Jump to content


64-Bit compatibility topic

32-bit 64-bit mojave compatibility

  • Please log in to reply
204 replies to this topic

#141 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4160 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 10 October 2019 - 03:52 AM

I am a bit sad that they didn't upgrade Civilization 4.. Yes it is old, but it is also the best.. :(
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#142 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 390 posts

Posted 10 October 2019 - 12:57 PM

I'm seeing that most of my Valve games are 32 bits!
WTH? I was sure that they had been updated at some point.

#143 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4160 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 October 2019 - 01:06 AM

View Postjeannot, on 10 October 2019 - 12:57 PM, said:

I'm seeing that most of my Valve games are 32 bits!
WTH? I was sure that they had been updated at some point.
13 years ago for Half-Life 2! ....For Windows.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#144 galad

galad

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 October 2019 - 01:11 AM

I don't have much hope on Valve updating them. They didn't even fix their older game to run on egpu.
They waited until last week to introduce a field in steam store database to mark a game as 64bit, and right now most of the 64bit games have a "not working on 10.15" banner on steam even if they work. Good job as usual.

#145 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4160 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 October 2019 - 02:11 AM

Well, in general Valve do take their games seriously.. They just also take Valve Time™ to the extreme in all cases.. I mean, just updating their client to the 21st century took them 19 years. And it is not even out of beta yet! So I would expect them to update them to 64 bit with eGPU support, and 4K+ resolution support (If they haven't done already so), sometime before 2030 (2040, maybe).
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#146 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1674 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 11 October 2019 - 04:30 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 11 October 2019 - 02:11 AM, said:

Well, in general Valve do take their games seriously.. They just also take Valve Time™ to the extreme in all cases.. I mean, just updating their client to the 21st century took them 19 years. And it is not even out of beta yet! So I would expect them to update them to 64 bit with eGPU support, and 4K+ resolution support (If they haven't done already so), sometime before 2030 (2040, maybe).

“21st century” is being generous. GOG Galaxy 2.0 is so much better so I don’t even care anymore.

Their games do support 4K.

#147 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2305 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 06:52 AM

But but m'uh steam reeeeeeeeeeeee
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#148 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4382 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 08:10 AM

View Postgalad, on 11 October 2019 - 01:11 AM, said:

They waited until last week to introduce a field in steam store database to mark a game as 64bit, and right now most of the 64bit games have a "not working on 10.15" banner on steam even if they work. Good job as usual.

I was curious on this. Is the banner for "confirmed 32bit only games" or for "any game not confirmed 64bit compatible yet"........

Because I see it show up on some games that are clearly 32bit only... yet I DONT see it on games that ARE 32bit only. I also have (yet) to see it on any games that ARE 64bit compatible..... ?

Be nice to know exactly, since we (at MGS) are using those banners as a basis to set OUR 32bit/64bit flags (which we have had in the works since Apple announced this mess well over a year ago).

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#149 MrUNIMOG

MrUNIMOG

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Location:Hamburg, Germany

Posted 11 October 2019 - 08:33 AM

View PostFrigidman™, on 11 October 2019 - 08:10 AM, said:

I was curious on this. Is the banner for "confirmed 32bit only games" or for "any game not confirmed 64bit compatible yet"........

Because I see it show up on some games that are clearly 32bit only... yet I DONT see it on games that ARE 32bit only. I also have (yet) to see it on any games that ARE 64bit compatible..... ?

Be nice to know exactly, since we (at MGS) are using those banners as a basis to set OUR 32bit/64bit flags (which we have had in the works since Apple announced this mess well over a year ago).

For example, War Thunder does incorrectly have the "not working on 10.15" banner, yet my brother was still able to play it after updating to Catalina yesterday.

However most games that are in fact 64bit don't have that banner. And Civilization V for example, while scheduled for a 64bit update, does have the banner.
Devices I play games on:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, 4 TBT3) — 3.1 GHz i5-6287U | Iris 550 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash | Space Gray
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) — 3.4 GHz i7-3770 | GTX 680MX | 32 GB RAM | 1 TB Fusion Drive
iMac (Flat Panel) — 700 MHz PPC 7450 (G4) | GeForce2 MX | 640 MB RAM | 40 GB HDD
iMac (5 Flavors) — 333 MHz PPC 750 (G3) | ATI Rage Pro | 512 MB RAM | 6 GB HDD | Tangerine

iPhone X — 256 GB | Silver
iPhone 5s — 32 GB | Space Gray
iPad Pro (10.5-inch) — 256 GB | Space Gray
iPad Air 2 — 64 GB | Space Gray
iPad — 16 GB
iPod touch (3rd generation) — 32 GB
iPod touch — 8 GB
Apple Watch (1st generation) — 42 mm | Stainless Steel (Yes, there's games for watchOS)

#150 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4382 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 09:02 AM

View PostMrUNIMOG, on 11 October 2019 - 08:33 AM, said:

For example, War Thunder does incorrectly have the "not working on 10.15" banner, yet my brother was still able to play it after updating to Catalina yesterday.

However most games that are in fact 64bit don't have that banner. And Civilization V for example, while scheduled for a 64bit update, does have the banner.

What a mess. WTG steam! At least when we don't know we put up "unknown" =p LOL

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#151 jos

jos

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 11 October 2019 - 10:39 AM

View PostMr Pink, on 09 October 2019 - 02:57 PM, said:

Aspyr announced today they only have 64-bit updates for the following games planned:

Civilization V (Steam)
Command & Conquer: Generals (Mac App Store)
RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 (Steam)
SimCity 4: Deluxe Edition (Mac App Store & Steam)
SimCity: Complete Edition (Mac App Store)
The Sims 2: Super Collection (Mac App Store)

That's all? I want Doom 3, Quake 4, Prey, Call of Duty, Call of Duty 2, Rage and Duke Nukem Forever, instead of just a few EA sim-games.

#152 MrUNIMOG

MrUNIMOG

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Location:Hamburg, Germany

Posted 11 October 2019 - 10:42 AM

View Postjos, on 11 October 2019 - 10:39 AM, said:

That's all? I want Doom 3, Quake 4, Prey, Call of Duty, Call of Duty 2, Rage and Duke Nukem Forever, instead of just a few EA sim-games.
I guess they can just confirm so much. I really hope they eventually get around to updating some more, like BL: TPS or BioShock Infinite..
Devices I play games on:

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2016, 4 TBT3) — 3.1 GHz i5-6287U | Iris 550 | 16 GB RAM | 512 GB Flash | Space Gray
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) — 3.4 GHz i7-3770 | GTX 680MX | 32 GB RAM | 1 TB Fusion Drive
iMac (Flat Panel) — 700 MHz PPC 7450 (G4) | GeForce2 MX | 640 MB RAM | 40 GB HDD
iMac (5 Flavors) — 333 MHz PPC 750 (G3) | ATI Rage Pro | 512 MB RAM | 6 GB HDD | Tangerine

iPhone X — 256 GB | Silver
iPhone 5s — 32 GB | Space Gray
iPad Pro (10.5-inch) — 256 GB | Space Gray
iPad Air 2 — 64 GB | Space Gray
iPad — 16 GB
iPod touch (3rd generation) — 32 GB
iPod touch — 8 GB
Apple Watch (1st generation) — 42 mm | Stainless Steel (Yes, there's games for watchOS)

#153 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4382 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 11:58 AM

We have people rating games a "1" and writing one liner reviews of "doesnt run on catalina" ... so apparently a game sucks, after they had enjoyed it for years on prior systems, and it still is great on 10.14 and prior. But yeah... so, I've been deleting all those reviews on grounds they are unrelated to the actual game.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#154 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2305 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 12:04 PM

Do you really want Duke Nukem Forever to live on??? Let it go with the dignity it deserves.
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#155 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4382 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 12:32 PM

I dont think Duke had any dignity to start with?

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#156 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4160 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 11 October 2019 - 02:37 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 11 October 2019 - 11:58 AM, said:

We have people rating games a "1" and writing one liner reviews of "doesnt run on catalina" ... so apparently a game sucks, after they had enjoyed it for years on prior systems, and it still is great on 10.14 and prior. But yeah... so, I've been deleting all those reviews on grounds they are unrelated to the actual game.
Thank you.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#157 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4382 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 03:26 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 11 October 2019 - 02:37 PM, said:

Thank you.

Not to sound callous .... but a lot of angry housewives who stupidly upgraded to catalina, and now most their casual hidden object games dont run.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#158 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 390 posts

Posted 11 October 2019 - 11:37 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 11 October 2019 - 03:26 PM, said:

Not to sound callous .... but a lot of angry housewives who stupidly upgraded to catalina, and now most their casual hidden object games dont run.
"stupidly"?
Not anyone has to be tech-savvy, and when Apple is nagging your with that idiotic red badge on system preferences, you just do what Apple tells you to do.

#159 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 390 posts

Posted 11 October 2019 - 11:51 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 11 October 2019 - 01:06 AM, said:

13 years ago for Half-Life 2! ....For Windows.
I think this 64-bit version was mostly an experiment?
I'm not hopeful that Valve is maintaining these games. Or any games for that matter, except Dota2 and CS:GO.

#160 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2305 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 11 October 2019 - 11:56 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 11 October 2019 - 03:26 PM, said:

Not to sound callous .... but a lot of angry housewives who stupidly upgraded to catalina, and now most their casual hidden object games dont run.

I want to laugh but I've enjoyed one or three of these in my day too lol.
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 32-bit, 64-bit, mojave, compatibility