Jump to content


64-bit apocalypse


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#61 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2740 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 05 June 2019 - 06:58 PM

I will always love Aspyr but lately they seem to only be able to work on one or two things at a time. So many things are MIA (Borderlands 2 & Pre-Sequel HD editions; Civ VI iOS DLC; 64-bit conversions of just about anything). Then, just when I think they might be dead, they deliver something (most recently a Civ VI iOS patch).

I'm still rooting for them, but I'm trying to keep my expectations low. Whatever we get will be a pleasant surprise.
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#62 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8401 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 05 June 2019 - 11:32 PM

View PostMatt Diamond, on 05 June 2019 - 06:58 PM, said:

So many things are MIA (Borderlands 2 & Pre-Sequel HD editions; …)
At least these are things I'm sure they are working on: you can see the activity in the SteamDB.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#63 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1602 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 06 June 2019 - 12:53 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 04 June 2019 - 11:36 PM, said:


According to some conflicting reports I've seen the version of the launcher you can download now is also 64-bit, but I haven't checked yet myself.


It is, I tried it.

#64 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2740 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 June 2019 - 12:51 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 05 June 2019 - 11:32 PM, said:

At least these are things I'm sure they are working on: you can see the activity in the SteamDB.
Thanks; that's somewhat of a confirmation of what they announced on Twitter a couple months ago. But they told us to keep an eye on the BL2 support page, and that never got updated.

An obvious question: would an HD patch to a 32-bit game be worth Aspyr's highly-constrained time? Or does this imply a 64-bit upgrade is also on the way? Again, best if I don't get too invested in the outcome.

Still, if anyone from Aspyr is reading this: I pledge to buy more BL2 DLC if and when a 64-bit update is released. THAT'S RIGHT-- you could earn yourself a cool $17.97, Aspyr! Money on the table!
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#65 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4080 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 07 June 2019 - 03:39 AM

Since new DLC seems to be comming for BL2 to set up the game for BL3, I'd assume Aspyr would make it 64bit (Again assuming they plan to port BL3 to Mac). I'd also be quite sad if they didn't.. That game is such a marvel.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#66 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2740 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 June 2019 - 08:09 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 07 June 2019 - 03:39 AM, said:

Since new DLC seems to be coming for BL2 to set up the game for BL3

To avoid this thread being taken over by BL2/BL3 discussion, I've moved my reply to a different thread. :-)
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#67 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 885 posts

Posted 13 June 2019 - 12:31 PM

Any news on running old 32-bit Mac games in a VM on 10.15 or is there no GPU support available to the guest MacOS version?
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.14

#68 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2244 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 June 2019 - 05:13 PM

There is not currently passthrough GPU support for macOS guests, on Fusion 11 anyway. Some software rendered stuff works fine, but generally slow. I am unsure if that is the case for virtualization using hypervisor.framework. Veertu is the only GUI virtualization solution using the hypervisor framework afaik. That might change now that hypervisor.framework supports bridged networking in Catalina. Bridged networking is a deal breaker for me at work. Now that the native framework is  more full featured maybe vmware or virtual box will take advantage.
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#69 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 885 posts

Posted 14 June 2019 - 11:10 AM

Thanks!

It sounds like it will be a case of finding space to keep an old Mac around for the 32-bit titles or perhaps running the PC versions (where the licence is cross platform like Steam/GOG etc.) in a Windows VM (or WINE - although I'm not sure how that handles 32-bit games on 64-bit only MacOS either).
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.14