

  • IMG Writers
  • 3020 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 July 2020 - 08:39 PM

Note that when the instructions tell you to restart to see new files, it means to restart the emulator, NOT use the Finder's Restart menu.

Just for fun I tried out the two shareware games I released in the early 90's. I got one Type 10 crash, and many of the sounds play about 0.5 seconds too late. But they did basically run. It's not good enough to replace SheepShaver but it is a lot easier to set up. A nice start, hope they keep working on it (assuming Apple doesn't tell them to take it down.)

Looking in the source code, it appears to be a Javascript port of the Basilisk II 68K emulator.
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#7 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Gaming way too long

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1678 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 06 August 2020 - 10:34 PM

Oh man! I've been waiting years to play Arashi again! I keep moving the StuffIt/hqx file I downloaded so long ago hoping I could even unarchive it one day! lol
macOS 10.15.x/3.5GHZ 8-Core Xeon W-3223 2019 MacPro/48GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil 5700XT

macOS 10.15.x/Manjario KDE/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

macOS 10.14.x/3.33GHz Xeon W3580 cMacPro (5,1 flash)/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil RX580

#8 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6213 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 19 August 2020 - 04:05 PM

Dude! I need this!
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.7 GHz i9 10900K / 32GB RAM / 2x2TB Intel 7600p (RAID0), 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / TITAN V 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#9 Atticus

Atticus

    Not Wearing Pants

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1002 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 20 August 2020 - 07:52 AM

Then go get sum!
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."