Jump to content


Impending 32 bit doom and MGS app


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4353 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 26 January 2018 - 08:02 AM

So, with High Sierra coming out this year, we may be seeing the great app-ocalypse happening. Just a quick look told me that most of the games I currently have installed is 32 bit, and may or may not work under High Sierra.

Would it be possible to get a column under your library in the MGS app, that shows 64 bit support for each individual app? Like in the System Rapport under Programs.
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#2 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Steam Name:Ionized Revan
  • Steam ID:IonizedRevan
  • Location:Denver, Colorado

Posted 26 January 2018 - 09:41 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 26 January 2018 - 08:02 AM, said:

So, with High Sierra coming out this year, we may be seeing the great app-ocalypse happening. Just a quick look told me that most of the games I currently have installed is 32 bit, and may or may not work under High Sierra.

Would it be possible to get a column under your library in the MGS app, that shows 64 bit support for each individual app? Like in the System Rapport under Programs.

Would be a great idea for all game stores. Also, until that gets implemented you can look up individual games on the pc gaming wiki and they'll have info on whether or not the game is 32 or 64 bit most of the time(for all platforms).

#3 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2987 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 January 2018 - 10:30 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 26 January 2018 - 08:02 AM, said:

So, with High Sierra coming out this year, we may be seeing the great app-ocalypse happening. Just a quick look told me that most of the games I currently have installed is 32 bit, and may or may not work under High Sierra.

FYI High Sierra is the current one; I don't think they've named the new one yet.

Quote

Would it be possible to get a column under your library in the MGS app, that shows 64 bit support for each individual app? Like in the System Report under Programs.

It's a thought.

You can only do it for your whole system, as you pointed out. You'd think it would be a Finder attribute you could create a Smart Folder with, but if it is I haven't found it.
www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#4 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4353 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 27 January 2018 - 02:58 AM

Oh yeah, that was of course an error. The OS after High Sierra.
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#5 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1805 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 28 January 2018 - 12:56 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 27 January 2018 - 02:58 AM, said:

Oh yeah, that was of course an error. The OS after High Sierra.

They said that High Sierra will be the last to run 32-Bit  “without compromise.” I take that to mean they’ll still run in 10.14, but it’ll be annoying (like a dialog box every time you launch one like in iOS 10.)

I don’t think they’ll drop support til 10.15 in 2019.

#6 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4353 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 28 January 2018 - 03:36 PM

View PostCougar, on 28 January 2018 - 12:56 PM, said:



They said that High Sierra will be the last to run 32-Bit  “without compromise.” I take that to mean they’ll still run in 10.14, but it’ll be annoying (like a dialog box every time you launch one like in iOS 10.)
The 10.11.4 beta already does that, so...
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#7 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1805 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 28 January 2018 - 06:59 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 28 January 2018 - 03:36 PM, said:


The 10.11.4 beta already does that, so...

I’m not on the beta, but I think it only bugs you once, not every time you launch.

#8 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Steam Name:Camper-Hunter
  • Steam ID:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 29 January 2018 - 01:06 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 28 January 2018 - 03:36 PM, said:

The 10.11.4 beta already does that, so...

10.13.4 you mean? It seems you have trouble with macOS versions in this thread. ;)