Jump to content


Boot Camp 2.1 Released


  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#21 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3356 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 13 May 2008 - 06:43 PM

could someone please give a link to the exact drivers that i need. I feel like an idiot asking but I don't want to screw up all the graphcs in XP.


thanks
-Snake

#22 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 13 May 2008 - 09:24 PM

Try the 174.93 drivers for starters.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#23 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 14 May 2008 - 10:41 AM

Just to get back on topic for a second, has anyone found a way to get the 2.02 update from Apple so that 2.1 can be applied, or is teflon's torrent hint the only option?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#24 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3356 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 20 May 2008 - 05:04 PM

View PostQuicksilver, on May 13th 2008, 11:24 PM, said:

Try the 174.93 drivers for starters.

I can't seem to find them. I clicked on download drivers at the top of the page but the highest the drivers go to is 169.x



-Snake
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS High Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 8400 || Vega 56 || 16 GB DDR4 || 960 Evo NVMe || Win10 Pro
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Xbox One X || PS4 Pro || iPhone X

#25 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 May 2008 - 07:09 PM

Always hit the forum.  That thing on the front page never seems to get updated.  Start with the 175.70s--they're confirmed good.

http://www.laptopvid...showtopic=18611
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#26 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 20 May 2008 - 08:45 PM

View PostQuicksilver, on May 20th 2008, 06:09 PM, said:

Always hit the forum.  That thing on the front page never seems to get updated.  Start with the 175.70s--they're confirmed good.

http://www.laptopvid...showtopic=18611


Hey Quicksilver, do you bother updating if your current drivers are working ok? I used the 174 drivers when I first put in my card, but I see now they're up to 175 series. Is there any advantage in grabbing the newer drivers?
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#27 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 20 May 2008 - 10:25 PM

View Postjgwdoc, on May 20th 2008, 09:45 PM, said:

Hey Quicksilver, do you bother updating if your current drivers are working ok? I used the 174 drivers when I first put in my card, but I see now they're up to 175 series. Is there any advantage in grabbing the newer drivers?

I'll install them in a minute and report back.  

The list of updates on the 175-series drivers is pretty massive, but none of them are really that interesting.  Essentially, nVidia added support for the newer cards (9x00 series), nVidia Geforce 3D Stereo Technology, a bunch of Pure Video HD features, a ton of CRT and TV-specific options in the control panel, and support for Hybrid SLI (found in the nForce 7x0a-series motherboards).
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#28 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 02 June 2008 - 04:18 PM

View Postjgwdoc, on May 14th 2008, 09:41 AM, said:

Just to get back on topic for a second, has anyone found a way to get the 2.02 update from Apple so that 2.1 can be applied, or is teflon's torrent hint the only option?


For those still trying to do this and having problems, I eventually caved and followed Teflon's suggestion. Once 2.02 is installed, Apple Software update will find 2.1, which then installed without difficulty. This added all kinds of useful things: bluetooth functionality, much improved keyboard functionality, the ability to use the Boot Camp Control panel within Windows to choose the boot drive, etc. So, worth the hassle. The only weird thing is that now I have icons for both BootCamp 2.0 and 2.1 in my (?)taskbar (the launch bar at the bottom right).
(EDIT: I'm referring to Vista-64)
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#29 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 02 June 2008 - 04:59 PM

hmmm. that is rather weird. with a bit of digging into the system's structure you should be able to delete the older one, but Im not entirely sure how.
can you check that there arent two distinct processes running?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#30 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 02 June 2008 - 08:08 PM

View Postteflon, on June 2nd 2008, 03:59 PM, said:

hmmm. that is rather weird. with a bit of digging into the system's structure you should be able to delete the older one, but Im not entirely sure how.
can you check that there arent two distinct processes running?


How would I check that, Teflon?  If I opened Task Manager, I don't think either would be running under normal Vista use unless I launched them. I can launch 2 separate Boot Camp Control Panels from the 2 different icons. Where would I look to delete one of them? My Windows ignorance is profound. I think I have an x86 Boot Camp folder and a Vista 64 folder somewhere under "Files," but I don't know how to sort BootCamp 2.0 from 2.1 given the mass of stuff in those folders. And searching in that little Windows dialogue box is almost useless. I'd appreciate any tips, as I certainly would like to get rid of the old stuff.

(EDIT: Others also seem to have had this issue: Apple Discussions
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#31 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 03 June 2008 - 01:28 AM

im not massively familiar with Window's file structure, but I can dig my way around if its me doing it, playing Scooby Doo.

do you have two instances of Boot Camp in the Control Panel area?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#32 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 03 June 2008 - 08:13 AM

View Postteflon, on June 3rd 2008, 12:28 AM, said:

im not massively familiar with Window's file structure, but I can dig my way around if its me doing it, playing Scooby Doo.

do you have two instances of Boot Camp in the Control Panel area?

The Control Panel has multiple (like 15) Windows Driver packages from Apple, all installed 6/2/08 (though many seem to be duplicate drivers with different update numbers), as well as two Boot Camp Services packages (one created 6/2/08 is 253MB, the other created 1/08 is 6.98MB). I guess the smaller Boot Camp Services package is the one to be deleted? I can't tell if they're internally different 'cause you can't get Properties, only Repair or Uninstall.
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#33 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 04 June 2008 - 03:54 AM

the good thing with windows is that you can always revert if it breaks things. The bad thing with windows is that its windows.

so just do it and see what happens?
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#34 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 04 June 2008 - 09:03 AM

View Postteflon, on June 4th 2008, 02:54 AM, said:

the good thing with windows is that you can always revert if it breaks things. The bad thing with windows is that its windows.

so just do it and see what happens?


Yeah, I'll try that as soon as I finish my current game (don't like to mess with too many things when I've got an old Windows game running fine).
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#35 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3356 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 01 July 2008 - 11:16 AM

ok, so I downloaded the 175.16 drivers (not the forceware, the official ones). Before I installed them I downloaded driver cleaner pro and erased all of the nvidia drivers in XP (so the bootcamp ones). Performance didn't really jump at all. In Crysis with the bootcamp 2.1 drviers i got an average of 19 fps with 1920x1200 and all settings on high. With the 175.16 drivers i got still an avg of 19 but it may have moved up a tiny bit cuz I noticed that its goes up to 20 fps more often.

Bootcamp avg: 19
175.16 avg: 19.5-20

If there's anything you think I should do different let me know



-Snake
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS High Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 8400 || Vega 56 || 16 GB DDR4 || 960 Evo NVMe || Win10 Pro
Other: 30TB Plex Server || Xbox One X || PS4 Pro || iPhone X

#36 jgwdoc

jgwdoc

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1004 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 01 July 2008 - 02:38 PM

Hey Sneaky Snake, with particular reference to Crysis, there are a couple of patches out there which dramatically increase frame rates. If you haven't done it yet, you can get them on the Crysis forums. They made a huge difference for me.
Travel: MacbookPro 2.9GHz Quadcore i7/16GB RAM/1TB SSD/Radeon Pro560 with 4GB VRAM/High Sierra/Windows 10
Home: iMac 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo-boost to 3.9GHz/16GB RAM/High Sierra/Windows10/GeForce GTX 780M 4GB

#37 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 05 July 2008 - 01:00 AM

Jgwdoc, do you still need to modify the .ini for the Windows NVidia GeForce 8800GT drivers? If so, what do you need to do? I'm still kinda deciding between the Radeon HD 3870, and the 8800GT, but I'm leaning towards the 8800GT(with a student discount, it isn't much more than the HD3870, and since the HD3870 is through ATI, not Apple, there probably won't be a student discount on it).
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#38 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 06 July 2008 - 02:51 PM

Order placed!
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#39 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 July 2008 - 04:25 PM

the sad thing is that as soon as Apples get up to speed with the 3870 and 8800GT, theres suddenly loads more way better cards on the scene. The 4850, for example, completely schools the 8800GT, and thats nothing to say of the 4870, which almost matches up to the new top of the line NV, yet comes in much cheaper causing NV to drop their prices like bombs in the sea on the way back to the airstrip..

oh, and that 4850 is half the price of Apple's 8800GT...

ridiculous.
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#40 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 06 July 2008 - 04:47 PM

Yeah, I saw that, but whatever. If you want a card that works in OS X and Windows, you don't have much of a choice. I wouldn't even consider trading the ability to run OS X for more graphics card options, and I don't want to mess with hackintoshes.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive