#1 The Animaster

The Animaster

Fanatic

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Steam ID:theanimaster

Posted 26 May 2008 - 07:22 AM

I've always wondered why the manual transmission (MT) people like to poke fun at automatic transmission (AT) guys. Well -- they have good reason to.

When starting off in Colin McRae rally mac I was always sticking to AT -- first with the keyboard, then with the rumblepads and then even when I eventually bought the Logitech G25 system a few days after the rumblepads (CMR is THAT great). It just seemed that AT was the best choice as I didn't need to worry or "waste time" with shifting.

Ok, so I was a noob.

Just recently (last week) I've switched to MT to see what it was like. I just wanted to try something new as I've already pretty much gotten used to steering on the G25. Echoing what I've mentioned in another thread here: "Boy was I surprised". I started beating my recently set records by (more or less than) 30 seconds! Soon it just made sense to keep to manual transmission and re-adjust my steering skills to cater for 1-handed steering (while shifting).

So I was just wondering... how many people were or are like me... stuck to AT or not? What is your experience with AT/MT?

If you're still doing AT, you should really consider the acceleration advantage of MT when cornering.
Early 2011 Macbook Pro 15"@1680x1050 matte option 1GB Radeon 6750M 16GB RAM

#2 Janichsan

Janichsan

Jugger Bugger

• Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8085 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan

Posted 26 May 2008 - 07:49 AM

I usually play with automatic transmission. I'm aware that with manual transmission, you can usual get much better times. But I'm playing a gamepad and I never found manual shifting with a gamepad comfortable or natural. It would probably be different with a real steering wheel, but I don't play enough racing games that it would be worthwhile to buy one.

"We do what we must, because we can."