Jump to content


RAGE for Mac is here


  • Please log in to reply
147 replies to this topic

#121 Irishman

Irishman

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 17 November 2015 - 08:20 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 17 November 2015 - 08:17 AM, said:

Well, they worked alright in ET Quake Wars. I think the problems are mainly with the new texture streaming they introduced.

That makes me wonder: the new Wolfenstein games also use idTech 5. Do they still have these texture pop-in problems?

From what I've heard yes, they do still occur, but they're not as prominent. That could have something to do with developers not using such huge textures like id did in Rage, so that the switching from low-res to high-res was less jarring. (This is just me speculating).
COMING SOONFinding the Ark of the Covenant by Brian Roberts, in the iBook Store on iTunes, a new investigation into the Hebrew’s Most Sacred Relic!

#122 Caesar

Caesar

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 21 January 2017 - 04:43 AM

Is Aspyr's download manager app (Rage-DLM.app) working for you guys anymore?

#123 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts

Posted 21 January 2017 - 05:02 AM

Did you buy Rage on GameAgent? If yes then:

What about games that I already bought on Gameagent.com?
For purchases made before 5/24/16, please go to Findmyorder.com and enter the required information.  You can access your order history there.
For purchases made after 5/24/16, open a support ticket with us and we’ll be happy to help you out.

#124 Caesar

Caesar

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 21 January 2017 - 06:49 AM

I really don't remember where I bought it (it's form 2012-2013...!).
I opened a ticket with Aspyr... let's see.

I'v e actually downloaded only 4GB in more than 10 days of "pause and restart" downloading....

#125 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1543 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 17 January 2019 - 01:43 AM

Crap. Tried running on my new computer, the license code from MGS keeps coming up INVALID! :angry:

EDIT: Damn this is bull crap! I'm going to have to hunt down whatever files are associated with this game on my old comp.
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

#126 Cougar

Cougar

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1640 posts
  • Steam Name:FuzzyPuffin

Posted 17 January 2019 - 03:08 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 17 January 2019 - 01:43 AM, said:

Crap. Tried running on my new computer, the license code from MGS keeps coming up INVALID! :angry:

EDIT: Damn this is bull crap! I'm going to have to hunt down whatever files are associated with this game on my old comp.

Just contact Aspyr. They’ve been great about giving me MAS versions of games when giving them cd key photos.

#127 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1543 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 17 January 2019 - 01:38 PM

Really? Thanks.
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

#128 Rodanne

Rodanne

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Gianyar

Posted 19 January 2019 - 07:10 PM

Hi, everyone, just joined this forum.  UmarOMC1, I played the Mac App Store version of this game nearly 2 years ago on a 2012 MBP with standard configuration so I seriously doubt anyone will have any trouble with a current device but maybe your case is different.  I can say despite it's huge size and almost equally huge price it was well worth the effort.
macOS Beta Tester, current primary device; late 2015 13" MBP retina 500Gb. 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5, 8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3, 8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

#129 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6195 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 19 January 2019 - 07:21 PM

View PostRodanne, on 19 January 2019 - 07:10 PM, said:

Hi, everyone, just joined this forum.  UmarOMC1, I played the Mac App Store version of this game nearly 2 years ago on a 2012 MBP with standard configuration so I seriously doubt anyone will have any trouble with a current device but maybe your case is different.  I can say despite it's huge size and almost equally huge price it was well worth the effort.

Welcome in! Just approved you for posting. :)
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.6 GHz i7 9900K / 32GB RAM / 2x2TB Intel 7600p (RAID0), 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 10TB STX BarraCuda Pro / TITAN V 12GB
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro / GeForce GT 650M 1GB

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#130 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1543 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 21 January 2019 - 05:57 AM

Aspyr haven't gotten back to me. I think I'm going to have to try a direct channel/email rather than their Zendesk setup.
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

#131 Mr Pink

Mr Pink

    Legendary

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 06:11 AM

It's been a pain to get in contact with them lately.
Some of my request are unanswered for months now.

But they did also offer to give me codes for my physical releases, though they only offered Steam codes, and Steam is not for me.

#132 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8440 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 21 January 2019 - 07:03 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 21 January 2019 - 05:57 AM, said:

Aspyr haven't gotten back to me. I think I'm going to have to try a direct channel/email rather than their Zendesk setup.
Oh, doesn't the support [at] aspyr.com address no longer exist? :huh:

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#133 ipickert55

ipickert55

    Honorary Special Snowflake

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts
  • Steam Name:ipickert55
  • Steam ID:ipickert55
  • Location:Monterey, California

Posted 21 January 2019 - 11:05 AM

View PostJanichsan, on 21 January 2019 - 07:03 AM, said:

Oh, doesn't the support [at] aspyr.com address no longer exist? :huh:

Nope I just used it a few days ago for Civ IV. They said in an email that they're having a pretty high ticket volume, probably cause of Mojave which is incidentally the reason I reached out to them so ha.
Maybe it really is all cocks in the end.

#134 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1543 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 22 January 2019 - 10:04 PM

Interesting. Their excuse for me was "the holidays." They asked that I respond to the email should I the issue not be resolved…what, resolve itself, magically? Maybe it's their way to cull a lot of requests; "If you don't respond, we're closing your ticket…"
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

#135 jos

jos

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

Posted 24 January 2019 - 12:25 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 22 January 2019 - 10:04 PM, said:

Interesting. Their excuse for me was "the holidays." They asked that I respond to the email should I the issue not be resolved…what, resolve itself, magically? Maybe it's their way to cull a lot of requests; "If you don't respond, we're closing your ticket…"

Maybe it's just an automated reply, so if you don't respond the ticket will be closed automatically without them ever reading your question to them. If you do respond they know you've been unable to resolve the issue yourself and they'll have to actually read it and respond to you.

#136 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1543 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 07 February 2019 - 11:58 PM

Update: I was responded to a little over a week ago with an apology and a free MAS version. Anti-aliasing still seems to kill textures and turning it off returns the game to its grandeur, but, it runs so fast it's hard to control! I'm glad Aspyr could help me out although I do wonder how MGS are still selling if the authentication server no longer works.
macOS 10.14.x/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

#137 Frigidman™

Frigidman™

    Eye Sea Yew

  • Admin
  • 4335 posts
  • Steam ID:frigidman
  • Location:East mahn, East!
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 10 February 2019 - 08:21 AM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 07 February 2019 - 11:58 PM, said:

Update: I was responded to a little over a week ago with an apology and a free MAS version. Anti-aliasing still seems to kill textures and turning it off returns the game to its grandeur, but, it runs so fast it's hard to control! I'm glad Aspyr could help me out although I do wonder how MGS are still selling if the authentication server no longer works.
Good question.

Aspyr has not informed us of any change to what keys we should be supplying...... so from our standpoint we believe things should be 'ok'. If this is not the case... hmmmm.

-Fm [1oM7]
"I'm not incorruptible, I am so corrupt nothing you can offer me is tempting." - Alfred Bester


#138 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 15 September 2019 - 12:23 AM

I have two DVD's of RAGE and both can be installed (so DVD's are OK), but I can't play the game
because my Original-Serial Numbers are not valid. I think I ran into some online activation problem?

What can I do?
 iMac 2.93C2D ATI-4850 4GB 640GB BT AP SD
 MacbookPro 2.4C2D 9600GT 4GB 250GB BT AP SD
 iPod Video 30GB - Airport Extreme - Synology 406 1.6TB@Raid5

#139 Thain Esh Kelch

Thain Esh Kelch

    Admin

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4131 posts
  • Steam ID:thaineshkelch
  • Location:Denmark

Posted 15 September 2019 - 01:21 AM

View Postdr.zeissler, on 15 September 2019 - 12:23 AM, said:

I have two DVD's of RAGE and both can be installed (so DVD's are OK), but I can't play the game
because my Original-Serial Numbers are not valid. I think I ran into some online activation problem?

What can I do?
Spend 2 minutes to actually read just the last page in this thread?
"They're everywhere!" -And now, time for some Legend of Zelda.

iMac 2011, quad 3,4Ghz i7, 1TB Samsung EVO 840, 8GB RAM, 2GB Radeon 6970m. + 2016 Macbook m3 + iPad 2 64GB + iPhone 4S 64GB + Girlfriend + Daughter

#140 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Notorious

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 15 September 2019 - 01:33 AM

I have a DVD and will stick to the DVD. I am not interested in MAS, Steam or whatever bullcrap online popsnizzle.

I am a retro gamer, I own hundreds of old computers and I will play older games on older machines.
I am not interested in any online-bullcrap where I can play games as long as a company supports an online-platform.
I bought the right to use that dvd, so go on and make it so!

If not, I am checking for cracks/patches.

What games are also infected by this server-shutdown. I really thought the dvd with the key would be enough to play the game.
 iMac 2.93C2D ATI-4850 4GB 640GB BT AP SD
 MacbookPro 2.4C2D 9600GT 4GB 250GB BT AP SD
 iPod Video 30GB - Airport Extreme - Synology 406 1.6TB@Raid5