Jump to content


CoD2 specs announced!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 April 2006 - 08:57 AM

posted in the IMG news today:

* Mac OS X 10.3.9
* 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5/Intel chipset
* 512 MB RAM
* 4.0 GB free disk space
* NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 or ATI Radeon 9600 or higher
* 64 MB VRam

so that supposedly excludes the G4 PBs. which I personally think is a bit silly. the 9700 in them is a much better card than the 5200 in the G5s, and so should be able to push more pixels and keep the game moving.

So really the only reason I can think of for ditching the G4 PBs is that the G4 isnt able to keep up as well as aspyr wouldve wanted. Ill find it interesting to see people getting CoD2 to run on G4s with high end cards and dual processors...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#2 Lemon Lime

Lemon Lime

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2227 posts
  • Location:California

Posted 21 April 2006 - 09:03 AM

Recommended System Requirements:

Call of Duty 2 runs best on a Power Mac G5 or Intel 2.0 GHz or faster
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.4.5 or later
CPU Processor: PowerPC G5 or Intel chipset
CPU Speed: 2.0 GHz or faster
Video RAM: 128 MB

#3 coreyjd

coreyjd

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:The backwoods of Maine

Posted 21 April 2006 - 10:42 AM

That's pretty far outside my PB G4 processor's specs.  Those shiny new intel towers are looking more and more tempting...
Powerbook G4 1.5 ghz, 1.25 GB RAM, 100 GB HD, Radeon 9700-128MB, Mac OS 10.4.10

#4 teflon

teflon

    Bastard of the Popeye Analogy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9589 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 April 2006 - 10:57 AM

if and when a demo is released itd still be worthwhile giving it a go. then again the only spec that youre down on is your processor, everything else is in the recommended range, youve got over 1Gb RAM, 128Mb on your graphics card, which in itself is no slouch and might pull you up to playability.

I think it all comes down to wether the G4 can keep up with the action...
Polytetrafluoroethylene to my friends.

Macbook Pro - C2D 2.4Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Geforce 8600M GT 256Mb / 15.4"
Cube - G4 1.7Ghz 7448 / 1.5GB RAM / Samsung Spinpoint 250GB / Geforce 6200 256Mb
Self-built PC - C2Q Q8300 2.5Ghz / 4GB RAM / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / Radeon 7850 OC 1GB / W7 x64
and a beautiful HP LP2475w 24" H-IPS monitor

#5 Batcat

Batcat

    Uberspewer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2907 posts
  • Location:In Flux

Posted 21 April 2006 - 03:50 PM

View Postteflon, on April 21st 2006, 11:57 AM, said:

I think it all comes down to wether the G4 can keep up with the action...
Oh, look, you can see bullets! Headed my way, I think. Closer... Clo-ser...

Think... I... should... du...u...u...ck

...

*S. p. l. a. t.*


:)

#6 easy4lif

easy4lif

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts

Posted 22 April 2006 - 02:47 PM

does this mean its close to being released.  I remember reading the Aspyr releases the Specs 6 weeks before shipments begin.  Either way, My iMac G5 is ready  2ghz,  2gb ram,  300gb Hard Drive and an ATI 9600 overclocked by 20% in GPU & Memory

#7 iPod_man

iPod_man

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts

Posted 22 April 2006 - 05:01 PM

my G4 DP800 with a 9800PRO is just coping with quake 4! :'( i want COD2! :(

#8 WhiteSavage

WhiteSavage

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Location:I'll figure that out later :\

Posted 02 May 2006 - 05:37 PM

Argh I just BOUGHT a new Mac :\

Now I have to buy another for CoD2

#9 tutdiesel

tutdiesel

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts

Posted 02 May 2006 - 06:22 PM

View PostWhiteSavage, on May 2nd 2006, 06:37 PM, said:

Argh I just BOUGHT a new Mac :\

Now I have to buy another for CoD2

bummer!  i think mine will barely handle this.....

#10 WhiteSavage

WhiteSavage

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Location:I'll figure that out later :\

Posted 06 May 2006 - 02:20 AM

People buy it and try it on their G4 PB's and tell me it works!!!

#11 benj

benj

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 06 May 2006 - 11:51 AM

View PostWhiteSavage, on May 6th 2006, 04:20 AM, said:

People buy it and try it on their G4 PB's and tell me it works!!!

If it even starts on a G4, the framerate would be horrendous, probably almost non-playable. I'm guessing since even 1.6 G5's don't meet the system speed requirements, that any G4, much less a powerbook, can handle it. My 1.8 just barely made it, but Quake 4 runs beautifully so I'm very optimistic about COD2.
Dual 1.8 G5 768 MB RAM Radeon 9800  OS:10.4
"holy crap is this really the blood of christ? that guy must've been wasted 24/7!" -Peter Griffin
"They that can give up essential liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."- Benjamin Franklin

#12 Mango

Mango

    Heroic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 12 May 2006 - 03:51 AM

View PostLemon Lime, on April 21st 2006, 08:03 AM, said:

Recommended System Requirements:

Call of Duty 2 runs best on a Power Mac G5 or Intel 2.0 GHz or faster
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.4.5 or later
CPU Processor: PowerPC G5 or Intel chipset
CPU Speed: 2.0 GHz or faster
Video RAM: 128 MB


Wait. I don't get why the Intel 1.8 Ghz chipset isn't under "Recommended." Isn't the Intel 1.8 Ghz waaay faster than a 2.0 Ghz G5?

#13 Tesseract

Tesseract

    Unmanageable Megaweight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3513 posts
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 12 May 2006 - 09:37 AM

View PostMango, on May 12th 2006, 07:51 PM, said:

Wait. I don't get why the Intel 1.8 Ghz chipset isn't under "Recommended." Isn't the Intel 1.8 Ghz waaay faster than a 2.0 Ghz G5?
Because they sacrificed some precision to avoid tortuous sentence structure. A 2 GHz G5 is in the "recommended" range.