Jump to content


MacOS 10.14 - Mojave


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#61 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1547 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 04 October 2018 - 05:50 PM

View PostJanichsan, on 04 October 2018 - 02:32 PM, said:

Like this or like it was before (with two sliders)?

I have only the one slider. 10.12.6, 13" 2016 MBP.

#62 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6183 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 04 October 2018 - 09:32 PM

I just checked and I still have both sliders.

Maybe it's machine-specific?

Posted Image
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.6 GHz i7 9900K / 32GB RAM / 2x2TB Intel 7600p (RAID0), 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / TITAN V 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 2001) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Micron M600 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#63 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 05 October 2018 - 02:36 AM

View PostFrost, on 04 October 2018 - 09:32 PM, said:

I just checked and I still have both sliders.

Maybe it's machine-specific?
I'm beginning to think so myself (I'm talking about my late 2016 rMBP, by the way). But why now? Under High Sierra, I definitely still had the two sliders.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#64 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3980 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 05 October 2018 - 04:19 AM

I only have one slider on my 2013 work iMac.

Edit: And on my '16 Macbook.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#65 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 875 posts

Posted 05 October 2018 - 05:39 AM

Two sliders here on old Mac Pro desktop.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, RX580 8GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.14

#66 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 05 October 2018 - 07:18 AM

Over at Macrumors, I got a reply that this (one slider) was allegedly already in previous versions of macOS and might be related to Power Nap. So, I guess I might have had a bug before the update? :unsure: (And I'm 100% certain I had two sliders before updating to Mojave: I had to tinker around in the Power settings only shortly before I updated and I'm sure of what I saw.)

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#67 Spike

Spike

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas, NV

Posted 05 October 2018 - 05:42 PM

Barefeats has new article comparing Mojave and High Sierra Metal performance. Spoiler is performance is the same.

#68 Tetsuya

Tetsuya

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2205 posts
  • Location:MI

Posted 05 October 2018 - 06:40 PM

View PostFrost, on 04 October 2018 - 09:32 PM, said:

I just checked and I still have both sliders.

Maybe it's machine-specific?

Posted Image

Im not near my machine right now, but you and i have exactly the same MBP - do me a favor and check what it looks like when you click Battery.  I also just looked at it under "Power Adapter"; maybe the "when to go to sleep" bar was removed for when its on battery?

#69 jos

jos

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 15 October 2018 - 09:03 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 03 October 2018 - 10:14 AM, said:

Apple has decided to replace the nice and tidily organised printer options in all their own applications with an unsorted and messy list of dropdown menus.

Could you post a screenshot that shows what it looks like in Mojave?

#70 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 15 October 2018 - 12:37 PM

View Postjos, on 15 October 2018 - 09:03 AM, said:

Could you post a screenshot that shows what it looks like in Mojave?
It's in German, but that makes the shoddy localisation stand out.

Posted Image

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#71 jeannot

jeannot

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 330 posts

Posted 19 October 2018 - 12:21 AM

Maybe it depends on your printer drivers, because the print panel hasn't changed for me.

#72 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8308 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 19 October 2018 - 01:00 AM

View Postjeannot, on 19 October 2018 - 12:21 AM, said:

Maybe it depends on your printer drivers, because the print panel hasn't changed for me.
Also in first-party Apple applications?

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#73 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts

Posted 19 October 2018 - 12:27 PM

Same here on several HPs, with Apple's Printer Drivers and some additional HP software, but only in Apple's Applications.
The handy B&W button is gone from the top and the print options I need are buried under a myriad of drop down menus.

#74 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6183 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 22 October 2018 - 09:26 PM

View PostTetsuya, on 05 October 2018 - 06:40 PM, said:

Im not near my machine right now, but you and i have exactly the same MBP - do me a favor and check what it looks like when you click Battery.  I also just looked at it under "Power Adapter"; maybe the "when to go to sleep" bar was removed for when its on battery?

Hey Tetsuya, sorry I missed this post. I have the slider both under Power Adapter and under Battery. The only difference between the two is the usual: Wake on LAN gets replaced with Slightly Dim Display on Battery.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.6 GHz i7 9900K / 32GB RAM / 2x2TB Intel 7600p (RAID0), 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / TITAN V 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 2001) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Micron M600 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#75 ozzy

ozzy

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Steam Name:ozzy
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 23 October 2018 - 05:08 PM

I just got a new 2018 13" MBP through work, and on 10.13.6 it doesn't have the sleep slider, it only has the turn display off slider. Interesting...

#76 jos

jos

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 16 November 2018 - 08:34 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 15 October 2018 - 12:37 PM, said:

It's in German, but that makes the shoddy localisation stand out.

I understand German, so that doesn't matter. Thanks for the screenshot. :)