Jump to content


iMac Pro with up to 18core Xeon and Vega graphics coming in December


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 07 June 2017 - 07:16 AM

Apple is releasing a Pro version of the 27" iMac this fall. It will have the following specs:
  • Up to 18 core Xeon (upcoming Skylake-X generation, the same architecture the upcoming Core i9 CPUs are using)
  • Up to 128 GB ECC RAM
  • Up to 4 TB NVMe SSD
  • Up to AMD Vega Pro 64 GPU with 16 GB HBM2
  • 10 Gb Ethernet NIC
  • 4x TB3
  • 5K Display with P3 color
  • Same dimensions as current 27" iMac, but with revamped internals for better cooling
  • Space Grey color
Full pricing is not known at this time, but the base configuration will be $4,999 for the following:
  • 8 core Xeon
  • 32 GB ECC RAM
  • 1 TB NVMe SSD
  • AMD Vega Pro 56 GPU with 8 GB HBM2
The pricing seems very competitive. PC Gamer just published an article seeing if they could beat it for the price, and they only ended up being $300 cheaper with a custom build.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#2 RGoulder

RGoulder

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Location:Post-RISD

Posted 07 June 2017 - 03:57 PM

It looks good and I'm very tempted by it but there is some information coming out about it that isn't that great

From: https://9to5mac.com/...ay-accessories/

Quote

Apple has confirmed to us that the RAM in the iMac Pro will not be user-replaceable. This shouldn’t come as too big of a surprise given Apple’s other recent products, but nevertheless it means users are stuck with however much RAM they purchase from Apple. Currently, the 27-inch iMac features user-upgradeable RAM, while the 21.5-inch model does not.

So Apple 2 steps forward 1 step back. :wall:

#3 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6089 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 June 2017 - 02:18 AM

lol, soldered on RAM in a $5000 pro machine.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#4 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 08 June 2017 - 02:39 AM

If you can afford to pay 5.000$+ for a machine, I don't think you care much about the 1.000$ markup for 128GB RAM, after they've spend 1.000$ upgrading to the 18 core version.
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 08 June 2017 - 06:52 AM

I don't think that the RAM is soldered on. I think it'll be similar to upgrading the hard drive in the current 27" iMac - a huge pain, but possible. Look at this internal picture of the machine. It sure looks like regular DIMMS in regular RAM slots:

Posted Image
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#6 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2038 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 08 June 2017 - 06:53 AM

The RAM isn't soldered on, there's just no access port. Same with the 21.5 inch models.

I know people at ESPN that are drooling over this machine. They dgaf about slight markup this, inaccessible that. A screaming turnkey machine with an amazing display they can mount where the monitors are right now in their trucks.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#7 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 08 June 2017 - 01:17 PM

From a performance point of view based on the specs I'm sure it will impress and it looks like at today's prices at least it could be decent value.

I'd still rather hope my old Mac Pro can keep going a little longer and wait and see what the upgradable machine finally is though.

eGPUs may be the answer long term but for now a PCI-E socket still sounds best if you don't want to keep upgrading the whole machine every 2 or 3 years. I'd also like to spread the cost and not have to buy a 5k display yet, my 1440p 27" might not be as sharp but it is less restrictive than 1080p for productivity and isn't too bad.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#8 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1364 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 08 June 2017 - 01:42 PM

View Postmattw, on 08 June 2017 - 01:17 PM, said:

eGPUs may be the answer long term but for now a PCI-E socket still sounds best if you don't want to keep upgrading the whole machine every 2 or 3 years.

Is this really true? CPU improvements are pretty glacial lately. I'm still playing games like The Witcher 3 with an i5 760 (the first one) paired to a 970 and see little reason to upgrade the CPU yet.

#9 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 08 June 2017 - 02:22 PM

It all seems to depend on the specific game.

I've seen some data where the GPU is all that matters and even old CPUs give similar performance (at real world
resolutions and settings), other times modern CPUs show a big gain or the old CPU is a bottleneck at least sometimes.
Finally sometimes older hardware is still OK/passable in Windows benchmarks but unsupported or a problem making it playable with MacOS.

Likewise with PCI-E versus Thunderbolt eGPUs - sometimes the extra bandwidth matters other times not really for playability or a pro app.

As you say CPUs are usually not outdated so quickly but although GPU
progress may have slowed a little with more rebrands and mobile versions they still seem to be the first thing to need a change if you want the latest titles at nice settings.


Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#10 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3802 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 09 June 2017 - 12:17 AM

The eGPU availability is perfect for a Mac gamer! ....if we actually also had a CPU focused Mac Mini...
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#11 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1434 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 09 June 2017 - 01:12 AM

Tech trap, I'll wait for the MacPro and hopefully keep that running for up to ten years, too.
macOS 10.13.x/Windows 7 Pro/2009 MacPro 4,1 Xeon W3580 3.33GHz/16GB RAM/EVGA GTX1070 8GB

#12 mattw

mattw

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 831 posts

Posted 09 June 2017 - 05:53 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 09 June 2017 - 01:12 AM, said:

Tech trap, I'll wait for the MacPro and hopefully keep that running for up to ten years, too.


Exactly - far better value when you don't have any need for portability, a desk and space is not a big concern.
Mac Pro 09 (now a 5.1, 2 x 3.06GHz Xeon X5675, 24GB, R9 280X 3GB, 480SSD, 16TB HD, MacOS 10.12.6

#13 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 09 June 2017 - 07:08 AM

View PostCougar, on 08 June 2017 - 01:42 PM, said:

Is this really true? CPU improvements are pretty glacial lately. I'm still playing games like The Witcher 3 with an i5 760 (the first one) paired to a 970 and see little reason to upgrade the CPU yet.

It seems like the only reason to upgrade a CPU these days is if you have the absolute best GPU, such as the 1080 Ti. If you are using a mid-range GPU, you are likely GPU limited in games, and as such the CPU doesn't matter much, so long as it is remotely recent and has 4 cores.

AMD's new Ryzen CPU's have brough some much needed innovation to the consumer CPU market by making 6c/12t and 8c/16t CPUs available for affordable prices, but developers are going to need to optimize game engines to take advantage of the extra cores.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#14 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Master Blaster

  • IMG Writers
  • 2460 posts
  • Location:Holland, PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2017 - 07:18 AM

View Postmattw, on 09 June 2017 - 05:53 AM, said:

Exactly - far better value when you don't have any need for portability, a desk and space is not a big concern.

I agree, but I suspect we will eat those words when Apple announces the prices for the next Mac Pro. I don't see much incentive for them to offer a $1500 or even a $1900 model. And my usual trick of buying last year's model "cheap" won't work for a couple years.

There's a pretty good chance I'll wait patiently for the announcement but then end up switching to an iMac anyway.
Matt Diamond - www.mindthecube.com
Measure twice, cut once, curse three or four times.

#15 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6089 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2017 - 02:46 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 08 June 2017 - 06:52 AM, said:

I don't think that the RAM is soldered on. I think it'll be similar to upgrading the hard drive in the current 27" iMac - a huge pain, but possible. Look at this internal picture of the machine. It sure looks like regular DIMMS in regular RAM slots:

http://nofilmschool....g?itok=waElrUhs

Ah, good, that works. My concern was repairability rather than upgradeability. No shortage of folks who want to keep pro machines in the field long-term, RAM can be a point of failure, and it's very easy to swap if it's on DIMMs versus soldered on. Hell, I just did major service on a 2003 G5 last fall that the owner wanted to keep deployed. A misbehaving DIMM was one of the two things causing him problems.

EDIT: It looks like the CPU can actually be swapped on these as well. Thought it might, but you never know. Excellent.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#16 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3299 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 09 June 2017 - 03:00 PM

View PostFrost, on 09 June 2017 - 02:46 PM, said:

Hell, I just did major service on a 2003 G5 last fall that the owner wanted to keep deployed. A misbehaving DIMM was one of the two things causing him problems.

If you are allowed to say, I would be very curious to know what software that user needs the G5 for. I can't imagine keeping a 14-year-old machine in regular production usage.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: R5 1600 @ 3.9 GHz || Asus GTX 1070 8 GB || 16 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Other: Dell OptiPlex 3040 as VMware host || QNAP TS-228 NAS || iPhone 6S 64GB

#17 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6089 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2017 - 03:27 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 09 June 2017 - 03:00 PM, said:

If you are allowed to say, I would be very curious to know what software that user needs the G5 for. I can't imagine keeping a 14-year-old machine in regular production usage.

No idea what they are using it for; it was for somebody at a Texas A&M engineering department and they just wanted it serviced. It was having issues with random freezing and crashing for quite a while, and they finally had to put it in for service when it wouldn't turn on anymore. New PSU got it turned back on, and tracked down the crashing to a bad DIMM. Gave it a deep clean and redid the thermal paste on the CPUs and the GPU too, and sent it back good as new.

Amusingly, I believe the PSU finally died because a loose CPU screw got jostled and shorted something, as I found a loose screw inside the PSU. It wasn't missing any CPU screws and the machine had never had more done to it than swapping the optical drive and upgrading the hard drives, so looks like someone at the factory dropped a screw way back in 2003 and couldn't be bothered to get it out. Took 13 years but it finally worked its way into someplace hazardous... lol.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#18 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2038 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2017 - 04:10 PM

We have some device for blood chromatography that still has a MMD G4 attached to it. It's cheaper to keep 3 old G4s on the shelf than spend tens of thousands of dollars on a new device. *shrug*
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#19 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17419 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2017 - 06:13 PM

I was so proud of my awesome new G4.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#20 AussieMacGamer

AussieMacGamer

    Owner, 2nd Largest Topic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3087 posts

Posted 09 June 2017 - 09:09 PM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 09 June 2017 - 12:17 AM, said:

The eGPU availability is perfect for a Mac gamer! ....if we actually also had a CPU focused Mac Mini...

This iMac is a kinda funny machine now that we know a new Mac Pro is coming. Sure it's a great Pro Setup, but I feel like 90% of people who need a workstation would shoot for an equivalent Mac Pro were one available. Unless Apple offers incredible value on this verses their own new cinema display and new mac pro (which I actually feel might be likely, don't know why they've been doing such good value on these iMacs for the past few years and such popsnizzlety on their own displays), I can't see many reasons to buy the iMac with the disadvantages it brings long term.


I'm curious still as to wether or not the new iMac has desktop 5 series cards, or if they're m series again? They aren't branded so. And if that VR demo was anything to go by, it seems pretty on par with 480/580 performance. That's a pretty fantastic result for consumers IMO, much better value than the last iMac.

EDIT: some digging finds at least that these are branded Radeon Pro 580 vs the RX 580. I think they're different cards...


Also, In terms of pricing, you could buy the cheapest 5k iMac, and a VR dev kit, for only AU$50 more than the iMac with the 580 built in. Upgradable (and re-sellable) graphics from the get-go.

Which makes me wonder if Apple would be able to find a way to implement a two port solution to pipe thunderbolt video data back into the iMac and save on the performance hit from using the internal display? Surely they're working on some solution to this... Eitherway future is bright.

Mac Mini with eGPU would be great too!

IMG Resident Crackpot
"What you need is a dog or a girlfriend, or both, or one in the same!" -Gary Simmons Aka. The Battle Cat
15" Macbook Pro C2D 2.16Ghz ATI X1600 3Gb Ram w/Samsung 840 SSD R.I.P

2015 Mbp 13", 256gb SSD

Windows popsnizzlebox with a 5400rpm HD and a GTX 1060

Now Playing: Player Unknown's Battlegrounds/CS:GO/Rising Storm 2/The Witcher 3 Blood and Wine/Shenmue 1