Jump to content


diablo 3. windows or mac?


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#21 ladyjaye

ladyjaye

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted 10 July 2009 - 12:50 PM

Sorry for bumping this thread... But the platform I'll play it on will depend on whether D3 will support or not PPC Mac. If it does, then I will definitely play it on my G5 iMac. If not, then it will be on my bf's computer. Obviously, I'd rather play on my own computer, but it's nice to be able to fall on his for the games I can't have access to (ie. NWN 2).

#22 Janichsan

Janichsan

    Jugger Bugger

  • Forum Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8276 posts
  • Steam Name:Janichsan
  • Location:over there

Posted 10 July 2009 - 01:28 PM

Since D3 will not come before 2010 likely even later , I'm pretty sure it will not support PPC.

"We do what we must, because we can."
"Gaming on a Mac is like women on the internet." — "Highly common and totally awesome?"


#23 Wumpus

Wumpus

    MacGameCast Host

  • IMG Writers
  • 1472 posts
  • Steam Name:the_great_wumpus
  • Location:Indieland: Bastion & Lone Survivor.

Posted 11 July 2009 - 08:06 AM

Sort of a funny topic imo. But to add to the answers, I'll most assuredly be playing this mac side. No reason to do Windows with Blizzards fantastic history of mac support. The only reason I can see anyone would do it on Windows, is if like ladyjaye mentioned, it won't run on PPC and you have access to a windows machine that runs it.
Macgamecast.com - Mac news, reviews and more!
IMG Reviews, Previews & Features
MGC Podcast Host. (Want to hear something discussed or join the fun? Let me know.)
Subscribe to the Podcast (iTunes)

27" iMac, Core i5 Quad 2.8Ghz, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD5750 1GB, 1TB Hard Drive

#24 DaveyJJ

DaveyJJ

    All hail Bastet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3895 posts
  • Steam Name:DaveyJJ
  • Location:Inside Bastet's secret temple preparing for the catpocalypse.

Posted 11 July 2009 - 08:09 AM

Given game release date, graphics, etc etc etc there is no way I can see this title being able to be played on a PPC. I'm as certain as I can be that it will be Intel only.

Raven 27" i3 iMac 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1TB HD | 512MB 5670 ATI Radeon HD
Crow iPad 2 | 32GB WiFi


"Not my circus, not my monkeys." -- Polish folk saying
"In ancient times cats were worshipped as gods; they have not forgotten this." -- Terry Pratchett
"I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul." -- Jean Cocteau


#25 5TeN

5TeN

    Fanatic

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted 11 July 2009 - 11:58 AM

Agree with above points.

Blizz is amazing for having their games playable on all OS, hence why they are such a successful video game company.
I wouldnt worry too much, D3 will be able to be played on mac for sure. On a PPC.... not too sure wouldnt hurt to just try it out when you buy it because if it doesnt work on your iMac you can still just pop it into your boyfriends computer because its a universal binary game :P
Macbook White
2.1 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
1 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Intel Integrated Graphics - GMA X3100
120 GB Memory


Macbook Unleashed
"Gaming & Application Reviews for the Macbook White"

#26 Ichigo27

Ichigo27

    NSFW o_O

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2245 posts
  • Location:pingas

Posted 26 July 2009 - 04:46 PM

PPC is dying a slow death, so blizzard would have x86 exclusive in mind.
What is a man?

#27 A.Cole

A.Cole

    Fan

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Arkansas - soon moving away

Posted 27 July 2009 - 12:07 AM

If possible, I am playing it on Mac.  Both it and Starcraft
15" Macbook Pro, 2.80ghz, 4GB DDR3, 9600M 512mb
Time, Truth, Hearts