Jump to content


What virtualization software are you using?

vmware fusion parallels veertu virtualbox

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3230 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 26 October 2016 - 01:38 PM

Just wondering which virtualization software people are using and how happy they are with it. I'm currently using VMware Fusion 8.5 and I was happy with it on my old 2011 quad core 15" MBP, but it doesn't seem to run very well on my new 2015 13" rMBP with a Windows 10 VM.

I am especially interested to hear if anyone is using the Veertu to power a Windows virtual machine. It uses OS X's built-in hypervisor instead of a custom solution like VMware or Parallels.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 6600K @ 4.6 GHz || AMD RX480 8 GB || 8 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 850 Evo M.2 Sata, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Accessories: LG 21:9 2560x1080 monitor  || PS4 slim ||  QNAP TS-228 NAS (2x 6 TB Seagte IronWolf) || Phone 6S 64GB

#2 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 26 October 2016 - 02:18 PM

Last version I used was VMware 8.0. It worked well for Windows 7 and some Linux based Cisco virtual appliances (on my seriously upgraded Mac Pro 2009). That's wierd that Fusion ran better on your 5 years old Mac than on the new one! Does it have enough RAM for OS X + the Windows guest?

#3 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 October 2016 - 03:45 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 26 October 2016 - 01:38 PM, said:

Just wondering which virtualization software people are using and how happy they are with it. I'm currently using VMware Fusion 8.5 and I was happy with it on my old 2011 quad core 15" MBP, but it doesn't seem to run very well on my new 2015 13" rMBP with a Windows 10 VM.

I am especially interested to hear if anyone is using the Veertu to power a Windows virtual machine. It uses OS X's built-in hypervisor instead of a custom solution like VMware or Parallels.

Veertu works well, and its great to not have to install any kernel extensions but it has constraints. Previously Apple's hypervisor doesn't support bridged networking which I need. I see now veertu on 10.12's hypervisor does. I will have to revisit.

I use Fusion and generally don't have any issues, I do the majority of my devops in VMs so bridged networking is a stickler for me which Veertu previously was unable to support.

I am slightly less excited since I see now bridged networking is only supported outside of the app store and apple didn't actually add this to the hypervisor. But will still be taking another look.

https://veertu.com/u...orking-support/
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#4 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6003 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 October 2016 - 05:40 PM

Using the latest version of VMWare Fusion on Sierra with Windows 10 Pro Anniversary on the MBP in my signature. Works great, does what Parallels used to do before they gimped it unless you pay them a yearly ransom, no complaints.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#5 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3230 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 27 October 2016 - 09:38 AM

Frost how much resources did you give the VM?
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 6600K @ 4.6 GHz || AMD RX480 8 GB || 8 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 850 Evo M.2 Sata, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Accessories: LG 21:9 2560x1080 monitor  || PS4 slim ||  QNAP TS-228 NAS (2x 6 TB Seagte IronWolf) || Phone 6S 64GB

#6 MichalM.Mac

MichalM.Mac

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Steam Name:michalmmac
  • Steam ID:michalmmac

Posted 28 October 2016 - 05:20 AM

VMware Fusion 8.5 Pro for MacOS, Linux and single Win8 vms.

#7 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6003 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 October 2016 - 04:09 PM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 27 October 2016 - 09:38 AM, said:

Frost how much resources did you give the VM?

4 cores, 8192 MB of RAM. Runs pretty much full speed, and I have it set up to swap to Windows with a three finger swipe left, and back to the right to Mac OS. I have it running off my Bootcamp partition.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#8 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 October 2016 - 04:38 PM

I haven't had any issues but I always see performance issues posted on the vmware forums ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ . My work driver is a 2012 mini (i7) 16GB Ram, 1TB Fusion drive.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#9 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6003 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 October 2016 - 05:00 PM

View Postmacdude22, on 28 October 2016 - 04:38 PM, said:

I haven't had any issues but I always see performance issues posted on the vmware forums ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Such as IPB having formatting errors.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#10 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1964 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 October 2016 - 09:37 PM

View PostFrost, on 28 October 2016 - 05:00 PM, said:

Such as IPB having formatting errors.

Rurlly mutilated that ascii shrug there.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#11 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17233 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 October 2016 - 09:34 AM

View Postmacdude22, on 28 October 2016 - 09:37 PM, said:

Rurlly mutilated that ascii shrug there.

No.  No.  It's actually quite accurately depicted your nerdy tech brain.  If you bashed my head open candy corn would pour out.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#12 mindnoise

mindnoise

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Steam ID:Exploding-Bob
  • Location:Delusive-Ville

Posted 30 October 2016 - 06:23 AM

Long term Parallels user here. Basically I am satified, for what I use I had barely problems,
only some light software and old XP- Games.

But since Parallels switched to try to shove yearly subscription down your throat, I think V11 will be my last business with them.
Though they have been nice and released a Sierra compatible update for 11 (12 is current), I'll give them that.
hey, don´t worry - it´s only red pixels on your hands...

8 - iPhone SE, 16GB
7- iPad Pro 12.9", WiFi 128GB
6- MacMini 7,1: i5@2.6GHZ, 8GB, Intel Iris (5100)
5- iPad Air, 16Gb
4- MacBook Pro 8,1:  i5@2.3GHz, intel HD3000, 8GB RAM
3- iPad 2, 16GB
2- iPod Touch 4G, 8GB
1- MacBook 1,1, 1,83GHz, intel GMA950, 2GB RAM
-> The (nearly) ultimate intel HD 3000 gaming performance sheet <-

#13 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1329 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 01 November 2016 - 09:05 PM

My experience is a little out of date but I've run both Parallels and VMware and preferred VMware overall, particularly in light of Parallels business practices which was what prompted my trial of VMware. Ultimately though I just gave up on the expense and I run Windows 10 on my iMac most of the time now.

For any kind of low demand gaming and other uses I'd recommend VMware personally. I found it to work really well and it was every bit as fast if not faster than Parallels.

In the Windows world I plan to try out VirtualBox just to run a Linux VM in Windows 10 which should be fine as there's no need for any gaming support in that situation and the price is certainly right. I just haven't had any time to monkey around with that yet.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell

#14 Camper-Hunter

Camper-Hunter

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Steam Name:Rorqual
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted 02 November 2016 - 02:51 PM

View PostDirtyHarry50, on 01 November 2016 - 09:05 PM, said:

In the Windows world I plan to try out VirtualBox just to run a Linux VM in Windows 10 which should be fine as there's no need for any gaming support in that situation and the price is certainly right.

VMware Workstation Player (on Windows) is free for home use, too. And you can actually create VMs, it's not merely a player. Though it has less features than the paid versions, obviously (things like snapshots, for instance).

#15 DirtyHarry50

DirtyHarry50

    Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1329 posts
  • Steam Name:DirtyHarry
  • Steam ID:dirtyharry2
  • Location:North Carolina, USA

Posted 02 November 2016 - 09:15 PM

View PostCamper-Hunter, on 02 November 2016 - 02:51 PM, said:

VMware Workstation Player (on Windows) is free for home use, too. And you can actually create VMs, it's not merely a player. Though it has less features than the paid versions, obviously (things like snapshots, for instance).

That's great. Thanks very much for pointing that out. I'll try that first then.
“The time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.” — Bertrand Russell





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: vmware, fusion, parallels, veertu, virtualbox