Jump to content


X2 factory help


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 benj

benj

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 22 September 2005 - 11:42 AM

I am a bit of a slow starter in X2. I'm just now getting started buying factories etc., largly in part because I hadn't played for a month after I got it 'cause of the bugs. But now that it seems relativly stable I'm trying to build up some money. I just bought a SPP in Kingdoms end as many people have suggested. I'm mainly flying my issued discover and I bought a mercury (I sold the one Elena Kho gave me) to transport crystals to the SPP. How do I start making some real money so I get more stations and better ships? It's going so slow having the mercury sell the energy my factory makes and then buying crystals to take back to my factory to make more energy. Is there a faster way of stocking your factory and selling it's goods?
Dual 1.8 G5 768 MB RAM Radeon 9800  OS:10.4
"holy crap is this really the blood of christ? that guy must've been wasted 24/7!" -Peter Griffin
"They that can give up essential liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."- Benjamin Franklin

#2 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 22 September 2005 - 02:29 PM

benj, on September 22nd 2005, 01:42 PM, said:

I am a bit of a slow starter in X2. I'm just now getting started buying factories etc., largly in part because I hadn't played for a month after I got it 'cause of the bugs. But now that it seems relativly stable I'm trying to build up some money. I just bought a SPP in Kingdoms end as many people have suggested. I'm mainly flying my issued discover and I bought a mercury (I sold the one Elena Kho gave me) to transport crystals to the SPP. How do I start making some real money so I get more stations and better ships? It's going so slow having the mercury sell the energy my factory makes and then buying crystals to take back to my factory to make more energy. Is there a faster way of stocking your factory and selling it's goods?

View Post


Yes. If you can afford it, a Split Scorpion M4 can carry crystals. It can only carry like 40 or so around at a time, but you rarely see more than 36 being sold. Make sure your factory's max crystal buying price is 1684 so it buys from trading stations. The Mercury is fine for buying now, so I recommend you buy a Boron Dolphin to sell the energy cells. You can set the lowest sell price to 20 and still sell out. Boron Dolphins have a great cargo capacity which makes up for their slow speed for selling energy. After having a Boron Dolphin seller for a few hours while you go around in your Disco, you should be able to buy a Split Scorpion for crystal buying.

Capturing is a good way to make money for factories, so if you can in your Discoverer, go after a lone Pirate Bayamon. STAY BEHIND IT AT ALL TIMES, the four guns it can equip WILL rip through your shields in a matter of seconds. If you can capture and equip one with like 2-3 Ion Ds and and a smaller gun, you can capture anything besides capitol ships. just the hulls of Pirate Orinocos sell for 300k a piece, and then any weapons or shields remaining are extra.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#3 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 22 September 2005 - 02:31 PM

benj, on September 22nd 2005, 05:42 PM, said:

I am a bit of a slow starter in X2. I'm just now getting started buying factories etc., largly in part because I hadn't played for a month after I got it 'cause of the bugs. But now that it seems relativly stable I'm trying to build up some money. I just bought a SPP in Kingdoms end as many people have suggested. I'm mainly flying my issued discover and I bought a mercury (I sold the one Elena Kho gave me) to transport crystals to the SPP. How do I start making some real money so I get more stations and better ships? It's going so slow having the mercury sell the energy my factory makes and then buying crystals to take back to my factory to make more energy. Is there a faster way of stocking your factory and selling it's goods?

View Post


A few things:

-Ideally, you should have two TS-class ships assigned to your station--one to buy crystals and one to sell energy cells.  Each one should have the level 1 & 2 trading upgrades so that you can buy and sell resources for low and high prices, respectively.  Technically, you could go with a TP class ship (ie, an Argon Express) instead of the second TS-class ship since you need more speed and not as much cargo capacity to buy crystals.  While your other ships are doing their thing, you can go off and take as many missions as possible to build up profit, or just stop in the middle of your station, engage seta, and leave the computer running for a while.

-When you're building up your station's stock of crystals, you really aren't earning anything.  Even when your station is maxed out on crystals, you still don't earn a lot of money very quickly, which is frustrating if you're trying to save up for that Argon Nova.  Personally, I built up my SPP's supply of crystals to a certain point (you'll have to do the math to see when you can do this) and then assigned both of my TPs to sell energy cells for a little while and had a million credits in no time.  

-Once you get that Nova, get as much shielding and firepower that you can afford, and start knocking off pirate Bayamons and Mandalays.  Try to capture them and sell them for a nice profit (sometimes they'll notify you when they're ejecting, and sometimes they won't).  You can check the message log to see if they abandoned their ship if you're not sure.  If you're looking for 25MW shields to max out your ship (which you'll absolutely need to get halfway through the SP game), let me know when you have about 500,000 free credits and a jumpdrive.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#4 benj

benj

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 22 September 2005 - 04:08 PM

Thanks guys, that helps. Do I need both the 1st and 2nd trading software upgrades? I bought the 2nd version for the mercury thinking that it just included everything from the 1st upgrade.
Dual 1.8 G5 768 MB RAM Radeon 9800  OS:10.4
"holy crap is this really the blood of christ? that guy must've been wasted 24/7!" -Peter Griffin
"They that can give up essential liberty for a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."- Benjamin Franklin

#5 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 22 September 2005 - 05:06 PM

benj, on September 22nd 2005, 06:08 PM, said:

Thanks guys, that helps. Do I need both the 1st and 2nd trading software upgrades? I bought the 2nd version for the mercury thinking that it just included everything from the 1st upgrade.

View Post


Just 1st for buyers. I bet you can get away with just the 2nd trading software upgrade for sellers.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#6 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 23 September 2005 - 09:48 AM

There's a lot of money to be made trading silicon, even without your own mine. Venture into Teladi space and pick up the "Best Buy" and "Best Sell" computers, which let you track advantageous deals. Cruise around and find someone selling silicon cheap (under 300), and you can usually sell it for 600 (or more). Bang for the buck, it's the highest potential profit, I think. Only problem is that silicon is slow to produce, so you'll run out of options quickly.

Also, use the station commands to do an auto-transfer to your account beyond a certain limit. I set mine to 50,000 for SPP's. Once it hits that limit, it dumps any profit into your personal account. 50K seems to be enough to keep an SPP running with 2 ships.

I use the Xai Corp trading software, which does a pretty good job of managing buy/sell autopilot for your freighters.

I've never been able to capture a Bayamon.

IMO, your effort should be focused on:

- Getting 2-3 SPP's independently running. Count on spending ~500k for a station, 2 freighters (with engine tuning and required software), and an initial stock of crystals and cash. Once you have that, you'll start earning steady money.

- Your next goal should be an M3 ship. Skip the M4, unless you happen to capture one. An M3 with 25mw shields, an Ion Distrupter, and a Beta HEPT can pretty much clobber anything. The assassination missions suddenly become viable for you, and they're your best shot at capturing an additional M3. Hello, fleet!

I've just ventured into M6 land (mmm... Osprey...), which is a whole other ball of wax. It can't dock at most stations (other than shipyards and equipment docks), so no autosave, and refueling is a pain.

The depth of this game is outstanding.

#7 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 23 September 2005 - 09:55 AM

Oh, and I like to have 1 independent transport ship (not tied to a station) with a jumpdrive for supplying my M6, but also if I happen across a source of cheap silicon or a pile of crystals.

#8 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 23 September 2005 - 01:10 PM

Dual beta HEPTs are good enough, btw.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#9 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 23 September 2005 - 02:03 PM

schwa, on September 23rd 2005, 11:48 AM, said:

I've just ventured into M6 land (mmm... Osprey...), which is a whole other ball of wax. It can't dock at most stations (other than shipyards and equipment docks), so no autosave, and refueling is a pain.

View Post


The Osprey is a great ship for its size. In my old game before patching and starting over, I was doing assassination missions in one while trying to capture more M6s which are only capturable if they are escorts in the assassination missions you get as Admiral or higher (it might be Ace 3rd grade). I managed to get a Hydra, which is the most useless M6 because of the lack of firepower. The Teladi M5, the Harrier, has a pretty big cargo hold(104 units), so a few trips can keep your M6 stocked up on ecells for jumps. Another place that works is TerraCorp HQ. You can dock your M6 there, and they seem to normally have around 1k energy cells which sell for 16 cr each.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#10 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 23 September 2005 - 06:57 PM

I seem to make more kills with a Nova than with pretty much any M6-class ship.  I suppose it depends on how much you like to use missiles, and how good you are at dogfighting.
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#11 Dark_Archon

Dark_Archon

    Master Blaster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1792 posts
  • Location:Rochester, NY

Posted 23 September 2005 - 08:09 PM

Quicksilver, on September 23rd 2005, 08:57 PM, said:

I seem to make more kills with a Nova than with pretty much any M6-class ship.  I suppose it depends on how much you like to use missiles, and how good you are at dogfighting.

View Post


I like M3s more for smaller targets, or a Perseus with 3 BPSGs can take out a big ship, like Xenon K really quickly, but when I'm taking out a station or something, I prefer something a little bigger. You still can dogfight in an Osprey, but you get the extra support of a few bigger guns. The Osprey's 2 front GHEPTs plus either a top or bottom one is enough to take out almost anything.
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 7 GB RAM SONY DW-D150A SuperDrive

#12 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 24 September 2005 - 08:52 AM

I agree--sometimes a corvette or capital ship is critical.  I'd like to see something like an "M2.5" Super Nova--a Nova with a much better power generator and higher speed (that's it's two weaknesses), and the ability to carry two gamma HEPTs.  I wonder if there's a script for that . . .
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#13 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 26 September 2005 - 08:13 AM

The XShuttle might be what you're looking for. A little bigger, a litter faster, and more possible weapons (no turrets, though).

#14 Quicksilver

Quicksilver

    Verbal Windbag

  • IMG Writers
  • 4227 posts
  • Location:Chicago Illinois
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 26 September 2005 - 09:35 AM

schwa, on September 26th 2005, 02:13 PM, said:

The XShuttle might be what you're looking for. A little bigger, a litter faster, and more possible weapons (no turrets, though).

View Post


That might be what I'm looking for, provided that it's manueverable enough and has enough forward-facing weapons (I couldn't care less about turrets).  Can you look over this and tell me if I installed this correctly?

I opened X2.app, dropped the stuff from the scripts folder into X2's scripts folder, created a mods folder and dropped the appropriate files in there.

I know how to bring up the script editor, but I don't know how to run this particular script.  Any help would be appreciated.   ;)
Former Senior Hardware Editor
InsideMacGames.com

#15 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 26 September 2005 - 11:33 AM

Quicksilver, on September 26th 2005, 08:35 AM, said:

That might be what I'm looking for, provided that it's manueverable enough and has enough forward-facing weapons (I couldn't care less about turrets).  Can you look over this and tell me if I installed this correctly?

I opened X2.app, dropped the stuff from the scripts folder into X2's scripts folder, created a mods folder and dropped the appropriate files in there.

I know how to bring up the script editor, but I don't know how to run this particular script.  Any help would be appreciated.   ;)

View Post


As long as your mods folder is in Resources, no Scripts, you should be good. Just bring up the script editor, highlight the script, and hit "r". I think it drops a message into your log (in German) if successful. Note that the ship will show up in Argon Prime, not by you.

#16 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 03 October 2005 - 09:02 AM

BTW, a tip for those who haven't found them yet- Xai Corp has a TON of handy scripts to automate a lot of annoying tasks...

#17 Vespasian

Vespasian

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 October 2005 - 10:45 AM

On a similar note.
I finally built my first station (silicon mine) It seemed that as soon as the station was up there were no goods to found in any system. By that I mean everyone is out of stock on almost everything. No energy cells, no wheat, no rimes, etc. I can't get my station going because there are no Energy cells to power it and the only commodity I can find to trade for credits is Argnu beef and that is getting harder to find also.

I understand the game has a dynamic economy but this happened instantly after I built my station.

Any thoughts?

#18 schwa

schwa

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Posted 10 October 2005 - 11:07 PM

Absolutely build some SPP's before you do anything else. Energy Cells are the lifeblood of the X2 economy, and it just moves too damn slowly unless you nudge it along. Once you've got a few SPP's feeding factories, production kicks up.