Jump to content


Mac Gaming is Dead™ – 2021 Edition

Doom Gloom

  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#81 Atticus

Atticus

    Not Wearing Pants

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1034 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 08 June 2021 - 11:39 AM

At least we get emoji with heterochromia eyes?
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#82 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 08 June 2021 - 02:42 PM

Thx, I am currently on my LC...I will check that again, or wait for the native M1 version.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#83 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2300 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 09 June 2021 - 05:04 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 21 May 2021 - 01:20 AM, said:

I use the Manjaro KDE distro. Plays games quite well (native and Proton). Comes with AMD and NVIDIA drivers, updates very often.

How does that differ from PearOS? Or in the arch realm, Garuda linux?
What is a man?

#84 Frost

Frost

    Secretary of Offense

  • Forum Moderators
  • 6230 posts
  • Steam ID:CaptFrost
  • Location:Republic of Texas
  • Pro Member:Yes

Posted 09 June 2021 - 06:30 PM

View PostFrigidman™, on 01 April 2021 - 08:06 AM, said:

Something we saw on the MacGameStore side of things, is with that rash of new OSX and macOS pushes, that kept going out like gatling gun development, where each new version killed support of games after games and more so because Apple doesn't believe in backwards compatibility. We lost a ton of customers who were just fed up with the gamble that a game they buy today, will even work tomorrow.

This is my problem. Every single AAA Mac game I bought on the Mac App Store even if I rarely played it just to support Mac development, can no longer run on my Macs and hasn't been able to for a couple years. I gave up holding out hope and just mass deleted them all to get the 80+ gigabytes back last summer.

Apple throws up more and more and more blockers to prevent you from playing anything but iOS crap on a Mac, and at ever-increasing frequency, to the point you eventually reach a frustration point of you don't want to fight them anymore. And even if you do, the major porting houses are also sick of fighting them and have largely thrown in the towel.

It might get better now if the transitions are truly behind us, but realistically, if they had all these moves planned out ahead of time they should have done them all in one fell swoop so everyone could budget for (or not budget for) the Mac of the next decade. Rip. The band-aid. Off. Instead Apple decided to play "how to kill your resurgent gaming market in 3 easy steps." Apple needs to take a hint: if Adobe is balking (rightfully so) at how much money and manpower it's taking to keep doing so many transitions in so short a time, other people are going bankrupt or changing their business model to survive instead of paying the tab.

I think part of the problem is Apple has a very entitled mentality when it comes to developers. That being they should be willing to put up with whatever Apple shovels, in whatever quantity Apple shovels it, whenever Apple decides they are going to shovel it. And they truly don't believe in proper backwards compatibility.
Kestrel (Falcon NW Tiki) – 3.5 GHz i9 11900K / 32GB RAM / TITAN V 12GB / 2TB Intel 7600p, 4TB Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus, 2x480GB Intel 730 (RAID0), 14TB Seagate BarraCuda Pro
Iridium (MacBook Pro Mid-2012) – 2.7 GHz i7 3820QM / 16GB RAM / GeForce GT 650M 1GB / 4TB Samsung 860 Pro

Eric5h5:
When there's a multiplayer version, I'm going to be on Frost's team. Well, except he doesn't seem to actually need a team...I mean, what's the point? "Hey look, it's Frost and His Merry Gang of Useless Hangers-On!" Or something.

#85 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Gaming way too long

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1767 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 09 June 2021 - 09:44 PM

View PostIchigo27, on 09 June 2021 - 05:04 PM, said:

How does that differ from PearOS? Or in the arch realm, Garuda linux?
Here you go…
macOS 10.15.x/3.5GHZ 8-Core Xeon W-3223 2019 MacPro/48GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

macOS 10.15.x/Manjario KDE/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil 5700XT
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

macOS 10.14.x/3.33GHz Xeon W3580 cMacPro (5,1 flash)/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil RX580

#86 galad

galad

    Fanatic

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 10 June 2021 - 07:49 AM

View Postjeannot, on 08 June 2021 - 07:17 AM, said:

Maybe, but I don't see Apple putting the spotlight on developers who did a good job at not using Metal directly.

In the WWDC session they avoid calling it, they just call moltenvk a "translation layer": https://developer.ap...om/wwdc21/10148

#87 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2300 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 10 June 2021 - 02:14 PM

View PostUmarOMC1, on 09 June 2021 - 09:44 PM, said:

Here you go…

How about based upon your experiences using a VM, if you have another GPU to enable 3D acceleration? I have heard that garuda and pearOS have similar UI's like macOS.
What is a man?

#88 jeannot

jeannot

    Taunting a Second Time

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts

Posted 11 June 2021 - 01:04 AM

View Postgalad, on 10 June 2021 - 07:49 AM, said:

In the WWDC session they avoid calling it, they just call moltenvk a "translation layer": https://developer.ap...om/wwdc21/10148
Yeah, I watched the video. It's almost certain that they're using moltenVK.
This part of the video was the least convincing. "huh, for those who don't have the time to code directly in Metal, here's some compilation tweaks that can help".

#89 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Gaming way too long

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1767 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 11 June 2021 - 01:23 AM

View PostIchigo27, on 10 June 2021 - 02:14 PM, said:

How about based upon your experiences using a VM, if you have another GPU to enable 3D acceleration? I have heard that garuda and pearOS have similar UI's like macOS.
I'm new to Linux. I watched a lot of video reviews before settling on the particular distro I chose considering what I want to accomplish with it. I don't distro hop or have time to play with different distros in VMs.
macOS 10.15.x/3.5GHZ 8-Core Xeon W-3223 2019 MacPro/48GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

macOS 10.15.x/Manjario KDE/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil 5700XT
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

macOS 10.14.x/3.33GHz Xeon W3580 cMacPro (5,1 flash)/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil RX580

#90 Atticus

Atticus

    Not Wearing Pants

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1034 posts
  • Location:Sternum's Ribcage

Posted 11 June 2021 - 02:21 PM

Mac gaming saved omg wtf?

LINK
"I'm standing in the middle of life with my pants behind me."

#91 UmarOMC1

UmarOMC1

    Gaming way too long

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1767 posts
  • Location:NYC

Posted 11 June 2021 - 09:22 PM

View PostAtticus, on 11 June 2021 - 02:21 PM, said:

Mac gaming saved omg wtf?

LINK
You forgot the "/s"
macOS 10.15.x/3.5GHZ 8-Core Xeon W-3223 2019 MacPro/48GB RAM/Gigabyte RADEON VII

macOS 10.15.x/Manjario KDE/3.7GHz i7-8700K Hackintosh/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil 5700XT
(my 'world of hurt' that my kids built in a day & is easier to maintain than Windows)

macOS 10.14.x/3.33GHz Xeon W3580 cMacPro (5,1 flash)/64GB RAM/PowerColor RedDevil RX580

#92 dr.zeissler

dr.zeissler

    Computing and Humanity

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Location:GERMANY

Posted 13 June 2021 - 05:48 AM

View PostHomy, on 08 June 2021 - 10:34 AM, said:

Yes, you said it before. Did you take a look at the config file as I recommended here?

This is not the solution, the solution is strange, very very strange... a friend of mine suggested it (a windows gamer).

1920x1080 regardless the details (high, low) FPS clearly under 10fps in the menu and in game.
1600x900 regardless the details (high, low) FPS clearly under 10fps in the menu and in game.

That were my settings. He recommend using 1360x768, I said that would not solve anything BUT IT DOES.
After switching to 1360x768 the game runs smooth, regardless high, low etc. settings. This is strange!!!!!!!!!

...but it works!

Any idea what that is? never read about it...I should make a video of it.
iMac 27" Late 2012 3,4Ghz i7 NT 680MX
Macbook Air Late 2010 320M
MacMinis 2005 - 2011

#93 Homy

Homy

    Recharable Bionic Buttocks

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 13 June 2021 - 10:49 AM

View Postdr.zeissler, on 13 June 2021 - 05:48 AM, said:

This is not the solution, the solution is strange, very very strange... a friend of mine suggested it (a windows gamer).

1920x1080 regardless the details (high, low) FPS clearly under 10fps in the menu and in game.
1600x900 regardless the details (high, low) FPS clearly under 10fps in the menu and in game.

That were my settings. He recommend using 1360x768, I said that would not solve anything BUT IT DOES.
After switching to 1360x768 the game runs smooth, regardless high, low etc. settings. This is strange!!!!!!!!!

...but it works!

Any idea what that is? never read about it...I should make a video of it.

No idea, it's a solution but not THE solution. You should be able to play it at 1080p like many others with descent frame rate.

#94 Homy

Homy

    Recharable Bionic Buttocks

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted 15 June 2021 - 04:29 AM

So Diablo II Resurrected won't be on Mac. I read it's because it's 32-bit and too much work to make it 64-bit. Never played any Diablo game so not a big loss for me but surprising that Feral can remaster many old games for Mac and not Blizzard. Go Feral! :)

#95 nick68k

nick68k

    Enigmatic

  • IMG Writers
  • 598 posts
  • Location:Not here. But close.

Posted 15 June 2021 - 06:29 AM

View PostHomy, on 15 June 2021 - 04:29 AM, said:

So Diablo II Resurrected won't be on Mac. I read it's because it's 32-bit and too much work to make it 64-bit. Never played any Diablo game so not a big loss for me but surprising that Feral can remaster many old games for Mac and not Blizzard. Go Feral! :)

Activision-Blizzard are rapidly losing interesting in supporting Macs. No D2R (for whatever reason - I honestly doubt the whole 32-bit thing), no Diablo IV. WoW is maintained for now, but who knows how long for?
You must gather your party before venturing forth.

#96 galad

galad

    Fanatic

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 15 June 2021 - 08:15 AM

That makes no sense. Even Starcraft I is now 64bit with a Metal backend.
They will have to release a re-remastered 64bit version in a few years…

#97 galad

galad

    Fanatic

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 25 June 2021 - 11:26 PM

Dota 2 added support for "AMD FidelityFX Super Resolution" on Mac too.

#98 jeannot

jeannot

    Taunting a Second Time

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts

Posted 27 June 2021 - 09:35 AM

View Postgalad, on 25 June 2021 - 11:26 PM, said:

Dota 2 added support for "AMD FidelityFX Super Resolution" on Mac too.
I've just tried it. Not bal at all!
I'm impressed. Edges look just as sharp as native resolution, there are just some tiny details missing. And it works on my radeon pro 580. This gives a 50% performance boost over native resolution (the game being partly CPU-bound) for very similar visual quality.

#99 Tacohead

Tacohead

    Extra Cheesy

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 581 posts

Posted 10 July 2021 - 06:18 PM

I'm not exactly holding my breath here but came across this earlier today.

https://www.digitalt...-for-pc-gaming/
27" iMac I7 (late 2017), 3.8 mhz, 16 gigs of RAM, Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, Mac OS 11.4.
iPad Pro (2018) 12.9” 256GB WiFi, & iPhone XR 128GB

#100 ehuelga

ehuelga

    Pixel Pushers, Local 69

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Steam Name:El Spud
  • Location:Mill Valley, CA

Posted 29 July 2021 - 12:46 PM

Noticed Borderlands 3 on sale at Steam today. I've got reasons to avoid Epic's store, so I'm wondering if the Mac version is ever going to be available elsewhere?
The commute from Mill Valley to Cupertino is a real bitch.