Jump to content


Google Earth flight sim


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3895 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 02 September 2007 - 02:26 PM

Open up the latest Google Earth build, hit CMD-Option-A and away you go. Either choose a pre-set airport or first navigate to your favourite airport zoomed in and select your location. Only two planes built still quite a cool Easter egg. Details ...

http://marco-za.blog...-simulator.html

http://earth.google....tsim/index.html (controls)



David

Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau


#2 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 September 2007 - 07:32 AM

I wonder what kind of flight models these planes have and if they are joystick compatible? If this goes anywhere, it certainly won't make Austin Meyers happy although X-Plane does seem to have the market cornered on aircraft design.

#3 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8281 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 04 September 2007 - 11:44 AM

Joystick compatible: yes. Flight model: probably none. This thing really flies extremly simplistic - about the same level as some of the first flight sims I played in the late 1980's.

This is definitely no competition to a real flight-sim. It's a nice addition, but the loading times are so extreme that it's not necessarily fun.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#4 Huntn

Huntn

    Verbal Windbag

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4074 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 September 2007 - 01:04 PM

So no real joystick is needed, just 6 buttons, up, down, left, right, fast, slow. ;)

#5 Lord Brixton

Lord Brixton

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1629 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted 08 September 2007 - 06:07 AM

View PostHuntn, on September 7th 2007, 08:04 PM, said:

So no real joystick is needed, just 6 buttons, up, down, left, right, fast, slow. ;)

There is a 'use joystick' checkbox, but that just served to remind me that I never found any Tiger-flava drivers for my old ARES joystick.

It's a fun thing, but it's very hard to fly on the buttons :(

Tower MacPro 2x2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon / 4gb RAM / Radeon X1900 XT 512 / 20" Cinema Display.
MacBook Pro 1.8 gHz Core Duo  / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility X1600 128 / 15" LCD
PowerBook G4 1x1.67ghz / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility 9700 128 / 15" LCD

723rd kicks wussy Nar butt!




Posted Image


#6 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17567 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 September 2007 - 08:27 AM

This doesn't work on my system.   I get nothing when I press CMD-Option-A.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#7 Lord Brixton

Lord Brixton

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1629 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted 08 September 2007 - 11:03 AM

View Postthe Battle Cat, on September 8th 2007, 03:27 PM, said:

This doesn't work on my system.   I get nothing when I press CMD-Option-A.

I didn't work for me first of all, then I pressed the shift key as well & that did it. Is that why he said cmd/alt A and not cmd/alt a ?

Tower MacPro 2x2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon / 4gb RAM / Radeon X1900 XT 512 / 20" Cinema Display.
MacBook Pro 1.8 gHz Core Duo  / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility X1600 128 / 15" LCD
PowerBook G4 1x1.67ghz / 1gb RAM / Radeon mobility 9700 128 / 15" LCD

723rd kicks wussy Nar butt!




Posted Image


#8 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17567 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:04 PM

View PostLord Brixton, on September 8th 2007, 10:03 AM, said:

I didn't work for me first of all, then I pressed the shift key as well & that did it. Is that why he said cmd/alt A and not cmd/alt a ?
The first thing I tried when it didn't work was using the shift to make a capital A.  It doesn't work I tell you!  

[EDIT] But you know what did?  I just went back in and tried using caps lock instead.  Now it works.  Go figure.  I started flying from my position well above Earth at 6,835 miles and had a scenic plummet into the Atlantic.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#9 Siriusfox

Siriusfox

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1148 posts
  • Steam Name:opensiriusfox
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:21 PM

The plane will start out either on a predefined runway, or facing the direction you are currently, at your current altitude. This is a nice idea, the problem is that it is that Google Earth is so ungodly slow that it's impractical.
20'' iMac Intel Core Duo 2GHz, 10.6.5, 2GB RAM, 256MB ATI X1600

"Home computers are being called upon to perform many new functions, including the consumption of homework formerly eaten by the dog." -Doug Larson