Jump to content


The Witcher comes to MacOS


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#41 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 886 posts

Posted 28 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

You can download wineskin here: http://wineskin.urgesoftware.com/

Once installed download install a Wine Engine and create a wrapper - this wrapper will be a .app package ready for software to be installed.

You just need to right click on it and "show package contents"  then copy the "Wineskin" application from this and move it into your existing Witcher app bundle in the same way.

Once it is in there you will be able to run Wineskin and make the changes.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.14

#42 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:16 PM

Went through the steps to Update Wrapper, I see it states that its updated to 2.5.8, now when trying to launch; Black Screen then it quits. *sigh*
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

#43 doh123

doh123

    Wineskin

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:26 PM

Don't trust the number that says 2.5.8 in Wineskin.app... that doesn't check or trust the wrapper, it just checks the version of the app you just dropped in there.  Make sure you do the update two times.. force the second one on even if it says its not needed.

#44 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:36 PM

View Postdoh123, on 30 September 2012 - 07:26 PM, said:

Don't trust the number that says 2.5.8 in Wineskin.app... that doesn't check or trust the wrapper, it just checks the version of the app you just dropped in there.  Make sure you do the update two times.. force the second one on even if it says its not needed.
Yeah I ran into that and didn't feel the second time was needed. I'll try again.

Here's my System.log output;

Sep 30 21:28:53 --- last message repeated 1 time ---
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Starting up...
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: reading all configuration information...
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Starting up WineskinX11
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Using Engine c1.5.8-nops
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72970]: Starting up...
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72970]: reading all configuration information...
Sep 30 21:28:53 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72970]: files passed in to open, will open with associated app
Sep 30 21:28:54 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72970]: Starting specified executable in Wine
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Wrapper Bundle running on PID 72954
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: WineskinX11 running on PID 72968
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Fixing user folders in Drive C to current user
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Starting specified executable in Wine
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Wineserver running on PID 73031
Sep 30 21:28:55 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Changing to requested starting resolution of 1680 1050...
Sep 30 21:28:56 mac-pro.local WindowServer[131]: Display 0x2b283e0c captured by conn 0x13953
Sep 30 21:28:56 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72970]: Wineserver running on PID 73035
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Sleeping and monitoring from the background while app runs...
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Application finished, cleaning up and shut down...
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Changing the resolution back to 1680 1050...
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local coreservicesd[65]: SendFlattenedData, got error #268435459 (ipc/send) invalid destination port from ::mach_msg(), sending notification kLSNotifyFrontApplicationPresentationModeChanged to notificationID=1107
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local WindowServer[131]: Display 0x2b283e0c released by conn 0x13953
Sep 30 21:28:57 mac-pro.local Wineskin[72939]: Finished!


Okay, brb...
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

#45 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:45 PM

Ok, using Wineskin Winery 1.7 I created a blank wrapper using the 1.5.13 AMD Speedhack version and copied the Wineskip.app therein into the base The Witcher.app package. I launch it, click Advanced, Tools, Update Wrapper.

Tried again, no avail.
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

#46 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1533 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:54 PM

UPDATE; GOT IT WORKING!!!!!!!

It launched directly from the hard drive, not within Steam. Odd. Being that I think it might be an overlay issue I disabled, within Steam, to allow Steam Community In-Game, violá, it still works! Yippee.

THANKS doh123, Smoke_Tetsuo, mattw!!!
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

#47 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8402 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 18 November 2014 - 08:51 AM

Now that's a surprise: they just released a new version for Mac that is no Wineskin wrapper. I have downloaded it already (from GOG) but not tried yet, so I can't say anything how well it runs. But it can hardly be worse than the previously available piece of shyte.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#48 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4080 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 18 November 2014 - 12:06 PM

That was a pleasant surprise... And yes, couldnt get much worse.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#49 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 18 November 2014 - 12:27 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 18 November 2014 - 12:06 PM, said:

That was a pleasant surprise... And yes, couldnt get much worse.

You spoke too soon.  When I try to launch it, I get an error that says I don't meet the minimum requirements.  Um, my late 2013 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i7, GTX 780M 4GB, 8 GB RAM begs to differ.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#50 Hansi

Hansi

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1785 posts
  • Steam ID:hansroberth
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 18 November 2014 - 01:23 PM

View Postclocknova, on 18 November 2014 - 12:27 PM, said:

You spoke too soon.  When I try to launch it, I get an error that says I don't meet the minimum requirements.  Um, my late 2013 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i7, GTX 780M 4GB, 8 GB RAM begs to differ.

Could it be OS based? Check on an internal plist, maybe there is something you can change there.

#51 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4080 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 18 November 2014 - 03:26 PM

I will download it over night and fire it up tomorrow on my Yosemite 2011 iMac. 2011 was a much better year compared to 2013, so it will probably work. :P
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#52 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8402 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 November 2014 - 01:09 PM

View Postclocknova, on 18 November 2014 - 12:27 PM, said:

You spoke too soon.  When I try to launch it, I get an error that says I don't meet the minimum requirements.  Um, my late 2013 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i7, GTX 780M 4GB, 8 GB RAM begs to differ.
I finally came around to test the new version and it works for me. I haven't played long enough to say whether it's really stable now, but I tested a few saved games where the old version crashed immediately on loading the location, and they loaded without problems.

It seems to be a Virtual Programming port, by the way.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#53 clocknova

clocknova

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1000 posts
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 21 November 2014 - 01:58 PM

Still refuses to run on my machine.  No solution or acknowledgement yet from GOG.  Frustrating.
There they were, sitting in the van with all those dials, and the cat was dead.
-V. Marchetti, CIA

#54 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 21 November 2014 - 03:41 PM

When I looked into the package contents there still seems to be a lot of WINE stuff. Does anybody know what they did to warrant a 9 GB update?
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.13.2
iPad Air 2 64GB WiFi/iPhone 6+ 64GB

#55 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8402 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 November 2014 - 03:50 PM

View PostTacohead, on 21 November 2014 - 03:41 PM, said:

When I looked into the package contents there still seems to be a lot of WINE stuff. Does anybody know what they did to warrant a 9 GB update?
Yes. They stopped using WINE.

As I said: they are using VP's technology know.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#56 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 559 posts

Posted 21 November 2014 - 04:39 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 21 November 2014 - 03:50 PM, said:

Yes. They stopped using WINE.

As I said: they are using VP's technology know.

Ah ok. Thanks.
27" iMac I7 (late 2013), 3.2 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, NVIDEA GeForce GT 755M 1024 MB, Mac OS 10.13.2
iPad Air 2 64GB WiFi/iPhone 6+ 64GB

#57 Smoke_Tetsu

Smoke_Tetsu

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3318 posts
  • Steam Name:Tetsu Jutsu
  • Steam ID:smoke_tetsu
  • Location:Cyberspace

Posted 21 November 2014 - 05:09 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 21 November 2014 - 03:50 PM, said:

Yes. They stopped using WINE.

As I said: they are using VP's technology know.

Just a quick comment to say that IMHO this is worse because at least with Wine I have something I can work with to re-enable features I want such as true positional surround sound and adding effects (such as HDR, antialiasing, etc) via proxy d3d9 and dsound\openal dll's. which their tech isn't made to facilitate because their wrapping technology is more obfuscated from the end user. Also, I could keep the wine wrapper up to date and reap the benefit of bug fixes but their type tends to stop receiving patches after a while. As such I've moved my current copy out of my steam folder so that it wont get overwritten the next time I launch Steam. People say it was a piece of popsnizzle but I had it running decently on my rig with features that one only usually can get in Windows using the same methods I mentioned above.

By the way I had to upgrade that Wine wrapper to the latest available (at the time.. 1.7.28.. I could upgrade it to 1.7.29 but haven't yet.. the Winery is a bit behind as they haven't uploaded new wine engines in a while and we're up to 1.7.31 by now) Wine engine for Wineskin to get it to work on my Mac but once that was done it was working better than ever.

Also as has been demonstrated before VP's wrapping tech isn't necessarily better than Wine especially in terms of performance or features. To be fair they have been working on this but yeah.

Obviously also this isn't as much a problem with newer games because they tend to come out of the box with all the features I could possibly want (in terms of graphics and sound). Especially if they where ported by Feral. But with a game like The Witcher which is already relatively an older game by now this is a problem... and we don't have advanced control panels or tech like SweetFX, ENB Series dsound to openal wrappers and the like for OS X available to us to remedy this.

TL;DR version: In other words it's like they are saying "Here you go, a port that's still wrapped but may now have worse performance and is now less customizable by power users"!
--Tetsuo

Alex Delarg, A Clockwork Orange said:

It's funny how the colors of the real world only seem really real when you viddy them on the screen.

the Battle Cat said:

Slower and faster? I'm sorry to hear such good news?

Late 2012 27 inch iMac, Core i7 Quad 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB, 3TB HDD - Mavericks

Late 2009 27 inch iMac, Core i5 2.6GHz, 12GB RAM, ATI Radeon 4850HD 512MB, 1TB HDD - Mavericks

Mac Mini, PowerPC G4 1.4Ghz, 1GB RAM, Radeon 9200 32MB, 256GB HDD - Leopard

Dell Inspiron 1200 Notebook: 1.2GHz Celeron, 1.2GB RAM, Intel GMA915, 75GB HDD - Ubuntu

Generic Black Tower PC, Dual Core 64-bit 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600 GT 512MB - Windows 7


#58 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2244 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 21 November 2014 - 08:14 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 21 November 2014 - 03:50 PM, said:

Yes. They stopped using WINE.

As I said: they are using VP's technology know.

BUhhhhhhhhh as bad as the Dead Rising eON port is do I even bother downloading this to test?
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#59 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 21 November 2014 - 08:18 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 21 November 2014 - 01:09 PM, said:

It seems to be a Virtual Programming port, by the way.

:wall:
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#60 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8402 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 November 2014 - 02:35 AM

View Postclocknova, on 18 November 2014 - 12:27 PM, said:

You spoke too soon.  When I try to launch it, I get an error that says I don't meet the minimum requirements.  Um, my late 2013 27" iMac, 3.5 GHz i7, GTX 780M 4GB, 8 GB RAM begs to differ.
Just FYI: they released an update today to fix that problem. It seems that 4+ GB VRAM confused the game…

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"