Jump to content


Halo Performance with Universal Binary


  • Please log in to reply
73 replies to this topic

#41 ozzy

ozzy

    Who?

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 22 September 2006 - 05:41 PM

I don't know if anyone ever settled this, but I can confirm that Lens Flares make a huge difference in the UB of Halo.  I have a Mac Pro 2.6 Ghz w/ Radeon x1900XT and 3 GB of RAM.  I ran the timedemo at 1920x1200, advanced pixels, everything set to it's highest level (except AA at 2x) and got 39.60 FPS.  It was painfully slow on the last seen where MC gets dropped upside down.  The results show that I spent 25% of the time below 10 FPS.

I then ran it with the same settings but changed Lens Flares from Extreme to Low and got 78.62 FPS.  Quite frankly, I'm surprised it wasn't higher than that they way it was flying through the scenes.

#42 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3513 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 22 September 2006 - 07:45 PM

View Postozzy, on September 23rd 2006, 09:41 AM, said:

It was painfully slow on the last seen where MC gets dropped upside down.
For some reason the teleporter effect has always been a performance problem in Mac Halo.

#43 ozzy

ozzy

    Who?

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 24 September 2006 - 02:01 PM

I think it's due to the lens flares, because the whole effect is a lens flare.  So it used to be a problem, and then when the lens flares performance issue was fixed a while ago it stopped being a problem, but now that the issue is back it is a problem again.

#44 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • 6221 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 September 2006 - 05:51 PM

View PostTesseract, on September 22nd 2006, 08:45 PM, said:

For some reason the teleporter effect has always been a performance problem in Mac Halo.
I have to wonder if it's ATI cards. That scene has a slowdown on my cousins' G5s with way more powerful processors and stronger graphics cards, but my G4/1.42 with a GeForce 4 Ti 4600 has always rendered it as smoothly as any other scene. :huh:
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.5 GHz i9 11900K / 32GB RAM / TITAN V 12GB / 2TB Intel 7600p, 4TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / GeForce GT 650M 1GB / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#45 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 25 September 2006 - 06:07 AM

View PostFrost, on September 24th 2006, 06:51 PM, said:

I have to wonder if it's ATI cards. That scene has a slowdown on my cousins' G5s with way more powerful processors and stronger graphics cards, but my G4/1.42 with a GeForce 4 Ti 4600 has always rendered it as smoothly as any other scene. :huh:

You're halfway there.  The Geforce 4-series physically can't handle the kind of effects that Halo uses (the kind that the Radeon 9600-series and up can display).  If you look closely at that scene, you'll notice that your G4 does not render all of the effects that are supposed to appear, which explains why there's no slowdown.

[Hey, congratulations on your thousandth post!]
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#46 Endymion

Endymion

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1693 posts
  • Steam Name:Aleksael
  • Steam ID:Aleksael
  • Location:Miami, FL
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 September 2006 - 01:35 PM

The lens flares caused a performance issue on the GeForce 4 Ti when it was causing an issue with everyone else too though. It is also true that the current shader that card uses is not the same as the newer cards. It still looks nice and runs well considering. I haven't seen any comparison between modern ATI and NV cards doing this to say there is a disparity with the current binary though, which doesn't say there may be one. A 6800 even runs ATI shaders faster than a 9800 card currently, which is just as surprising.

#47 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 27 September 2006 - 03:35 PM

View PostEndymion, on September 27th 2006, 02:35 PM, said:

The lens flares caused a performance issue on the GeForce 4 Ti when it was causing an issue with everyone else too though. It is also true that the current shader that card uses is not the same as the newer cards. It still looks nice and runs well considering. I haven't seen any comparison between modern ATI and NV cards doing this to say there is a disparity with the current binary though, which doesn't say there may be one. A 6800 even runs ATI shaders faster than a 9800 card currently, which is just as surprising.

A 6800 is a a full generation newer than the 9800 Pro (it's comparable to the X800-series).
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#48 Endymion

Endymion

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1693 posts
  • Steam Name:Aleksael
  • Steam ID:Aleksael
  • Location:Miami, FL
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 September 2006 - 08:14 PM

View PostQuicksilver, on September 27th 2006, 05:35 PM, said:

A 6800 is a a full generation newer than the 9800 Pro (it's comparable to the X800-series).

It's also running a shader path that it wasn't designed for. This is akin to getting faster RAVE performance on a Voodoo card or faster Glide performance on a Rage128 back in the day. Not quite as proprietary with the implementation, but surprising in the least that an NV card did not have faster performance with NV shaders.

#49 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 September 2006 - 11:20 PM

This was covered back in the day.  The "ATI Shader" path is misleading.  It's just the ARB shader path.  When Halo was first released the ATI cards were the only cards which could take advantage of the ARB shaders (FX 5200 performance was too slow to be considered supported).
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#50 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 29 September 2006 - 04:55 AM

and the 5200FX doesnt do proper shaders. It might do them quicker, but they look pants.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#51 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 September 2006 - 09:23 AM

View Postteflon, on September 29th 2006, 03:55 AM, said:

and the 5200FX doesnt do proper shaders. It might do them quicker, but they look pants.

The 5200 FX was often times called the graphics decellerator.  It definitely didn't do them quicker ;)
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#52 Batcat

Batcat

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2907 posts
  • Location:In Flux

Posted 30 September 2006 - 03:20 AM

View Posta2daj, on September 29th 2006, 10:23 AM, said:

The 5200 FX was often times called the graphics decellerator.  It definitely didn't do them quicker ;)
Ah, youth. The S3 Virge ca. '96 was the original "3-Decellerator." :)

#53 Mlmzki

Mlmzki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 January 2007 - 09:26 AM

So, is there a consensus on what settings to use for particular kinds of Macs? :-)

To wit, I have a 2.16GHz first-generation MacBook Pro (17"), with 2GB of RAM with a Radeon X1600.

Can somebody suggest settings for optimal performance?  I've tried various things, but invariably find that if there are a few bad guys on the screen, things get Really.  Slow.

#54 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 January 2007 - 06:49 PM

800x500, advanced shaders, no vsync, all other settings maxed (except FSAA).  It's pathetic.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#55 a2daj

a2daj

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Pro Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3400 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 January 2007 - 04:46 PM

In addition, you want to turn the Lens Flare setting down.  Nothing above Medium.  This applies only to the Universal Binary version.  To change that setting, hold down the command key when starting up Halo.  This will bring up a dialog box (if you disabled it previously) so you can change some settings.  This is the same dialog box in which you would change the shaders used.
Dual 2.5 GHz G5-RADEON X800 -4 GB RAM-Revo 7.1
MBP 2.0GHz -Mobility RADEON X1600-2 GB RAM

#56 Xavier

Xavier

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:21 PM

So, the UB of Halo actually broke parts of the game?? I was thinking about getting this patch once my Intel comes in, but if it isn't going to run that well..
Moof!

#57 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:31 PM

I noticed with the PC version of Halo you could via a command line argument which you could plug into a shortcut choose different pixel shader versions for the game to use but on the Mac there's only the choice of off or on with what I assume is the highest version that Halo uses. I'm wondering if there is a way to force it to use a particular version on the Mac version.
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#58 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 31 January 2007 - 06:49 PM

think youve got the wrong stick in your hand... you can choose between none, vertex only, vertex & pixel and Advanced Vertex & Pixel in the mac version quite easily compared with the PC version.
which are from a drop down list when you hold down command upon launch.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#59 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 31 January 2007 - 07:56 PM

View Posta2daj, on January 31st 2007, 04:46 PM, said:

In addition, you want to turn the Lens Flare setting down.  Nothing above Medium.  This applies only to the Universal Binary version.  To change that setting, hold down the command key when starting up Halo.  This will bring up a dialog box (if you disabled it previously) so you can change some settings.  This is the same dialog box in which you would change the shaders used.

That lens flare bug was fixed a long time ago (around the time of the 1.5 patch, I believe).  Why are you recommending that users to turn down lens flare now?
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#60 Thinine

Thinine

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts

Posted 31 January 2007 - 08:42 PM

Because the bug is back obviously. Did you read the thread?