Jump to content


Intel HD 3000 (Mac Mini 2011)


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 14 December 2019 - 08:24 AM

Compatibilitylist tested on 10.12.6:

Bad:
Halo CE (Shaders and Shadows wrong)
MaxPayne3 (does not start, hangs in initializing)
Batman Arkym Asylum (does not start, but is supported with 8GB Ram. Does not work on 10.7.5 either, 320m works with 8GB on 2010 macmini)

Good:
HL2 Series (some shaders do not look as good as on 320m)
COD4 works good, but stutters more than with 320m. Has no shadow option, 320m has shadow option)


Perfect:
COD2 in High-Details has no stutterung, no Lags, just perfect. (some effects are missing, but I think these cause the Langs and low-framerates on all other machines with high-details on)

to be continued...

Anyone still using HD3000 and has some informations too?
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#2 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 06 June 2020 - 06:22 AM

I'll give a HD4000 a try...we will see what this thing is capable of.
Any games known that make use of metal and support HD4000?
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#3 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3505 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 09 June 2020 - 08:23 PM

Starcraft 2 should work I think.
16" MBP: i9 9880H @ 2.3 GHz || Radeon 5500M 8GB || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB SSD
Desktop: 5600X || RTX 3070 || 32 GB DDR4 || 1TB 970 EvoPlus + 1TB Seagate FireCuda
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Series X || PS5 || iPhone 12

#4 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 10 June 2020 - 11:25 PM

Thx, the problem with starcraft is, that the dvd version requires additional downloads and these do not work with my setup.
lot of gigabytes are downloaded and I get an ugly game that is not working. there is no downloadable state for the single
player campain that is working either on 10.7./10.8./10.9 ....you can get it to run on 10.13. but then ist SLOWWW and UGLY.

Halo can be fixed to run on HD3000 without shader-/lightning/and vsync/slowdown glitches.
There is HaloMD that is working on my setup (10.9.5) and the Maps of the 2.0.4 patched US-
Version works (map have to be installed in "application-support/halo...."
I did not get the savestates working, but the rest seems to be OK.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#5 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 10 June 2020 - 11:41 PM

After setting the HD3000 to 1024MB Vram and using 10.9.5 Batman Arkym Asylum does work as expected.
Before it had a glicht that you always have to delete the files in application support in order to get a second start.
That seems to be gone, don't know if it's the VRAM or 10.9.5.

10.7.5 has a driver-bug with the HD3000
10.8.5 has no driver bug
10.9.5 is a lot faster

So I recommend 10.9.5 for the use of the macmini 2011!

Beside that I also recommend buying I7 cpu's if you want to play with the integrated graphics.
If you plan to use egpu's then you are good to go with I3 or I5.

The integrated gpu uses processor-caches before using the slower RAM, so you be better with a big cache.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#6 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 14 June 2020 - 02:53 AM

View Postdr.zeissler, on 06 June 2020 - 06:22 AM, said:

I'll give a HD4000 a try...we will see what this thing is capable of.
Any games known that make use of metal and support HD4000?

HD-3000 I7/2GHZ VS. HD-4000 I5/2,5 GHZ

Soma games like TR Underworld do not make use 4cores and therefore are faster on HD-4000 Dualcore,
but you will likely run into problems with cod2. COD2 is still best on HD-3000.
Metro2033 will run HD4000 but not on HD3000.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#7 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 08 April 2021 - 01:18 PM

Back at that topic. Getting everything out of the HD3000. That was in my opinion the first real good budget-gaming solution from intel. I will perhaps make a video of it.

Real stunner is how good RAGE works on it... HaloMD has all the shaders. A bit annoying is to start the levels via console command "map_name a10..." but ALL!!! shaders work and the v-sync is fixed too. Gameplay is superbe.

Unreal Tournament works with the old unreal-patch. Music works, another great game with 60fps locked on MacMini 2011 I7 HD3000. Btw. how do I manage to get UNREAL RUNE DEUSEX running with that old-unreal patch? I have not figured it out yet :(

Now I am installing all my Feral-DVD Originals. So dear Feral: Keep the activation-servers up and running :)
The automatic upgrade-servers do not work anymore. They tell me that a new version is available, but I can't read the ugradenotes (no text) neither can I update. What is wrong here?

I will stay on 10.9.5 because the HD3000 will not benefit from later releases. I read about some people that have problems with HD3000 on 10.10+. Also the (gui?) acceleration on HD3000 is CoreImage up to 10.9.5 from 10.10 they changed something (I read on forums).

That MAS games that require 10.10 like some adventure remasters (fullthrottle) will perhaps require ogl 4.x and will not work on HD3000 which is OLG 3.3 only. Therefore no metal support on HD3000, but who cares. OGL is the way to go for a classic gamer like me :)
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#8 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 17 April 2021 - 06:06 AM

I made a big mistake. I ordered Tombraider 2013 DVD release, because I thought that this is a typical feral dvd-version. Play with DVD or use they key to play without..BUT it requires STEAM! on installation ? My MacMini is 10.9.5 so no steam available :(

That was not expected!

Is there any cracked version to get this installed without steam but with my key?
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011