Jump to content


DRM-ridden game stores are made of pure evil


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4311 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 06 January 2020 - 09:11 AM

That was the best title I could come up with.

I have never seen an error like this before. Have gotten it multiple times while browsing Epics store. It says "Will you allow epicgames.com to use 1.2 GB storage space on your Mac?". Surely something can't be right there.

Posted Image
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#2 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2350 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 January 2020 - 10:01 AM

Are you running Catalina? That looks like one of the privacy dialogs in 10.15 (Settings ¬ Privacy ¬ Files and Folders). The goal is to give users COMPLETE control over apps that can access directories and files. Kind of sucks but the modern threat arena is nasty. The age of open computing is over.
IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#3 Matt Diamond

Matt Diamond

    Uberspewer

  • IMG Writers
  • 2942 posts
  • Location:PA; US
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 06 January 2020 - 11:54 AM

Quote

"Will you allow epicgames.com to use 1.2 GB storage space on your Mac?". Surely something can't be right there.

I wouldn't complain too loudly - the easiest fix for them is to stop asking permission!

I haven't seen that error myself. But I had a different error for many weeks: every time I ran the launcher it complained that it couldn't replace a locked file. I even opened a ticket. Here's how that went:
  • couple rounds of trying to convince tech support that I'd already gone through the steps in their FAQ (which were written for Windows, but never mind)
  • determined on my own that it was trying to patch Subnautica, not the launcher. Told Epic.
  • waited for Epic to suggest the obvious fix, which was to reinstall Subnautica manually
  • error vanished on its own a few days later. Maybe the patch was withdrawn? (If so, could it have been because of my report? Seems unlikely.)
  • I reinstalled the game manually to get the latest version
  • Told Epic what happened so they closed the ticket and patted themselves on the back.

www.mindthecube.com

Current setup: macOS 10.14.x/2018 Mac Mini 3.2GHz i7/16GB RAM/Sonnet Breakaway 650 eGPU w Sapphire Radeon VEGA 56 8GB

#4 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4311 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 07 January 2020 - 04:51 AM

View Postmacdude22, on 06 January 2020 - 10:01 AM, said:

Are you running Catalina? That looks like one of the privacy dialogs in 10.15 (Settings ¬ Privacy ¬ Files and Folders). The goal is to give users COMPLETE control over apps that can access directories and files. Kind of sucks but the modern threat arena is nasty. The age of open computing is over.
Nope, Mojave, but Safari 13, so that's likely why.
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#5 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2350 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 07 January 2020 - 08:15 AM

Oh safari, you will get prompted a single time to validate downloads from new domains. This is to prevent drive-by downloads. You can check the ACL for domain downloads in Preferences ¬ Websites ¬ Downloads.

Attached Files


IMG Discord Server | | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (iMac18,2): i7 @ 3.6 GHz || 16 GB RAM || Radeon Pro 560 || 2TB Micron + 6TB Toshiba
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#6 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4311 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 07 January 2020 - 01:24 PM

Oh yeah, get those all the time. But this one is different. Epic popsnizzle I guess.
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#7 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1648 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 08 January 2020 - 01:14 AM

Is that for the EPIC Game Store or a particular game?
macOS 10.15.x/3.5GHZ 8-Core Xeon W-3223 2019 MacPro/48GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil 5700XT

macOS 10.15.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

macOS 10.14.x/3.33GHz Xeon W3580 cMacPro (5,1 flash)/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil RX580

#8 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4311 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 08 January 2020 - 07:24 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 08 January 2020 - 01:14 AM, said:

Is that for the EPIC Game Store or a particular game?
Multiple games on the store. I've seen it ~10 times.
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#9 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4311 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 26 April 2020 - 02:52 AM

Thank you Ubisoft. Rub it in more please.

Posted Image
"They're everywhere!" -BOB

#10 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1780 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 26 April 2020 - 09:28 AM

View PostThain Esh Kelch, on 26 April 2020 - 02:52 AM, said:

Thank you Ubisoft. Rub it in more please.

Posted Image

Hey, at least they expressed empathy with a :(