Jump to content


Cloning to SSD from Spinning Rust


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3240 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 28 March 2017 - 09:15 AM

Friend of mine wants to upgrade his 5 year old MBP to a 500 GB SSD from the spinning rust disk it currently has. Would you guys recommend using cloning software, or should I just install the SSD, install macOS, and then use Migration Assistant?
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 6600K @ 4.6 GHz || AMD RX480 8 GB || 8 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 850 Evo M.2 Sata, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Accessories: LG 21:9 2560x1080 monitor  || PS4 slim ||  QNAP TS-228 NAS (2x 6 TB Seagte IronWolf) || Phone 6S 64GB

#2 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8002 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 28 March 2017 - 09:29 AM

View PostSneaky Snake, on 28 March 2017 - 09:15 AM, said:

Friend of mine wants to upgrade his 5 year old MBP to a 500 GB SSD from the spinning rust disk it currently has. Would you guys recommend using cloning software, or should I just install the SSD, install macOS, and then use Migration Assistant?
I would do the latter, since this usually gets rid of some usually hidden cruft. If he really wants to clone the drive, it's still easily possible with the standard Disk Utility.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#3 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1981 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 28 March 2017 - 09:43 AM

superduper is super easy for str8 clones. If its going in the same machine I'd just slave it to a USB dongle and str8 clone it.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#4 Cougar

Cougar

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1294 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 29 March 2017 - 12:38 AM

When I did this I stuck the SSD in an enclosure, cloned it, swapped it with the internal hard drive, and used that drive as a time machine backup. Worked fine.

#5 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6017 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 March 2017 - 01:25 AM

I've been using Carbon Copy Cloner for years, works great. Lots of good secondhand reports on SuperDuper too, although I have very little experience with it since I've got a tech license for CCC.
Cypher (PowerMac G5 Quad) – 2x2.5 GHz PPC 970MP / 16GB ECC RAM / 1TB WDC Velociraptor, 2TB STX Constellation ES.2 / QuadroFX 4500 512MB
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 4.0 GHz i7 4790K / 16GB RAM / 512GB Samsung 950 Pro M.2, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 2TB Samsung 850 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB
Antimony (PowerBook G4 Titanium) – 1.0 GHz PPC 7455 / 1GB RAM / 512GB Crucial M550 / Radeon 9000 64MB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#6 macdude22

macdude22

    Like, totally awesome.

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1981 posts
  • Steam Name:Rakden
  • Location:Iowa
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 March 2017 - 06:43 AM

View PostFrost, on 29 March 2017 - 01:25 AM, said:

I've been using Carbon Copy Cloner for years, works great. Lots of good secondhand reports on SuperDuper too, although I have very little experience with it since I've got a tech license for CCC.

I have both, CCC is WAY better for scheduled sorts of things. But for a one off clone, the free version of super duper will work great.
IMG Discord Server | http://raptr.com/rakden | http://www.trueachie....com/Rakden.htm
Enterprise (MacPro 3,1): 8 Xeon Cores @ 2.8 GHz || 14 GB RAM || Radeon 4870 || 480GB Crucial M500 + 2TB WD Black (Fusion Drive) || 144hz Asus Mon
Defiant (MacBookPro 9,1): Core i7 @ 2.3ghz || 8GB RAM || nVidia GT 650M 512MB || 512GB Toshiba SSD

#7 the Battle Cat

the Battle Cat

    Carnage Served Raw

  • Admin
  • 17246 posts
  • Location:Citadel City, Lh'owon
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 29 March 2017 - 10:14 AM

For some reason CCC does not work on my Mac Pro, but Super Duper.  My wife's lap top works just the opposite, so we have both.  When I upgraded to SSD I cloned it with Super Duper and kept the rust for backup.
Gary Simmons
the Battle Cat

#8 Sneaky Snake

Sneaky Snake

    Official Mascot of the 1988 Winter Olympics

  • IMG Writers
  • 3240 posts
  • Steam Name:SneakySnake
  • Steam ID:sneaky_snake
  • Location:Waterloo, Canada

Posted 10 April 2017 - 08:45 AM

Update:

Tried using SuperDuper. The clone task reported success, but upon booting off of the SSD, the clone appeared to be corrupted. I couldn't open any apps for example - they all just had 'unexpected errors'.

So I ended up doing a time machine backup of the machine, and then installing OS X fresh on the SSD, and then restoring the Time Machine backup and that ended up working fine.
2015 13" rMBP: i5 5257U @ 2.7 GHz || Intel Iris 6100 || 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 || 256 GB SSD || macOS Sierra
Gaming Build: i5 6600K @ 4.6 GHz || AMD RX480 8 GB || 8 GB DDR4 3000 || 960 Evo NVMe, 850 Evo M.2 Sata, 1 TB FireCuda || Win10 Pro
Accessories: LG 21:9 2560x1080 monitor  || PS4 slim ||  QNAP TS-228 NAS (2x 6 TB Seagte IronWolf) || Phone 6S 64GB